Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carnitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carnitas

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2010

      That is some good pork! I made it in my dutch oven and added cumin like one person suggested. I used Wild Turkey bourbon since I didn't have any rum on hand. Stuck with the 2 chilis and 2 TBLS adobe sauce and the spice level was a bit hot but not over the top-just right! It was so freaking good! We didn't plan dinner very well and didn't have lettuce, cabbage, cheese, tomatoes, avacado, or onion. We only had corn tortillas, lime, and plain yogurt so we made little soft tacos with just that and it was all we needed cause this stuff is good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      Very yummy as is! Pork turned out tender, and made enough for several days worth of meals (for two people). Left the seeds in the chipotle peppers and, although my fiancee found the meat a bit spicy immediately after cooking, she found the spice level mellowed nicely after a couple days in the fridge. Will definitely make this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      Wow! These are spicy! I used one can of chipotle peppers in adobo, and I was breathing fire! We ate the pork over cilantro lime rice and black beans, topped with cheese, tomatoes, and sour cream. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Wow! I cooked it in the pressure cooker for 45 minutes, then boiled off the liquid. I didn't have rum so I used tequila. Also tossed in some dried oregano and cumin for good measure. When it started burning in my pan, I decided to put it in the oven at 375 (or 400 would work). I cooked and stirred intermittently. It is so very good. I could eat all of it tonight, but I'll try to have some restraint.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      Really good! It took about 3 1/2 hours total but worth the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Thiss a FABULOUS recipe! I loved the fact that it doesn't include cooking the pork in lard. Very easy to make and tastes sooooo good. It's a keeper. Thank you Chef Jeff. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      This was so easy...I used 6-8 lbs of boston butt so I doubled everything but the garlic, used some chicken broth instead of water, added a whole can of chilis in adobe sauce and just let in cook in my roasting pan for 3 hours. Removed and shredded the meat, and cooked down the remaining liquid, added the rum and used it as a sauce to put over the meat...served the meat in with tortillas and put some coleslaw on top of the meat....fantastic! The sauce on its own was a bit spicy but it was perfect on the pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

    • on March 15, 2010

      YUMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYYY!! LOVED THIS!!! didn't trim off any fat off of the meat, but did cut pieces into 1/3. Used about 6 chipotle chiles and put pot and all in the smoker for 1 1/2hrs! then brought it back inside and cooked for another hour or so. needed very few condiments!! 7 yr old ate w/o any complaining!! WILL make again and again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      Wow!! This is beyond fantastic!! I followed the recipe exactly, probably had slightly over 3 lbs. of boneless ribs. I had 6 very fat garlic cloves, and threw in one more. I also took the seeds out of my chipotle peppers. Everything about this recipe is just right - the timing, the technique, the heat and the masterpiece that is the finished result!! We rolled ours in hot flour tortillas with various toppings (sour cream, salsa, shredded lettuce, lime juice, rice, sharp cheddar cheese) and just MMMMMMM'd around the table a hundred times. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      Awesome! I love that this recipe does not call for oil or lard...much healthier. I used a pork butt roast and let it simmer for several hours. Since I knew I was going to let it cook for some time, I threw the garlic cloves and chipotle peppers in whole and by the time the meat was falling apart, the garlic and peppers had mostly dissolved. I used chicken broth in place of the water. I did not have any rum so instead I added 1 T of honey for a little sweetness. I left out the salt. Very easy and tasty. We ate with flour tortillas, pico de gallo, guacamole, sour cream and Monterey Jack cheese. Will make again often...thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carnitas

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 282.3
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    30%
    Total Fat 9.7 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 125.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 766.7 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    adobo sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites