8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i thought they were ok. i love carob, but they seemed greasy with the peanut butter and the coconut didnt stick to the outside really great. they seemed to get stiffer as the hours have gone by. my 12 year old who loves sweets/pb said "mom they are a little too sweet, i think im going to get sick."

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thefoodcritic July 27, 2009

I have been looking for a sweet something to satisfy my cravings that isn't horrible for me, this is it! I used honey and substituted the sesame for Flax seed. The secret to getting the coconut to stick is to let the mix cool for a bit then roll them into balls and roll them in your hands with the coconut, a little pressure make the coconut stick. I compare these to truffles, you only need to eat 1 or 2, they are very sweet, I think you could cut the sweetener in half if you want.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany C. November 10, 2013

Yum. We made ours with agave nectar, but no coconut. They are very rich, some hot tea or cold soy milk was a good accompaniment for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dusty&Sarah January 01, 2010

I can't eat chocolate and these are the next thing to it. Great recipe and satisfied my chocolate urge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PopCornBalls August 26, 2008

I have been looking for something like this to have a more wholesome sweet snack. When I get those chocolate and sugar cravings now I can eat one of these and they taste great. I used all organic ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
825271 April 24, 2008

Yummy, healthy, easy to make! I halved the recipe. It's been a while since I used carob and I was so pleased these tasted so good! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 April 21, 2008

A refreshing carob treat. So easy and delicious warm. Can't wait to taste them cold (they SHOULD be kept in the fridge, right?) Fudgey, reminicent of rasin. Fine w/out the coconut (or even sesame). I even gave it to the baby, he spit it out though, but its healthy enough... Even my daughter ate a couple...even my hubby ate them! ps, subed sesame seed paste for the pb and seeds...it works as well, but was quite rich and too sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel March 11, 2008

I made these with all natural chunky PB and honey, and I mixed the Bakers Coconut in because it wasn't sticking to the outside. Three stars are for how healthy they are, another because they are tasty and the fifth star is because my pickiest eater said to give them 10! (made for 'Please Review my Recipe')

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn February 04, 2008
Carob Balls