Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caroline's Quick Chicken and Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caroline's Quick Chicken and Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2003

      Wonderful chicken and dumplings. They tasted a lot like my grandmother's but so much easier to make. The broth was rich and creamy. I cooked the dumplings more like 45 minutes. Yummy comfort food. My family and I voted 5-stars for this one. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      Wow- awesome, quick recipe! I boiled chicken breasts in some seasonings and used that broth instead of water (so much flavor). I also used 1/2 of a chicken bouillon cube, and substituted one of the cream of chicken cans with cream of mushroom. I feel like the biscuit halves were too big, so next time I'll cut them smaller. My first time making chicken and dumplings and it tastes awesome! Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      This was so easy and really delicious! I added green beans, corn, carrots and celery. I also used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can of cream of chicken instead of 2 chicken. I added some other herbs and spices and some cornstarch to thicken it up a little. My fiance and I don't have time to cook since we are in school and this was just perfect. I don't think you can tell the difference between the biscuits and homemade dumplings. Thank you so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      So quick and easy! Never thought dumplings could be a 20 minute dish. The boyfriend loved them! <br/><br/>I uploaded a picture, if the coloring looks a little different than the others, it's because I chose to substitute beef stock instead of water, just as personal preference. It blended great, and made the broth super rich (maybe a con to some, but we love rich broth). <br/><br/> I also added a little flour to thicken it up. When I make dumplings from scratch, I always end up with thick broth, as loose flour tends to fall off the dumplings and thicken the surrounding broth. The added flour mimicked this "from scratch" effect, and the boyfriend was none the wiser.<br/><br/><br/>I'm still loyal to my grandma's backwoods Kentucky dumplings, but they're so time consuming. Honestly, who can afford to spend an entire day cooking dinner? Because of this, I've pretty much eliminated dumplings from my day to day menu, but this recipe provided the perfect solution. The shortcut was delicious, and far more practical than conventional dumplings. I'll definitely be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2013

      This is how my mom always made chicken and dumplings. They're much easier and taste just as good as the homemade dumplings in most recipes. I've found that pulling the biscuits into tiny pieces tends to make them cook faster, and doesn't effect the taste or texture, unless you want them to be underdone. Otherwise 30 minutes isn't going to do it. And make sure that you stir them regularly. They will stick to the bottom and burn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      My daughter, whose since moved out, was craving Chicken and Dumplings. She's not a cook at all and so I figured I'd find her an easy recipe at Food.com. I've read all the reviews on this one and decided to send her this recipe and she said it tasted so good. Because of that, I wanted to try it for myself; I made this tonight and I have to say, it was definitely EASY and DEEELISH! I had to thicken it up a bit because it was a bit watery for me, but other than that, my family loved it!! Thank you for sharing and kudos on the idea of using "canned biscuits"; who would've known?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      Perfect for a budding cook (my 14 year old son) to make us for dinner! No veggies made is very kid friendly. All 4 of us scarfed it up. Easy, tasty, & quick. Selected for our boys' meal challenge blog Feb. 20, 2012. www.cookonbrothers.blogspot.com
      Thanks for sharing! Served w/a spinach and strawberry salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2011

      I thought the soup part of this was awesome. I did add a 1/2 cup white wine, a couple bay leaves and some onion powder. The biscuit dumplings were just okay for me. My husbands family is from the south and I have made their from scratch recipe and it takes so long, so I was hoping for a great short-cut in this and I think I've still found it in the broth and with a rotisserie chicken, but I'll have to make the dumplings from scratch. We're used to super thin dumplings and though these were good, the texture is so different. My husband hasn't come home yet, but I know he'll say they're too thick. Anyway, this is still a glowing review because the flavor of the soup was incredible! Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      The entire family enjoyed this very much, including the teenage food critic. In fact, he even asked to have it again soon, so that's a rave review indeed! I added some dried garlic and some Italian seasoning in place of the seasoned pepper and I think I'll use a bit less water next time to make a thicker gravy. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Great surprise !! had 1/2 rotisserie chicken, and had never figured out a tasty left-over ! Followed another reviewer's tip and used chicken broth in place of water, no bouillion, and just the can of chicken soup. Let the biscuits simmer for 20 minutes and off the burner for 10. DH was duly impressed, and I have some yummy comfort food for lunch. Thanks, ratherbeswimmin' !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

    • on March 14, 2010

      I love this recipe in it's original form, but have adapted it to our tastes to be a little heartier and healthier. We like more dumplings, so I make dumplings with Heart-Healthy Bisquick (equal to about 2 cans of biscuits). There's room even if it doesn't look like it since the dough fluffs up when you first add it, but then condenses after it cooks. I use 1 can cream of chicken and 1 can cream of mushroom - both Healthy Request. I only use 2 cups of chicken. I use 4 cups of low sodium chicken broth. And I add a little garlic powder and paprika along with the original amount of black pepper. Everyone who has ever tried it has loved it, and I don't feel as guilty eating it. Great recipe and easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      This is my favorite short-cut chicken and dumplings recipe. I used a 16 oz can of biscuits and was afraid I would need to add more liquid, but everything turned out fine as is. No leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Very easy and tasted great. This will be a regular in our dinner rotation. Excellent family meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I absolutely loved this recipe. It was so quick and easy and thick. I cooked the chicken in the 2 1/2 cups water and 1 1/2 cups chicken broth and then just added the rest of the ingredients, and followed directions except for biscuits. I made bisquick biscuits. So good though. Will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This is a quick way to make chicken and dumplings! It's a little creamier than I normally like them, I maybe would do 1 can of soup next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      We all liked this. And it is so simple and quick. I roasted 2 large split breast and added a bag of frozen veggies to it. Will definately make again. Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This recipe is amazing!!!!!! SO easy and simple to make. DH had never had chicken and dumplings before and he loved them! I grew up with my grandmother's chicken and dumplings from scratch, but this recipe was just as good! The perfect end to a snowy day! I did add a few frozen veggies to get them in somehow and it was still delicious! I will be adding this recipe to my collection! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      so easy and quick. Mine needed to be a little thicker. Great meal for a cool fall day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      This is yummy and so easy! My kids and I really enjoyed it. I added some carrots and celery that I sliced thinly and steamed a bit. This seems like it should be harder to make, but it isn't! Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caroline's Quick Chicken and Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 325.4
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    42%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 1284.8 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 22.4 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes