Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)

    Average Rating:

    71 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 71

    Sort by:

    • on September 09, 2007

      This dish was fantastic, the only thing i did different was add a can of mixed beans. This is definitely a keeper and will be a regular on our menu, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      This was pretty good! We were craving some good mexican food... and this fit the bill! We used a package of stew meat, and home grown jalapenos... wrapped it all up in a tortilla, topped with cheese and we were good to go! Thanks for the fix!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I really really enjoyed this one. I did everything as directed this time, but next time I will cut the pieces into larger chunks and add salt/pepper and just a bit more spice as I LOVE SPICY FOOD. I shredded the beef up, mixed it around in the sauce and let it sit for two days. Then, made tacos out of it. Fabulous ! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This is absolutely delicious! The meat was so tender and flavorful. I love cumin, so the addition of that spice to the stew just sealed it for me. I added 3 jalapeno peppers from my garden. They were hot and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      This was really good and the whole family enjoyed it. The only thing I'd do different with it is to add salt and pepper. It cooks down and makes a delicious gravy! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      I used some frozen cooked beef briske. I used beef consomme along with some frozen beef stock.I used dried chili peppers instead of jalapeno peppers. I like using lots of cumin and chili powder. Very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Delicious and EASY! A winner for my family. Served with refried beans, grated cheese and corn tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      This was awsome! Had some meat left over and tried this out. I eat mine straight out the pot in a bowl. I added a potato or two, just because I like it that way. I also added salt to mine, my beef broth, if salted, barely has any and I love salt. I only had one pepper in the fridge but added a couple shakes of red pepper. This will be so good with cornbread, can't wait to make it again. I did try a batch with bottom round steak in the crock pot. Ewww just NOT the same. Reminds me of a red chili stew I used to get from a mexican place no longer in business. Thanks so so much for posting this. You rock!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Sweet Baby Jeebus! This was absolutely phenomenal and sooooo easy. We loved it! We ate it with shredded cheese and small corn tortillas along with a lil sour cream and refried beans. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      I have scoured the web in search of the "right" Carne Guisada recipe, and here I have found it. By the way, for those commenting that most of the liquid evaporated, this is actually by design. While this is 'sort of' a stew, traditionally the meat is folded onto a warm flour tortilla (often with a bit of refried beans on the tortilla as well), and just a bit of the very thick gravy with all of those concentrated flavors. Be sure not to add any salt, all of the sodium you need is in the Beef Stock which will become concentrated as the liquid evaporates. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      Wonderful meal. I prepared this recipe exactly as written and the meat turned out fall-apart tender, juicy. Some at the table served theirs over rice others rolled in flour tortillas and added taco condiments: chopped onion, tomatoes, pico de gallo, cilantro, and sour cream as desired. This is such a versatile recipe that will be served in my home again and again. Thanks EdsGirlAngie for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      This was soooo goood! I wanted to make something other than ordinary stew. I did add about a cup of diced tomates after it had been in the over for a while. Absolutely excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Awesome! I followed the instructions exactly, EXCEPT: I used 2.5 lbs. of eye of round roast, and twice the chile powder called for, and 1 more TB fresh ground cumin than called for. I grind my own powders (makes a BIG difference, and easy to do--use an old coffee grinder for this). This was absolutely delicious! Thickened up nicely, despite my skepticism about all the beef stock. Used a lidded cast iron dutch oven and cooked about 3 hours. Mmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      When I first joined RZ, my first (and only) recipe submitted was 167235, Carne Guisada. My favorite dish. Anyway, I just ran across this recipe, which is almost exactly as I make mine. I add about 6 celery stalks, diced, and usually twice as many jalapenos and chili powder. Really spices things up, but it's not overpoweringly spicy. I serve it with lime cilantro rice and fresh tortillas, and a dab of sour cream on top. Absolutely top notch! If, at the 2 hour mark, the stew is a little thin, I'll add a tbsp of corn starch dissolved in water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This recipe was super and quite authentic tasting. I added some chopped canned tomatoes to the crockpot but otherwise followed the recipe as written. My DH and I enjoyed this on tortillas with all the taco fixings. I think this would work well for ground beef too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      This was one of those recipes that tastes better the second day. Although it did taste very good the first day too. I served mine with red beans and rice and my BF loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      My BFF made this tonight at a party she hosted, and it is fabulous! I ate mine with pico di gallo (1/4 cup onion and tomato, 3 T fresh chopped cilantro, 1 jalapeno, 3 T lemon juice, 1 t salt), cheese, sour cream on a soft shell tortilla. Yummy. You have to try this made into a burrito, topped with green enchilada sauce and Mexican White Cheese -- to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      I am so thankful to have found this recipe. Like another reviewer said, my kids (ages 10, 8, and 4) don't care for the usual beef stew with the carrots and potatoes, etc., but they all liked this one. My husband raved too so I guess it's a keeper! I had to do a couple of things differently since I did not have a dutch oven or jalapeno peppers. I just put it all in a crockpot and cooked it on high for 4 1/2 hours, I used a tablespoon of dried minced onion instead of fresh onion, and I left the jalapenos out because I didn't think the kids would like them. I also added a couple of extra tablespoons of flour (another tip from other reviewers). It turned out great! Thanks EdsGirlAngie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      So easy to prepare and so tender and flavorful! I used 1 1/2 lbs. of sirloin beef cubes and 1 lb. veal cubes, 5-6 tsp. cumin (We love cumin!) and 3 jalepeno peppers. It wasn't even spicy enough for us and we added a little hot sauce once the dish was on the table! Next time I will add one cup of water in addition to the beef stock because as others mentioned, it did dry out the amount of sauce towards the end. Served this with corn tortillas and a little sour cream on the side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      This is the best Mexican beef recipe that I've tried yet...and the easiest! I used a round roast because it was on sale and had less fat. It worked perfectly. I skipped the jalapenos all together and substituted mild green chilis because of the kids. I will continue with that next time. Thanks so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.4
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    42%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 124.7 mg
    41%
    Sodium 653.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 42.7 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes