Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carpet Cleaner for Steam Cleaning Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carpet Cleaner for Steam Cleaning Machine

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2008

      Wow! This cleans BETTER than store bought cleaners, and just leaves a fresh, clean scent. The only modification I made was to make this "extra strength" because our shampooer mixes the solution with water in the machine. Thanks for posting! A great money saver!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I never buy carpet cleaner anymore. It works wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This formula works well for me. I have a Hoover steam vac and I have white carpet with two dogs and four cats. This cleans even the toughest stains. I add the hot water to the receptable first, then I add the cleaning solution so that it doesn't bubble up and over the top. Also, I actually boil the water for the solution.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      eta... this stuff works on kitchen/bathroom floors, counters, cabnets, appliances, etc., with little effort. I will always have the ingredients on hand. I am full tilt on this side and will no longer spend money on store products. This absolutely does the job, without the perfumy smell. Just smells clean when done. Having borrowed my mothers Oreck and not wanting to pay the price of their product, I was able to get my hands on several old containers (why do they all have to try & make it so difficult? Buy our product cuz nothing else on the market will be compatible to this machine?). They were tricky, but a little ingenuity (and a 'flavor injector') solved that problem. My girlfriend used it today with equally good results. I've passed this on to everyone I can think of, and they are passing it on. It did not get up all the stains (nor did I expect it to, there are some really tough ones here) it did much better than I expected. For the price, I can steam clean my carpet for a year (or even years) for less than one time with their product.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      A great recipe and a $$$$ saver. I have used this on furniture and to spot clean my carpets. I highly recommend it. When I'm ready to clean the whole carpet I will use this in my Hoover steam Vac. I can't believe I've been paying mega bucks for the cleaner in a gallon, and this works better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2007

      This is very strange. For some reason it showed that I commented and gave it 3 stars saying it barely worked and I haven't even tried it yet! I came on here to try it today and saw that somehow I had already commented. Hmmm... I apologize and will give my REAL comment later when I actually try it! *Edited* I tried it for real this time! I love it! I had stains on my upolstery forever and this got it right out! No more wasting 20 bucks on a name brand!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Amazing!! Used this recipe on the gross carpet of the rental my DH is staying in while working away from home. It stunk like so many horrible things. We rented a cleaner and used your recipe and all the bad smells are gone! I can't thank you enough for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      The best carpet (& much more) cleaner I've ever used! I had about 1/4 bottle of a name brand cleaner left to use in my steam cleaner. I cleaned a section of the family room & when I ran out I filled the container w/this cleaner. I couldn't believe how much cleaner the carpet with this formula then the name brand. Per other reviews I used this cleaner on other things (baseboards, doors, walls, floors, shutters...) yes, I cleaned my whole house with this stuff! I love it so much I wrote the formula on my steam cleaner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      This stuff rocks! Better than any store bought cleaner for a quarter of the price. I used regular ammonia with a few drops of orange oil. My carpets look great, no funky chemicals.. thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      I actually used the gallon container for a name brand cleaner (just a little was left, but with the cost $15+ who can throw it out?)thoroughly rinsed of any residue, to mix this recipe. I cleaned the upholstry of my dining room chairs, pale cream fabric, and they came out better than when I used the name brand cleaner! I assumed I needed to mix it for my machine like the name brand's directions (one or two caps for the fluid container, I normally used two). So, for about 5 dollars, I can buy this recipe from scratch and actual cost is sooo small! Besides this being normal household goods, I know exactly what I'm using! Thank you for a really useful recipe! This is what I will use from now on! 5+ stars for the recipe and environmental health! Blessings and Best Wishes, Kissamew PS I recently read online in a different forum that Apple Cider Vinegar somehow stops pets from returning to the same stain spot. I have no idea if this works or if the vinegar does not stain, white vinegar does not stain March2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2012

      Carpet Cleaning is very tough task. You discussed right point, Surface Cleaning and Deep Cleaning both are different and use to do according to place..You should have good knowledge about carpet material and cleaning products and chemicals.When you are doing deep cleaning you should have to notice marks and dust very carefully.So all of this is very important when you are doing Carpet Cleaners Perth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2012

      We've been using an Oxiclean solution in our Bissell steam cleaner which has done a fair job. Looking at the various recipes online, many had ammonia, so we modified this recipe by adding ? C. to the gallon solution, and this is the cleanest our pets' carpet (2 English Mastiffs, 170 lbs each) has been since it was new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Have been using for a year now and just love. Thanks for posting. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Works great and saved me a bunch of money!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      I ran out of carpet cleaner and didn't want to stop, so I started searching recipes for carpet cleaner solutions and found this one. It worked wonders! Like everyone else has said I will not be buying the carpet cleaner solution from the store again. I double the cleaning mixture so it was double strength and used baby oxiclean because I don't normally use Joy detergent.

      The only thing I didn't like was that it seemed to leak out of the storage bottle on my steam cleaner. So, I won't be able to leave it in the bottle while the cleaner is not in use. I'm not sure if it is the cleaner (most store bought cleaners have a thicker consistancy) or may just be my steam cleaner (although it is brand new).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      I rented a Rug Doctor carpet steam cleaner and modified this recipe with great results. Instead of the dish detergent, I used 2 Tablespoons of Spray n Wash. Use very hot water. I turned my water heater to MAX beforehand. I have 2000 sq ft of white rug and it was filthy so I didn't worry about testing for color fastness but if you have a colored carpet, I suppose you should. I will never buy carpet cleaner again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      Thought I reviewed this forever ago. I like this mixture much better than the expensive store bought cleaners. My machine mixes water into the soap fpr you so I make it without any water and use oxyclean. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Another recipe I forgot to rate! I have used this several times now and I have to say I will never buy anything else to clean the carpets. This works so good. It pulls the stains right up! Very good recipe you all must try! Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      I LOVE this stuff! I'll never buy pre-mixed carpet cleaner again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I've lived in my house for 5 1/2 years and the carpet was well-worn when I moved in. I steamed the whole house today with this recipe... I wouldn't say the carpet is like-new, but it is definitely LIKE-WOW!!!! Sooooo much better!!! Thanks for this magical concoction!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carpet Cleaner for Steam Cleaning Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 12.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Joy dishwashing soap

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes