Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2008

      The meat came out tender but the sauce ruined it for me. The mustard taste was too strong for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I made this for a party i had it was a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      I don't care much for sauces, so I didn't make the sauce. The pork itself came out tender, and with a great taste (didn't need the sauce). Served it on some potato buns and it went fast! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      This was so good! I am origiannly from South Carolina and this tastes just like the pulled pork you'd get at a restaurant there! I used boneless pork ribs and it took about 6 hours on low. We did not put cole slaw on our sandwiches, just ate it on the side. This will be my go-to pulled pork recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      This really is awesome and SO easy. I wasn't too sure about the mustard bbq sauce as another poster mentioned, but I found that keeping some of the vinegar sauce to add to the shredded meat made an authentic enough taste that I will have a hard time going to Smithfield BBQ for my favorite sandwich! I also made my own slaw with buttermilk from Cook's Illustrated or Country (can't remember...but it is a testing/experiment magazine) and I was set. My family loved it (even my picky kids). This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      I made this with chicken breasts and cooked on low in the crockpot for 6 hours. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. My BF loved this. I put on homemade rolls and made Kittencal's creamy coleslaw. What a delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Excellent! I have found my "keeper" BBQ recipe! Its easy to make and delish. I got a compliment from everyone who tasted it. Definite Winner and highly recommend this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      OK, the meat came out tender and perfect BUT the BBQ sauce was not to my liking. I am NOT a fan of mustard and it just tasted like mustard to me. So I dumped that and used Jack Daniels Original BBQ sauce and it was PERFECT. I'll make this again, but just use my own sauce. TASTY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      this literally may be the world's greatest sandwich. great for a big football group! the only change i made was to leave out mixing in the onions with meat on the sandwiches. loves it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Outstanding recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      Melts in your mouth! We cooked it for 18 hours and it was well worth the wait. I think we could have cooked it for less, but it was not over done. We used 6 lbs of pork, so the next time perhaps we will try 4 lbs as there was not enough sauce to my liking. We used a food processor to cut the onions which worked out great. We used the mini rolls and I cut the roll in half lengthwise, added the pulled pork and some cheese and broiled it until the cheese started to bubble and brown - mmmm good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      OUT OF THIS WORLD! I made it exactly as the recipe said and it was perfect. I saved the juices and skimmed the extra fat off the top. Then when I reheated it I added the juice. Perfect. It was very easy to make. I made this recipe and took it to our Oregon State football tailgater. It was gone in no time. I have already been requested to make it again before the season it over! YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      AMAZING! My family gobbled it right up & my husband said we could open up a deli with the recipe. I am still craving this Sandwhich! YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      No ingredient changes needed to the fabulous rub, vinegar, or sauce. I had folks coming back for third helpings. Also, thanks for clearly writing the directions and ingredients; very easy to read. Only had a little trouble finding the meat; if you are shopping from a grocery store like I was, I recommend you request the cut even if they tell you that they always have 4-6 lb pork butt in stock. They don't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      Since I used this recipe "loosely" as inspiration, I will just comment. I don't care at all for traditional tomato/molasses sauce. I cut away LOTS of a large fat pad on the pork butt and covered generously with McCormick GrillMates Pork Rub. I wrapped it in plastic wrap, put in large cake carrier with lid, and refrigerated for approximately 30 hours. Put in slow cooker on LOW for 18 hours, placed on top of chopped onion and added only 1/2 cup each of cider vinegar and water, with about 1 TBsp Worcestershire sauce. Although I had good intentions of making Firey BBQ sauce from another recipe, discovered I still had a bottle of Jackson's Big Oak SE BBQ sauce, from Wilmington, N.C. --THE ULTIMATE IMHO !! Wimped out on preparation and used the bottled sauce, from when DD lived there 10 years ago !! The only step I missed was to add back some of the abundant liquid from the cooker. I put the crockpot in the frig. for 1 day, then scooped a LARGE amount of fat from the top, and froze the lovely gelled liquid for future use with packs of frozen pulled pork ! Made lovely sandwiches on soft buns. Janey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      You only got 5 stars for this one because they wouldn't let me give you 10! THIS IS THE WORLD'S GREATEST SANDWICH. The amount of mustard in the sauce worried me at first, but once the soy, butter and smoke were added, it all evened out! Instead of adding the black pepper and white pepper to the sauce, I used Spicy Montreal Steak Seasoning, and it was perfect . . . especially served with my own Kicked-Up Jicama Slaw #Kicked-Up Jicama Slaw. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      This is GOOD!!! I just finished it up and my husband and I snuck a sandwich -- I made it for the weekend when my son and his family are coming to visit! I followed the directions exactly -- but did double the sauce as a couple of the other reviewers had suggested. We didn't think there was too much vinegar (that had previously been mentioned). I think the next time I make it I will cut back just a little on the peppers -- we like things spicy, but this might have had just a little too much "kick" for my husband -- although he sure "wolfed" down his sandwich. It's funny how that is such a personal preference thing -- I saw where someone was going to try and spice it up even more!!! The flavor is excellent. The meat is not dry at all -- but so nice and tender. It was a snap to shred it. I do have just one question -- I didn't see the chopped jalapeno peppers listed in the directions -- so I just put them in with the rest of the ingredients listed under the "Pulled Pork". I couldn't see any place else where they would fit in. Thank you for sharing this excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      oh yeah, now we're getting there. I have been experimenting with a couple different recipies and this one is my favorite so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Made this Saturday for a bunch of hungry workers. Seemed to go over very well. The only thing I didn't like was I thought there was too much vinegar in the sauce. Added more water and sugar and it turned out great. There wasn't any left so I guess everyone liked it. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      Wow! Fantabulous recipe and VERY EASY. I was at first thinking...eeehhh look at ALL the ingredients! BUT NEVER FEAR, they are moslty seasoning. It could not have come together easier or faster. We (Texan family) have never had NC bbq. This was sensational! I had pulled out of the freezer what I thought was a Pork Butt dh had wrapped and marked Butt Roast. Found out when he came home and tasted it that this was actually venison! lol :blush: The sauce was out of this world good. I followed the recipe to a T, but did add twice the jalapenos. We love heat! lol DH took a few lbs and some buns to work and fed 'his people' lol! They RAVED! I had 2 lbs left over after that so I froze them in 1 lb bags. This will be a fabulous FAST supper to rely on when faced with a hectic or busy day! Thanks so much chef! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.1
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    40%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 71.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 762.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes