22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been looking for a good/EASY carnitas recipe....& I found it! I followed the recipe exactly, but added to it based on other reviews. I added an extra can of broth to cover the meat, juice from 1 orange, a bay leaf and a few good shakes of black pepper, cayenne pepper and garlic salt. When it came time to put it in the oven I added about a 1/4 cup of the broth and 2 tablespoons of bacon fat and carefully flipped the meat halfway through the cooking. Let the meat stand or "rest" for about 5-10 minutes before shredding. These came out perfectly tender and crispy! Thank you so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeaMonkey76 May 03, 2012

This turned out great! On Diners, Drive-ins and Dives a Mexican restaurant made carnitas with evaporated milk. So I used 2 cans of evaporated mik seasoned with chicken bouillon instead of the broth. I put everything in the crock-pot for 9 hours, then I crisped it up in the oven according to the recipe. I drained the broth and reduced it down to a thick gravy, brushed it on the browned meat and let it bake a little longer. It was crispy on the outside and very tender on the inside. Next time I will add a jalapeno pepper and touch of allspice. We had three different meals during the week. One with rice, beans, flour tortillas and fresh salsa. We had carnitas soft tacos and also carintas burritos served enchilada style. Will be making this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corn Maiden November 12, 2009

OH MY GOODNESS....THESE ARE THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD!! The only thing I did different was add more garlic (I love garlic). I served these will Pico De Gallo Pico De Gallo and they were out of this world....I will be making these often. Thanks a million for sharing!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tazzz70 July 16, 2008

Great! Delicious! After cooking the pork chunks in the broth, I took 1 cup of the broth, reduced it by 1/2 in a saucepan, and then combined it with the pork before placing it in the oven. As it baked in the hot oven, the flavors from the broth permeated the meat, adding an extra layer of deliciousness.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
No Stress Chef May 06, 2008

I have made this dish twice and my friend have made this dish also, LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I used alot of cilantro. After it was done put it on a corn tortilla with some sour cream, sharp cheese, jalpeno peppers & stuff in a can (the pickled kind), some pico de gallo, with avocado and WAAALLAAA! Good Good Eating, you won't be disappointed if you like Carnitas. Lastly I used a crockpot, put it on low for several hours, I put 2 bay leaves, 1 jalpeno pepper, I think that's it. Very good BABYGirl

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodmama January 05, 2006

Yummmmmmm. I added a couple of bay leafs. Served on tortillas, with shredded cabbage, salsa and sour cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Gourmet Girlfriend November 03, 2014

AMAZING! I cooked them in a crockpot instead of a dutch oven but baked them in the oven after as instructed. These turned out so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesslisa of a galaxy far far away January 22, 2014

NOW that's carnitas as I remember mami making!! Forget the foo-foo recipes you'll see with a branch of something propped on top of some pale shredded meat that they call carnitas...that is not carnitas....THIS is carnitas, from smell to taste! Ingredients right on target.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wbarb19 July 29, 2012

This is very good, although not really authentic (not fried in lard). It is healthier, though. I put all the ingredients in a crock-pot and cook on low for 8-10 hours. When I'm ready to brown it in the oven, I pour green chile enchilada sauce over the meat prior to baking. It's not as dry this way. Leftovers are excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greg_n77 April 26, 2009
Carnitas (Authentic)