Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2009

      I made thid and it was great I used Sticky Fingers Carolina Sweet BarbQue Sauce. It was really yummy! Nicole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This is now my go-to recipe for pulled pork. I have made it a couple of times although I have done so with store bought BBQ sauce each time. I only cook it for 8 hours in the crock pot and it come out great! I highly recommend these topped with homemade coleslaw!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      This is delicious but definitely has a bit of a kick, so if you are sensitive to spices you might want to cut back a bit. In addition, I did find that while the BBQ sauce was tasty, there was a bit too much mustard. To compensate I added a bit extra soya sauce and a bit extra brown sugar. All in all this recipe is a keeper... my husband gobbled it right up and has been raving about it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      We took this to church potluck, it was a very good sandwich! We substituted the BBQ sauce with KC Masterpiece original. Apparently people did not realize it was a sandwich and most did not use the buns, however ALL of the meat was gone and there was plenty of other food at this potluck. My wife thought that the pork broke down too much so you lost that shedded look, but she loved the taste and is very sensative to spicy foods. We put the jalapeno in the crock pot with the onions. We will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

    • on February 13, 2009

      This was GREAT. We loved every bite, and so did all of our guests. We did not try the sauce, we have our own personal favorite sauce we make from scratch (Tyler's Ultimate), but the pork was so good that i am inclined to try it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I made this to take along on vacation with us. I cooked the pork and sauce, loaded them up and reheated them in a crockpot when we got to Disney. We loved it, flavorful and juicy. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Fantastic! I let this cook for about 12 hours and it was perfect. I also really liked the sauce and I'm pretty picky about my BBQ sauce. I brought the leftovers to work and it was scarfed down and raved about for days by my employees. Thanks for this killer recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Loved this receipe. We have made it twice in the past few weeks. The wait is well worth it considering the awsome taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      Wow! This was good! Since there are only 2 of us, I used a pork sirloin. I cut back a little on the crushed red pepper and omitted the jalapeno based on previous reviews, and added a dash more brown sugar to the bbq sauce. I cooked it on high for 5 hours and it came out perfect. It is definately spicy!! Those with a tender palate may want to cut back a little more on the hot stuff. We didn't have cole slaw because my husband accidently bought potato salad which we ate on the side. I will definatley make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      Our family devoured this, even the picky one who claims to hate BBQ! Loved it, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      The first time that I cooked this recipe I did it exactly as written and the meat came out perfectly cooked and easily pulled. However, even though I omitted the jalapeno pepper, this recipe is WAY TO SPICY for kids or anyone who doesn't like spicy food. The second time I cooked this, I omitted the crushed red pepper flakes and paprika from the crock-pot and used my old standby BBQ sauce of 1 bottle of Sweet Baby Ray's BBQ sauce with 1/4 honey, 1/2 cup of Jim Beam and 1/2 cup of pineapple juice (boiled down to get rid of the alcohol taste) and added a cup of the juices from the crock pot. I boiled down the mixture until it was nice and thick. It was definitely a hit the second time around. I also served with KFC Copycat Cole Slaw which is absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      This was a great recipe. I changed it a little and added a cup of burbon to it. I made this for 30 hungry men and they licked their plates clean. I used the pork ribs and they just fell apart after 12 hours on low

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Really, really good. I cooked for about 9 hours on low and 2 hours on high, which was enough to produce very tender and flavorful pork. I used a Southwestern style mustard for the sauce and really enjoyed the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      The sandwiches came out wonderful, not to mention the sauce---INCREDIBLE! This recipe will definately be a keeper in this family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      camr back looking for this recipe and realized i had not written a review. Made this when we at snl moms shore house. we had been out on the boat all day and when we got back the house smelled wonderful, even better was this meal everyone ravedsevered with the cooking sauce and babeque sauce . thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      I cooked the pork completely differently but I used this sauce AND WOW! LOVE IT! Will never eat pulled pork any other way again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      I used a 3lb pork butt since it was the only one I could find at the store that day... so I just reduced the dry rub ingredients just slightly. I did trim a lot of the fat from my pork before placing in the crock pot... I cooked my pork for 12 hours on low and it came out perfect! It was tender and juicy... I only made half a batch of the BBQ sauce since I was planning to make 2 others so we could sample differents ones... I am glad I did, since I did not care for this mustard based sauce at all... however my BF loved it. I thought it was quite strong on mustard and smoke flavors, which I didn't care for. My 3 lb pork butt made about 10 HUGE sandwiches, so it was the perfect size for my 4qt crock pot and our family. I LOVED the onions on my sandwich. I did not chop them up, but instead peeled off layers and used them as the base for my sandwich and then topped off with lots of slaw... really messy, but delicious! The hardest part of this recipe was smelling it cooking all day! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      We loved this. The flavor was wonderful. Next time I would double the bbq sauce as we needed more. I cooked the meat for 15 hours and will probably not cook as long next time. It pulled apart great, but when I mixed in the bbq suace it all sort of turned to mush. Great mush though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This was fine. I've never made pulled pork before so I really have nothing to compare it with. I followed the recipe exactly. I guess I don't really like meat cooked in a slow cooker because it always comes out mushy, after 12 hours I turned the slow cooker off and took the pork out of the juice and it was more mushy then tender. I am not a big fan of any type of bbq sauce but if I have to pick one it would be a sweet, mustard/vinegar type sauce. This sauce was perfect for my mustard, vinegar taste but the sweet part was extremely excessive. I will try to make the sauce again because it was so close to being good, I'll just leave out some of the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.1
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    40%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 71.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 762.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes