Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carol's Dal Curry (curried lentils) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carol's Dal Curry (curried lentils)

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2009

      Very tasty! Here is what used for step 4: 2 c. uncooked lentils, 15 oz. coconut milk, 8 oz. tomato sauce, 2-3 c. water, 2 Tbsp. curry powder, 1/2 tsp. turmeric, 2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 2 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. cayenne, 1 1/2 tsp. salt, and 3 Tbsp. brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2001

      Excellent and very easy to make

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2001

      Awesome! Very easy and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2001

      Excellent and super easy to make. Served over "plain" basmati rice and the combination is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Very good! I used coconut water instead of milk to cut down the fat, so I had to let mine simmer longer to get the right consistency. I used about 4 Tbsp curry powder, 3 Tbsp fresh ginger, and about 2tsp of all other spices (no added salt). Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      absolutely delicious. I have made a lot of dal and this is one of the best. very flavourable. don't forget to add the tomatoe sauce, it makes the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      Amazing and made entirely with ingredients I had on hand. Makes enough to feed approximately 47 people (or freeze some). I used coconut oil to sauté the onions and it gave the whole thing a really buttery texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      This was fantastic. I seasoned my red lentils with turmeric, curry, onion powder, and cumin while boiling them. I drained them and added the tomato sauce and lite coconut milk. I omitted the cilantro and ground cloves. I added 1 Tbsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 2 tsp. ground ginger, 2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp cayenne, approx 2 tsp stevia. I served it over plain quinoa and my husband and 10 year old son LOVED it! Even better than I hoped for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Very good! Received many thumbs up from this one. I added a bit of sugar and didn't have tomato sauce, so I just used a can of tomato paste and an equivalent amount of water. Some reviewers mentioned this dish was a bit bland, I would suggest a bit more salt to make the flavors pop.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      This was easy and had an amazing flavor. I had to leave out the tomato sauce because I didn't have any. I added water to the coconut milk. My friend said she had never intentionally eaten a lentil in her life until I made this. I think she was pleasantly surprised. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      So good. I will be making this many more times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Thanks so much for this. I have made it twice in the past three weeks. I put some peppers (red and yellow) in it once, and the second time I used a meat substitute and peas. Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      Tasty and easy. Followed the recommendation of lehaushe concerning the spices and added 1/2 cup of raisins and one large can (drained) of string beans.
      Used yellow lentils which I soaked the night before and then boiled for 40 minutes then drained and proceeded with the recipe as written. I was indeed very thankful to the suggestions of amount of spices, sort of need that to "get started", yes, that was the only missing thing in the original recipe.
      This makes a lot and it freezes well. Very versatile too.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

    • on November 17, 2010

    • on August 24, 2010

      My husband is in love with this!! I did use sundried tomatoes as someone had used the last tomato on their salad. I also followed lehaushe's recommended spices (although I did use a 15oz tomato sauce - DH isn't too fond of coconut so I wanted to balance the tom/coconut). Next time I will use only 2 tablespoons brown sugar though - not horrible just a tad too sweet for the DH. Loved the open listing of ingredients & maybe sometime I will get adventerous and experiement a bit. I served with roasted cauliflower & potatoes while tomorrow I will serve with garlic naan. Thank you so much for this one Carol & thanks to Lehaushe for the spice listing!!! **Oh and to Run For You Life who had a problem with the lentils not cooking & drying out...the recipe calls for cooked lentils so if you don't cook ahead of time and your going to use uncooked you have to add more water - like 2-3 cups & it will take longer - little over an hour**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was good but I strongly agree with others that amounts, ranges even, need to be given for the spices! Also, it took my lentils far longer than 30 minutes to soften, closer to an hour and because it had to simmer so long I had to keep adding water so the curry wouldn't dry out (about 1 1/4 cups total?). I think this recipe could be really good if a little more direction was given. As written it was good, but not my new favorite indian dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Excellent! I like that the ingredients were not all specific on the amount because it gave me the freedom to experiment. I also added some brown sugar and garam masala and left out the cloves (i have allergies to them). I chopped up the onion with a green chili, sauteed and then added water and uncooked lentiles and all the ingredients minus the coconut milk and cilantro which i added at the end. It made tons! Tomorrow we are going to add spinach and cashews to the left overs and it will make a splended new dish. I am really in love with lentiles now, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I didn't have curry powder so I used garam masala and it turned out fine. It was surprisingly easy to make such a seemingly complicated dish! Thanks! I'll make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Really good and super easy! I followed the recipe pretty closely, except I had Pataks curry paste instead of the dry curry powder. I'm going to add this to the recipes I plan to use on our sailboat! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carol's Dal Curry (curried lentils)

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 492.6
     
    Calories from Fat 109
    22%
    Total Fat 12.2 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 33.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.4 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 20.5 g
    82%
    Sugars 39.2 g
    157%
    Protein 17.9 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    coconut milk

    tomato sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites