Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-71 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2006

      Loved it! Lowered my heating temp and cooked it a little longer. The meat is so tender and the cumin and chili flavor is such a nice combination. Also added a can of diced tomatos instead of the paste and a small can of mild green chiles. Will definately make again but I think that it could stand for some more spices. Thank you for such a delicious and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This was wonderful and tasted so great! I served it on corn tortillas but next time I will serve it over rice with cornbread on the side, as that really sounds good. It really tasted so great, love the flavors! Thanks EdsGirlAngie....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      My DH wasn't too sure about this recipe, since he's never had carne guisada from the oven before. One bite was all it took! I added a little chipotle seasoning just because I had it on hand. A wonderful cold-weather dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2005

      This stew was really good, and very easy to make. As some of the other reviewers have already noted, the liquid did evaporate rather quickly, especially for a long cook time. Next time we make this stew, we will add more beef stock or water towards the middle of the cooking time. Also, we will add more cumin and chili powder to the mixture as we enjoy hot foods, as the long cooking time mellowed out the jalapeno peppers and the other spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2005

      This was very good! And easy too. I don't have a nice dutch oven that goes in the oven, so I used my huge cast iron skillet. Worked great. The stew was rich and dark. Served it with salad and mexican rice. There's just a little bit left, so I'll make a burrito or two for my hubby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      Changing this from a 4 to a 5. Gets better with a couple of days and reheating on it. Just excellent!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      This was a breeze to make and so, so deliciously full of flavour! I had to leave out the jalapeno due to differing heat tolerances in the family, just added pepper sauce to my portion. My son usually complains when we have stew (the standard carrot/celery/potato stuff) but he couldn't get enough of this authentically mexican version. This was a no-leftovers dinner, and a definite keeper. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2004

      Really excellent blend of flavors. Mine took about 3 hours to cook. I look forward to savoring this for several days. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      This is a terrific recipe. I swapped the jalapeno peppers for two medium-sized habanero peppers from my garden, but otherwise stuck to the recipe as given. Mine didn't get thick the way other reviewers said that theirs had. The beef was fork-tender, but the broth was quite thin and there was quite a lot of it. That suited me fine, and I just served it with crumbled corn tortilla chips, a dollop of sour cream, and some sliced green onions on top. I think next time I may try it with some cornmeal dumplings (and it won't be long before I make it again, that's for sure! It's so good!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      This is a wonderful stew! The aroma is TDF. The meat turned out fork tender and the sauce/gravy was thick and delicious. Next time, I may use tomato sauce just so there will be more sauce to spoon over rice or to sop with bread. DH and I loved this. Thanks EdsGirlAngie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2004

      Marvelous! A friend needed space in his freezer, he gave me a 7-bone roast. I thought a Smoked Chipotle Chili Powder would be most authentic. I buy the mix blended but not ground. I ground it minutes before use. The stock was quite thick and gelatinous so to make up for the lack of liquid I used 2 cups of home made tomato sauce instead of paste. I thought the 7-bone might need a bit more cooking so I let it go for 2 1/2 hours in the oven. It was perfect! I served it with Spanish Rice, hot Corn Tortillas, and a nice Sangria. It shot my diet all to hell. I loved it! Thanx for posting this great recipe. Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.4
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    42%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 124.7 mg
    41%
    Sodium 653.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 42.7 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes