Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carolina Honey BBQ Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carolina Honey BBQ Sauce

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on August 19, 2002

      Man this is really rich but also really good. I used it on a meatloaf and it sure picked it up!! I'll add more of it to the meatloaf when I use the leftovers for sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      What can I say that's not been said already about this sauce? It was excellent! I reduced it way down to get it very thick as I cooked it on ribs. It wasn't hot spicy, it was sweet and tangy. (I thought it might be more so with the tabasco, but it wasn't) It was wonderful, plan to use it a lot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2003

      This sauce is so wonderful - and easy to make - that I doubt the Titanium Family will ever buy bottled BBQ sauce again. When we're in the mood for the spicy stuff we'll just add some cayenne. Thanks for a GREAT recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      With BBQ sauce this easy who needs to buy the bottled! I put it over country style ribs in the crockpot. VERY VERY good. The flavor is wonderful if you like a smoky BBQ sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      Ran out of BBQ Sauce for a recipe that called for this ingredients. This recipe fit the bill. It was easy to prepare and the taste was great. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      I have been using this recipe for the last five years. I make this by the quart and can it for tons of people. This is one of the best BBQ sauces I've ever come across.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      Made today, as directed, and served with Pulled Pork. Excellent flavor and easy to make. Everyone enjoyed it. Need to make more the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Even better after it sits in the fridge for a couple of days! Made this to have a honey flavored sauce to top some Carolina pulled pork sandwiches, and yes, I know a ketchup sauce is anathema to a dish like that, but we like it that way. :-) This is sweet, but has a richer sort of deep flavor from the molasses. Very tasty, and I'll make it again. Didn't change a thing with this one. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      Totally bummed I only made a half batch. Next time I will be making a double batch without a doubt. Best sauce ever! I did scale back on the vinegar and was glad I did. But someone definitely did their homework when creating this recipe, it is outstanding restaurant quality sauce. Might even be good with a bit of crushed pineapple. might try that next time too. Very well done! When you make it have something ready to put it on or you'll have to resort to licking it off the spoon like me, it was too good to wait until I made dinner to eat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Ketchup is so 2011. The kids devoured it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      I used this sauce with the Low & Slow Oven Baked Ribs, to rave reviews. Will never use any other bbq sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      This sauce was delicious! I also cut down on the vinegar and I used cider vinegar, which was very tasty. I agree that it was even better on the second day. Next time I make it, I will make it the day before so the flavors can meld together. My husband was slurping the leftover sauce out of the bowl! I will never buy bottled sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      This was SO GOOD! I followed other reviewers' advice and cut the vinegar down to about 2/3 cup. It was still plenty tangy. I also added a little Famous Dave's Devil's Spit extra hot bbq sauce because I wanted to get rid of it and can't handle it by itself. A couple of tablespoons was enough to make it spicy enough for me! I sprinkled the ribs with some Famous Dave's Rib Rub and then slathered them with bbq sauce and threw them on the grill. The sauce was amazing after it cooked a while! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This was very good BBQ sauce with ingredients on hand. I used organic ketchup from Trader Joe's and it is very "tomato-e", so that was a bit strong. I used it on chicken breasts and the leftovers were 10 times better than the first serving. I will make it again and try cider vinegar and a bit less ketchup. Thanks for making dinner easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      FANTASTIC!!! Just like the sauce we get at a good bbq joint in the neighborhood. I can't believe it was so easy and it took me so long to find this recipe!!! I did make a couple of adjustments, but they were such minor modifications that I doubt the change this much. I used cider vinegar instead of white because that was what was in the pantry. Also I used celery salt instead of salt and only 1/2 tsp of liquid smoke 'cause that was all that was left in the bottle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      I don't think I let it simmer for quite a half hour, but this was awesome! Not too sweet, not too vinegary, perfect. Will be saving

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was easy to make and very tasty. I bit to much vinegar for me. I was expecting a sweeter sauce. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      This sauce is great for chicken or ribs and I have used it now several times. My DS and DD love it so much they request I make it up so they can have it to dip their chicken nuggets in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This was very tasty, Mysterygirl! I simmered my sauce for an extra 20 minutes to thicken it up (I think I simmered mine a little too low, and it was a bit thin after 30 minutes.) I accidently bought the habanero style Tabasco (all the red Tabasco the store had) and was afraid - no need! When I tasted the sauce with the habanero Tabasco straight from the pan, it was sweet, with creeping heat - but, once it was used on meat, neither my husband or I could detect any heat. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      WOW! This was soo good, my husband said you could bottle it and sell it !! Thank you so much as we LOVE BBQ!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carolina Honey BBQ Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 322.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    41%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 981.4 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 82.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 72.0 g
    288%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites