Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carnitas (Authentic) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carnitas (Authentic)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2012

      I have been looking for a good/EASY carnitas recipe....& I found it! I followed the recipe exactly, but added to it based on other reviews. I added an extra can of broth to cover the meat, juice from 1 orange, a bay leaf and a few good shakes of black pepper, cayenne pepper and garlic salt. When it came time to put it in the oven I added about a 1/4 cup of the broth and 2 tablespoons of bacon fat and carefully flipped the meat halfway through the cooking. Let the meat stand or "rest" for about 5-10 minutes before shredding. These came out perfectly tender and crispy! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      This turned out great! On Diners, Drive-ins and Dives a Mexican restaurant made carnitas with evaporated milk. So I used 2 cans of evaporated mik seasoned with chicken bouillon instead of the broth. I put everything in the crock-pot for 9 hours, then I crisped it up in the oven according to the recipe. I drained the broth and reduced it down to a thick gravy, brushed it on the browned meat and let it bake a little longer. It was crispy on the outside and very tender on the inside. Next time I will add a jalapeno pepper and touch of allspice. We had three different meals during the week. One with rice, beans, flour tortillas and fresh salsa. We had carnitas soft tacos and also carintas burritos served enchilada style. Will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      OH MY GOODNESS....THESE ARE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD!! The only thing I did different was add more garlic (I love garlic). I served these will Pico De Gallo Pico De Gallo and they were out of this world....I will be making these often. Thanks a million for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      Great! Delicious! After cooking the pork chunks in the broth, I took 1 cup of the broth, reduced it by 1/2 in a saucepan, and then combined it with the pork before placing it in the oven. As it baked in the hot oven, the flavors from the broth permeated the meat, adding an extra layer of deliciousness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2006

      I have made this dish twice and my friend have made this dish also, LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I used alot of cilantro. After it was done put it on a corn tortilla with some sour cream, sharp cheese, jalpeno peppers & stuff in a can (the pickled kind), some pico de gallo, with avocado and WAAALLAAA! Good Good Eating, you won't be disappointed if you like Carnitas. Lastly I used a crockpot, put it on low for several hours, I put 2 bay leaves, 1 jalpeno pepper, I think that's it. Very good BABYGirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2014

      Yummmmmmm. I added a couple of bay leafs. Served on tortillas, with shredded cabbage, salsa and sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      AMAZING! I cooked them in a crockpot instead of a dutch oven but baked them in the oven after as instructed. These turned out so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      NOW that's carnitas as I remember mami making!! Forget the foo-foo recipes you'll see with a branch of something propped on top of some pale shredded meat that they call carnitas...that is not carnitas....THIS is carnitas, from smell to taste! Ingredients right on target.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      outstanding and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      This is very good, although not really authentic (not fried in lard). It is healthier, though. I put all the ingredients in a crock-pot and cook on low for 8-10 hours. When I'm ready to brown it in the oven, I pour green chile enchilada sauce over the meat prior to baking. It's not as dry this way. Leftovers are excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      This will be the second time making this recipe. It was very good the first time, which has me wanting more. I did not bake the meat after it was done as it was yummy as is. Thank you for an easy delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      This is not an authentic recipe and is why people get confused when they have authentic meals and they taste different or are upset when they wasted money on a recipe that isn't even close to being right. This is a dish that is fried in lard not boiled in water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      This was my first attempt at carnitas. Pretty good. I felt like they were a bit more dried out than I would have liked. I might have left them in the oven for a bit too long. But still really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      These were amazing! I had been wanting to try these for dinner and experimeted on a night when my family was working. They walked into a delicious smelling house and were rewarded with an even more delicious tasting dinner. We couldn't find boneless shoulder so we used a bone-in and left the bone in while it boiled. We aren't huge cilantro fans so we left that out, and used ground cumin. We also used salt, pepper, and some Mural of Flavor from Penzeys. I pulled it from the oven after about 12 minutes because I was afraid the meat would dry, but I shouldn't have worried and the next time I'll leave it in all 20 minutes to really crisp it up. A new family favorite...the leftovers were even more fabulous! We served it with tortillas, sliced avocado, sour cream, and a mexican blend cheese. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      These were fabulous! I didn't have any cumin seed, so I subbed ground cumin instead and it turned out great! We did prefer not to bake them in the end, so I didn't do that the 2nd time I made them and we saved the onion and broth and used it too. Mmm good! Definitely a keeper! Thank you! Cathy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Fantastic recipe and so easy to make. I've made it several times now and spice things up a bit with chile powder and onion powder. The carnitas remind me of something my late grandmother would cook up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I made this a day ahead which may have been the problem, but I didn't want the long cooking time when expecting company. It smelled great and crisped up well in the oven. (I stirred it several times and shortened oven time.) Wrapped it well for the fridge overnight. Heated it on the stovetop with a bit of liquid, but it was dry and the taste just wasn't what I had hoped for. I had counted on what a reviewer had said about the leftovers being better the 2nd day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Very Good!! Reserved the large portions of fat for seasoning other dishes at a later date. (Freezes great in a zip lock.) Added 1/4 ts gound smoked chilpote at the end for a little snap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I made this for my family of ten and every single one of us gobbled it up! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I made this without making sure I had the proper ingredients. I did not have enough chicken stock and I was worried about losing flavor, so I researched some of the other carnitas recipes on this website and I found one that had you add orange juice and orange zest. I added 1/3 c. orange juice and 2 TBS orange zest to the stock. It did not taste orangey at all but it did taste delicious. On day 2 I threw the meat in a fry pan with some rice and extra cilantro. It was even better day 2.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carnitas (Authentic)

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 814.4
     
    Calories from Fat 560
    68%
    Total Fat 62.3 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 21.4 g
    107%
    Cholesterol 214.8 mg
    71%
    Sodium 708.3 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 54.5 g
    109%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes