22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This will be the second time making this recipe. It was very good the first time, which has me wanting more. I did not bake the meat after it was done as it was yummy as is. Thank you for an easy delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyJunker February 28, 2009

This is not an authentic recipe and is why people get confused when they have authentic meals and they taste different or are upset when they wasted money on a recipe that isn't even close to being right. This is a dish that is fried in lard not boiled in water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelleil January 20, 2009

This was my first attempt at carnitas. Pretty good. I felt like they were a bit more dried out than I would have liked. I might have left them in the oven for a bit too long. But still really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maureen January 19, 2009

These were amazing! I had been wanting to try these for dinner and experimeted on a night when my family was working. They walked into a delicious smelling house and were rewarded with an even more delicious tasting dinner. We couldn't find boneless shoulder so we used a bone-in and left the bone in while it boiled. We aren't huge cilantro fans so we left that out, and used ground cumin. We also used salt, pepper, and some Mural of Flavor from Penzeys. I pulled it from the oven after about 12 minutes because I was afraid the meat would dry, but I shouldn't have worried and the next time I'll leave it in all 20 minutes to really crisp it up. A new family favorite...the leftovers were even more fabulous! We served it with tortillas, sliced avocado, sour cream, and a mexican blend cheese. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KylerEsq January 10, 2009

These were fabulous! I didn't have any cumin seed, so I subbed ground cumin instead and it turned out great! We did prefer not to bake them in the end, so I didn't do that the 2nd time I made them and we saved the onion and broth and used it too. Mmm good! Definitely a keeper! Thank you! Cathy :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazelruthe December 31, 2008

Fantastic recipe and so easy to make. I've made it several times now and spice things up a bit with chile powder and onion powder. The carnitas remind me of something my late grandmother would cook up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lenriquez10 December 12, 2008

I made this a day ahead which may have been the problem, but I didn't want the long cooking time when expecting company. It smelled great and crisped up well in the oven. (I stirred it several times and shortened oven time.) Wrapped it well for the fridge overnight. Heated it on the stovetop with a bit of liquid, but it was dry and the taste just wasn't what I had hoped for. I had counted on what a reviewer had said about the leftovers being better the 2nd day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PennyLS September 23, 2008

Very Good!! Reserved the large portions of fat for seasoning other dishes at a later date. (Freezes great in a zip lock.) Added 1/4 ts gound smoked chilpote at the end for a little snap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr. Bill in TN March 20, 2008

I made this for my family of ten and every single one of us gobbled it up! Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garlicgoddess84 November 15, 2007

I made this without making sure I had the proper ingredients. I did not have enough chicken stock and I was worried about losing flavor, so I researched some of the other carnitas recipes on this website and I found one that had you add orange juice and orange zest. I added 1/3 c. orange juice and 2 TBS orange zest to the stock. It did not taste orangey at all but it did taste delicious. On day 2 I threw the meat in a fry pan with some rice and extra cilantro. It was even better day 2.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebarnum November 14, 2007
Carnitas (Authentic)