39 Reviews

Wonderful chicken and dumplings. They tasted a lot like my grandmother's but so much easier to make. The broth was rich and creamy. I cooked the dumplings more like 45 minutes. Yummy comfort food. My family and I voted 5-stars for this one. Thanks Nurse Di.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jerri822 March 22, 2003

Wow- awesome, quick recipe! I boiled chicken breasts in some seasonings and used that broth instead of water (so much flavor). I also used 1/2 of a chicken bouillon cube, and substituted one of the cream of chicken cans with cream of mushroom. I feel like the biscuit halves were too big, so next time I'll cut them smaller. My first time making chicken and dumplings and it tastes awesome! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CierraC89 October 29, 2012

This was so easy and really delicious! I added green beans, corn, carrots and celery. I also used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can of cream of chicken instead of 2 chicken. I added some other herbs and spices and some cornstarch to thicken it up a little. My fiance and I don't have time to cook since we are in school and this was just perfect. I don't think you can tell the difference between the biscuits and homemade dumplings. Thank you so much for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amanda_lambert84 October 20, 2010

So quick and easy! Never thought dumplings could be a 20 minute dish. The boyfriend loved them! <br/><br/>I uploaded a picture, if the coloring looks a little different than the others, it's because I chose to substitute beef stock instead of water, just as personal preference. It blended great, and made the broth super rich (maybe a con to some, but we love rich broth). <br/><br/> I also added a little flour to thicken it up. When I make dumplings from scratch, I always end up with thick broth, as loose flour tends to fall off the dumplings and thicken the surrounding broth. The added flour mimicked this "from scratch" effect, and the boyfriend was none the wiser.<br/><br/><br/>I'm still loyal to my grandma's backwoods Kentucky dumplings, but they're so time consuming. Honestly, who can afford to spend an entire day cooking dinner? Because of this, I've pretty much eliminated dumplings from my day to day menu, but this recipe provided the perfect solution. The shortcut was delicious, and far more practical than conventional dumplings. I'll definitely be making them again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midnight_Blue_ March 20, 2013

This is how my mom always made chicken and dumplings. They're much easier and taste just as good as the homemade dumplings in most recipes. I've found that pulling the biscuits into tiny pieces tends to make them cook faster, and doesn't effect the taste or texture, unless you want them to be underdone. Otherwise 30 minutes isn't going to do it. And make sure that you stir them regularly. They will stick to the bottom and burn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie Rex's Wife March 11, 2013

My daughter, whose since moved out, was craving Chicken and Dumplings. She's not a cook at all and so I figured I'd find her an easy recipe at Food.com. I've read all the reviews on this one and decided to send her this recipe and she said it tasted so good. Because of that, I wanted to try it for myself; I made this tonight and I have to say, it was definitely EASY and DEEELISH! I had to thicken it up a bit because it was a bit watery for me, but other than that, my family loved it!! Thank you for sharing and kudos on the idea of using "canned biscuits"; who would've known?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChamoritaMomma October 31, 2012

Perfect for a budding cook (my 14 year old son) to make us for dinner! No veggies made is very kid friendly. All 4 of us scarfed it up. Easy, tasty, & quick. Selected for our boys' meal challenge blog Feb. 20, 2012. www.cookonbrothers.blogspot.com
Thanks for sharing! Served w/a spinach and strawberry salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fitnfamished February 21, 2012

I thought the soup part of this was awesome. I did add a 1/2 cup white wine, a couple bay leaves and some onion powder. The biscuit dumplings were just okay for me. My husbands family is from the south and I have made their from scratch recipe and it takes so long, so I was hoping for a great short-cut in this and I think I've still found it in the broth and with a rotisserie chicken, but I'll have to make the dumplings from scratch. We're used to super thin dumplings and though these were good, the texture is so different. My husband hasn't come home yet, but I know he'll say they're too thick. Anyway, this is still a glowing review because the flavor of the soup was incredible! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue December 08, 2011

The entire family enjoyed this very much, including the teenage food critic. In fact, he even asked to have it again soon, so that's a rave review indeed! I added some dried garlic and some Italian seasoning in place of the seasoned pepper and I think I'll use a bit less water next time to make a thicker gravy. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janem123 September 28, 2010

Great surprise !! had 1/2 rotisserie chicken, and had never figured out a tasty left-over ! Followed another reviewer's tip and used chicken broth in place of water, no bouillion, and just the can of chicken soup. Let the biscuits simmer for 20 minutes and off the burner for 10. DH was duly impressed, and I have some yummy comfort food for lunch. Thanks, ratherbeswimmin' !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney July 03, 2010
Caroline's Quick Chicken and Dumplings