Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      The method to make the pork is excellent--fall apart tender. I ended up using all of the liquid leftover in the crockpot and cleaned a pair of kitchen shears to cut up the onions. About the sauce: I was somewhat hesitant after reading reviews whether or not to make the sauce, but I made it twice because the instructions I think could use a little bit more clarification. This is also probably significant: I used Dijon mustard for both attempts. When I was mixing the ingredients I must admit it BURNED my nostrils! The first time I made the sauce I let it simmer *uncovered* for 30 minutes on low, stirring often, then covered it for the last 10 when you add the soy sauce, liquid smoke and butter. Everybody in the house LOVED the first sauce--it was thick, slightly sweet and spicy sauce with a nice kick. The second time I made it, I kept the sauce covered! Personally, the second sauce was not palatable for us. That being said, I love this recipe and would make the pulled pork again. I liked the sauce on these conditions: using Dijon mustard and simmering uncovered while watching/stirring carefully (and making a double portion of the sauce!). I would love to try this with just regular BBQ sauce as well. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2011

      As many people on here said, this is SOUTH CAROLINA style. Don't confuse with Western or Eastern North Carolina styles. Just wanted to clarify for those not from the area.

      #EasternNCbbqRULES

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I have made this three times now in as many months, once for a party and twice for a pot luck at work. The guys loved it so much they asked for the recipe and made it for their families. I wouldn't change a thing except to highlight how important it is for the meat to rest before shredding it. I'll be keeping this one on my list to make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I'd really love to give this 10 stars, but it doesn't go that high. The meat is just incredible. Fall apart tender. Had a hard time getting it out of the crockpot. It just kept falling apart! I wasn't too sure about the sauce when I made it what with all that mustard; but, oh my heavens, is it good. I'm taking it to a BBQ today and hope it goes over as well there at it did at home, making it. The house semlls wonderful. Will definitely be making this for future BBQs and other get togethers. Thanks graftonr.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      While traveling to my sister's in Charlotte NC, I ate Carolina pulled pork and have been trying to capture that exact flavor in a recipe. The one I am looking for has a bit more vinegar flavor in the finished unsauced meat. This one was good; we had no problem gobbling down the sandwiches, but my search doesn't stop with this one! Definitely delicious though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I've made this SEVERAL times & thought I'd reviewed it but don't see my review so apologies if this is a duplicate. Every time I make this, it gets rave reviews! I made three roasts so instead of the crock pot, I used a roasted and cooked the meat on 225 all night. Worst part was smelling it cooking all night...LOL! I followed the recipe for the rub & cooking the meat almost exactly...I forgot the cayenne. It was just an oversight. For the sauce, I ran out of mustard, so I supplemented w/ketchup (about 1/4 of the mustard) so it added a bit of tomato to it. Someone said, "You could bottle that sauce & sell it!" I cooked the sauce w/the lid off as another person said. This recipe is soooo good & so easy to make. It's a GREAT crowd pleaser. THANKS for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Wowza! This is great! Even my grill loving husband had to admit that it was amazing. The pork was perfectly seasoned and shredded nicely. The sauce is so, so delicious. I did half dijon, half regular mustard in it and kept everything else the same. My only complaint is that there wasn't enough! Next time, I'll double the sauce recipe. I also plan on making it to go with ribs! Yummy! Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2014

    • on May 26, 2014

      This review is just for the actual pork - I already had some Carolina style BBQ sauce, so I didn't make the sauce. The pork was divine! Perfectly piquant, just a little kick, a great blend of flavors, and adding the second bit of vinegar towards the end keeps things bright! This is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      Won first place in our crock pot challenge! Excellent pulled pork! I cooked the meat for 12 hours, but should have turned the meat over since only the bottom was in the juice. The bottom fell apart, while the top took some effort to shred. Maybe a little longer cooking would do. I made the recipe as called for, except that I couldn't find white pepper in the stores so I doubled the black pepper. And 8 oz of yellow mustard is actually just shy of a cup, so I used up my Gray Poupon Dijon Mustard to make up the difference. Everyone raved about it. The meat was so tender, it made it really easy to eat. Usually, when you take a bite of a pulled pork sandwich, you pull half the meat out of the sandwich and it gets all over the place. Wear a bib. But not with this recipe! It has a very distinctive flavor, completely different from the sweet commercial pulled pork recipes. Man, I ate waaaay too much! Time for a nap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      I did not care for the sauce at all, but I'm not from Carolina and have no idea if this is authentic. I used a very small crock pot on low with its lid off to make the sauce and I do recommend that. I stirred it often and it thickened up very nicely. The mustard and vinegar made our noses burn all day, so if you are congested, maybe try this?<br/><br/>In the sauce,I used half the mustard amount and subbed dijon mustard for yellow. I ended up adding about a cup of ketchup and a cup of sugar to make the sauce palatable. I'm sure the locals are shaking their heads in disgust :)<br/><br/>As for the rub and main vinegar sauce, I thought that was pretty good and will make again. Being from the Midwest, I'd never had pulled pork like that. Thanks for introducing me to the Carolina style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      The pork turned out really tender and the sauce was so good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      I made this the first time about a week and a half ago and I'm now making it again. Very good recipe that received rave reviews by all that had it. The one comment I heard over and over again was that "this is the best pulled pork I've ever had". Thanks so much for sharing. It's a fabulous recipe made even better when you can catch the pork butt on sale for $1.49 a pound.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2013

      Delicious! I didn't use Worchestershire as I was out and used coconut sugar in place of the sugar in the rub and honey in place of the sugar in the sauce. I added lots of liquid smoke to the pork while cooking and did not add the remaining vinegar mixture during the last 30 minutes. I just shredded the pork and dressed it to taste with the mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      This is wonderful! I followed the recipe exactly, and we all loved it. The sauce is better than any store bought I have tried. <br/><br/>Not enough leftovers though. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      absolutely perfect. kind of a ton of work buuuut, totally worth it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Only made the Pulled Pork. Family loved it. It wasn't up to my extremely picky high standards in regards to flavor profiles. I am searching for a Perfect Pulled Pork & this was not it..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      Shut the front door!!! I never met a pulled pork sandwich that I didn't like, but this is truly "the world's best." I had less than half the amount of mustard for the BBQ sauce and subbed catsup, threw in a tsp of garlic, and 1/2 tsp celery seed, and the BBQ sauce is still to die for. Oh, and I ramped it up a few notches by putting in more than a tsp of red pepper flakes too. My 4 1/4 lb. boneless sirloin pork roast is failing apart in the crock after 9 hours on low. This is going down for the tailgate party between the church coed league Home Run Derby and The All Star Game for our church softball team members and families. Too bad it isn't a throwdown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2012

      I made this for a quick meal on a busy night. I was worried my kids would think it was too spicy but much to my surprise, the kids kept making more and more sandwiches! This is def going to become a go to for a busy night meal. I was able to have supper ready shortly after coming home from work. Thank you so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Rating is for the pork only, I did not make the BBQ sauce (although I was tempted based on the reviews, but also had reservations based on the reviews). I liked the pork alone without any additional sauce. This was easy to put together, tender and flavorful. Great served on rolls (I like mine with a slice of sharp cheddar on top).Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolina Style Pulled Pork Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.1
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    40%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 71.9 mg
    23%
    Sodium 762.4 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 14.3 g
    57%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites