74 Reviews

We have made this several times now and it never fails to be mouth- wateringly good. I brown the chuck whole (without cubing), then put it all in the crockpot for the day. (Do reduce the beef broth to about 1/2 cup and keep an eye to see if it needs more liquid.) Shred the meat and put it back in the crockpot for about 45-60 minutes to absorb all the delicious juices. Then serve it with warm flour tortillas, salsa, cheese, avocado, and sour cream. With refried or chili beans and/or rice on the side. This is so yummy and mouth-watering that my Mexican-food averse DH loves it and asks for it again and again. This recipe is a keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayc1218 July 29, 2011

More than 5 stars! Absolutely delicious. Years ago, in Lubbock, Texas, there was a little Mexican restaurant called Texas Tony's on the corner, on the way to "The Strip" (where you could buy alcohol since it wasn't sold in town) and they'd sell these fabulous burritos to people as they drove by on the way to the Strip. Everyone was very upset when Texas Tony's closed down. This meat tastes EXACTLY like the meat they put in their burritos. I was so excited to write my review because this recipe was a wonderful find. I cooked it exactly as written but when it was tender I took out the meat and shredded it and put it with the liquid into my crock pot to take to a potluck at the school I work at. It got rave reviews. Thanks for the great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern_gal12000 May 05, 2010

This turned out incredibly well. So rich and flavorful. I halved the recipe and browned the whole roast in a heavy pan and transferred it to the crockpot and then sauteed the the onion and peppers until soft adding the broth and scrapping up all the good browned bits from the pan. I pour everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for 5 hours, cooled and refrigerated it and reheated the next day. It was a delicious and comforting meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'm looking forward to making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 17, 2012

Completely exceeded expectations! After browning the meat, I put it into my slow-cooker, deglazed the pan with the beef stock, poured that in, then added everything else. As soon as it heated up, DH and I were griping that we had to wait all day to eat it, it smelled so good! Served it wrapped up in corn tortillas, and we enjoyed every savory bite! Will definitely make this one again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cautious_cook May 24, 2010

I love this recipe! I sear the meat and the put everything in the crock pot to cook all day while I am at work. I do not use the full 3 cups of beef broth, I just use enough to cover the meat. Turns out great everytime! Forgot to mention, I made this in a large electric roaster using cubed elk. I called it elke guisada! Got many compliments on it. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenJenMarie April 02, 2010

i also seared the meat then put it in my crockpot for the day. the meat was very flavorful and yummy. i used it as a filling for enchiladas today adding only cheese when rolling in corn tortillas. topped with tomatoes, green chilies, and more cheese. picky kids ate it up. thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jetta_mel August 07, 2009

This was some tasty beef that made some awesome Taco's. May I suggest that you brown the Beef in small batches unless you have a very large Dutch Oven. The meat tend's to "stew" otherwise. I broke my meat browning process into three batches in my 5 quart Dutch Oven. If you like spicy make sure you use 3 jalapeno's.May I also suggest that you stir during the oven cooking every 1/2 hour to prevent burning to the bottom of your cooking vessel ! Thanks for the recipe Angie

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman February 17, 2009

Very good. I just cooked the whole thing on top of the stove. Other than that, made as directed. I will also probably make this with pork and chicken thighs, using chicken broth rather than the beef broth for those. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andtototoo! January 15, 2009

This is everything it promises to be...my DH was raving, I was raving! Made with Spanish Yellow Rice #238452. Had to brown beef in large fry pan and transfer to metal oven proof dish cuz I don't have both...poor me! We made fried soft corn tortillas, lettuce, tomato, a dab of sour cream and some cheese. Best meal we've had in a debatable amount of time... I didn't have paste so I used a small can of tomato sauce but otherwise followed recipe. Maybe I added a little extra onion, ground cumin seeds in my pestal & mortar combined with a chuck roast I trimmed almost every speck of fat from came a meal to end a great year! My food processor would not chop my pickled jalapenos so I threw 2 in whole and DH was howling after he ate a whole one in first of 3 giant tacos full. He was full of glee! Thanks a million!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment December 31, 2008

Living 10 minutes from Mexico in South Texas...I know Mexican food and this was good! Wonderfully tender and great flavor. Added some corn starch to thicken the gravy. Cooked for 2 hours at 350 and turned oven down to 250 until it was time to eat (5 hours later). I stirred the meat too much and the flour came off into globs on the bottom of the pan. I substituted 3 cups of water and beef boulion cube for beef stock, 4 spoonfuls of spagetti sauce for tomato paste, crushed red peppers for chili powder, and omitted the jalapenos. Definately doing this one again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lifestorybooks October 17, 2007
Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)