48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty! Here is what used for step 4: 2 c. uncooked lentils, 15 oz. coconut milk, 8 oz. tomato sauce, 2-3 c. water, 2 Tbsp. curry powder, 1/2 tsp. turmeric, 2 tsp. ground ginger, 1/4 tsp. ground cloves, 2 tsp. cumin, 1/2 tsp. cayenne, 1 1/2 tsp. salt, and 3 Tbsp. brown sugar.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lehaushe November 19, 2009

Excellent and very easy to make

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahs Girl September 04, 2001

Awesome! Very easy and tasty.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff1 August 15, 2001

Excellent and super easy to make. Served over "plain" basmati rice and the combination is wonderful.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina Wilkerson June 11, 2001

Very good! I used coconut water instead of milk to cut down the fat, so I had to let mine simmer longer to get the right consistency. I used about 4 Tbsp curry powder, 3 Tbsp fresh ginger, and about 2tsp of all other spices (no added salt). Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen April 23, 2009

absolutely delicious. I have made a lot of dal and this is one of the best. very flavourable. don't forget to add the tomatoe sauce, it makes the dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugie April 07, 2002

Great combination of flavors. Yummy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
May I Have That Recipe December 16, 2014

Amazing and made entirely with ingredients I had on hand. Makes enough to feed approximately 47 people (or freeze some). I used coconut oil to sauté the onions and it gave the whole thing a really buttery texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clutterella February 27, 2014

This was fantastic. I seasoned my red lentils with turmeric, curry, onion powder, and cumin while boiling them. I drained them and added the tomato sauce and lite coconut milk. I omitted the cilantro and ground cloves. I added 1 Tbsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 2 tsp. ground ginger, 2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp cayenne, approx 2 tsp stevia. I served it over plain quinoa and my husband and 10 year old son LOVED it! Even better than I hoped for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ggabriel January 28, 2013

Very good! Received many thumbs up from this one. I added a bit of sugar and didn't have tomato sauce, so I just used a can of tomato paste and an equivalent amount of water. Some reviewers mentioned this dish was a bit bland, I would suggest a bit more salt to make the flavors pop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toriiort September 19, 2012
Carol's Dal Curry (curried lentils)