90 Reviews

The method to make the pork is excellent--fall apart tender. I ended up using all of the liquid leftover in the crockpot and cleaned a pair of kitchen shears to cut up the onions. About the sauce: I was somewhat hesitant after reading reviews whether or not to make the sauce, but I made it twice because the instructions I think could use a little bit more clarification. This is also probably significant: I used Dijon mustard for both attempts. When I was mixing the ingredients I must admit it BURNED my nostrils! The first time I made the sauce I let it simmer *uncovered* for 30 minutes on low, stirring often, then covered it for the last 10 when you add the soy sauce, liquid smoke and butter. Everybody in the house LOVED the first sauce--it was thick, slightly sweet and spicy sauce with a nice kick. The second time I made it, I kept the sauce covered! Personally, the second sauce was not palatable for us. That being said, I love this recipe and would make the pulled pork again. I liked the sauce on these conditions: using Dijon mustard and simmering uncovered while watching/stirring carefully (and making a double portion of the sauce!). I would love to try this with just regular BBQ sauce as well. I will be making this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG March 31, 2010

As many people on here said, this is SOUTH CAROLINA style. Don't confuse with Western or Eastern North Carolina styles. Just wanted to clarify for those not from the area.

#EasternNCbbqRULES

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
branjawn July 27, 2011

I have made this three times now in as many months, once for a party and twice for a pot luck at work. The guys loved it so much they asked for the recipe and made it for their families. I wouldn't change a thing except to highlight how important it is for the meat to rest before shredding it. I'll be keeping this one on my list to make often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooptender February 05, 2011

I'd really love to give this 10 stars, but it doesn't go that high. The meat is just incredible. Fall apart tender. Had a hard time getting it out of the crockpot. It just kept falling apart! I wasn't too sure about the sauce when I made it what with all that mustard; but, oh my heavens, is it good. I'm taking it to a BBQ today and hope it goes over as well there at it did at home, making it. The house semlls wonderful. Will definitely be making this for future BBQs and other get togethers. Thanks graftonr.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misspris923 March 06, 2010

While traveling to my sister's in Charlotte NC, I ate Carolina pulled pork and have been trying to capture that exact flavor in a recipe. The one I am looking for has a bit more vinegar flavor in the finished unsauced meat. This one was good; we had no problem gobbling down the sandwiches, but my search doesn't stop with this one! Definitely delicious though!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 May 16, 2009

I've made this SEVERAL times & thought I'd reviewed it but don't see my review so apologies if this is a duplicate. Every time I make this, it gets rave reviews! I made three roasts so instead of the crock pot, I used a roasted and cooked the meat on 225 all night. Worst part was smelling it cooking all night...LOL! I followed the recipe for the rub & cooking the meat almost exactly...I forgot the cayenne. It was just an oversight. For the sauce, I ran out of mustard, so I supplemented w/ketchup (about 1/4 of the mustard) so it added a bit of tomato to it. Someone said, "You could bottle that sauce & sell it!" I cooked the sauce w/the lid off as another person said. This recipe is soooo good & so easy to make. It's a GREAT crowd pleaser. THANKS for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jrsygirl17 October 20, 2010

Wowza! This is great! Even my grill loving husband had to admit that it was amazing. The pork was perfectly seasoned and shredded nicely. The sauce is so, so delicious. I did half dijon, half regular mustard in it and kept everything else the same. My only complaint is that there wasn't enough! Next time, I'll double the sauce recipe. I also plan on making it to go with ribs! Yummy! Thank you so much for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MKTaylor August 20, 2010

Made half a recipe and we loved it. I did mine in the oven for 3 hours at 250 deg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 01, 2016

4 1/2 more like it. I did the sauce 30 simmer off, 10 cover on after the last 3 ingredients. Next time I may try the mustard/ketchup combo. My wife is a "meat/taters" type eater and not really into spice but she really liked the sauce. Could be a tad vinegary so I may cut it some next time and add a lil more water. Overall very happy with it. Tired of tomato based Q all the time? Try this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silverbeach 100 June 07, 2015

When I read the reviews I thought to myself that I must make this as everyone raves about it. This was my first attempt at pulled pork and I followed the recipe exactly as stated, it was Ok but not spectacular and nothing like I was expecting. As I said it was ok but I would not make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berniceg11perlas April 19, 2015
Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich