Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on July 29, 2011

      We have made this several times now and it never fails to be mouth- wateringly good. I brown the chuck whole (without cubing), then put it all in the crockpot for the day. (Do reduce the beef broth to about 1/2 cup and keep an eye to see if it needs more liquid.) Shred the meat and put it back in the crockpot for about 45-60 minutes to absorb all the delicious juices. Then serve it with warm flour tortillas, salsa, cheese, avocado, and sour cream. With refried or chili beans and/or rice on the side. This is so yummy and mouth-watering that my Mexican-food averse DH loves it and asks for it again and again. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      More than 5 stars! Absolutely delicious. Years ago, in Lubbock, Texas, there was a little Mexican restaurant called Texas Tony's on the corner, on the way to "The Strip" (where you could buy alcohol since it wasn't sold in town) and they'd sell these fabulous burritos to people as they drove by on the way to the Strip. Everyone was very upset when Texas Tony's closed down. This meat tastes EXACTLY like the meat they put in their burritos. I was so excited to write my review because this recipe was a wonderful find. I cooked it exactly as written but when it was tender I took out the meat and shredded it and put it with the liquid into my crock pot to take to a potluck at the school I work at. It got rave reviews. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2012

      This turned out incredibly well. So rich and flavorful. I halved the recipe and browned the whole roast in a heavy pan and transferred it to the crockpot and then sauteed the the onion and peppers until soft adding the broth and scrapping up all the good browned bits from the pan. I pour everything in the crockpot and cooked on low for 5 hours, cooled and refrigerated it and reheated the next day. It was a delicious and comforting meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'm looking forward to making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Completely exceeded expectations! After browning the meat, I put it into my slow-cooker, deglazed the pan with the beef stock, poured that in, then added everything else. As soon as it heated up, DH and I were griping that we had to wait all day to eat it, it smelled so good! Served it wrapped up in corn tortillas, and we enjoyed every savory bite! Will definitely make this one again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      I love this recipe! I sear the meat and the put everything in the crock pot to cook all day while I am at work. I do not use the full 3 cups of beef broth, I just use enough to cover the meat. Turns out great everytime! Forgot to mention, I made this in a large electric roaster using cubed elk. I called it elke guisada! Got many compliments on it. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      i also seared the meat then put it in my crockpot for the day. the meat was very flavorful and yummy. i used it as a filling for enchiladas today adding only cheese when rolling in corn tortillas. topped with tomatoes, green chilies, and more cheese. picky kids ate it up. thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This was some tasty beef that made some awesome Taco's. May I suggest that you brown the Beef in small batches unless you have a very large Dutch Oven. The meat tend's to "stew" otherwise. I broke my meat browning process into three batches in my 5 quart Dutch Oven. If you like spicy make sure you use 3 jalapeno's.May I also suggest that you stir during the oven cooking every 1/2 hour to prevent burning to the bottom of your cooking vessel ! Thanks for the recipe Angie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      Very good. I just cooked the whole thing on top of the stove. Other than that, made as directed. I will also probably make this with pork and chicken thighs, using chicken broth rather than the beef broth for those. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This is everything it promises to be...my DH was raving, I was raving! Made with Spanish Yellow Rice #238452. Had to brown beef in large fry pan and transfer to metal oven proof dish cuz I don't have both...poor me! We made fried soft corn tortillas, lettuce, tomato, a dab of sour cream and some cheese. Best meal we've had in a debatable amount of time... I didn't have paste so I used a small can of tomato sauce but otherwise followed recipe. Maybe I added a little extra onion, ground cumin seeds in my pestal & mortar combined with a chuck roast I trimmed almost every speck of fat from came a meal to end a great year! My food processor would not chop my pickled jalapenos so I threw 2 in whole and DH was howling after he ate a whole one in first of 3 giant tacos full. He was full of glee! Thanks a million!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      Living 10 minutes from Mexico in South Texas...I know Mexican food and this was good! Wonderfully tender and great flavor. Added some corn starch to thicken the gravy. Cooked for 2 hours at 350 and turned oven down to 250 until it was time to eat (5 hours later). I stirred the meat too much and the flour came off into globs on the bottom of the pan. I substituted 3 cups of water and beef boulion cube for beef stock, 4 spoonfuls of spagetti sauce for tomato paste, crushed red peppers for chili powder, and omitted the jalapenos. Definately doing this one again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      This one was good but I tried another one that I perfer. Did everything the same but put in the crockpot with half cup of water and tomatoe chicken boullion. 2 hours before serving I through in a can of pinto beans. Not spicy at all! Should of left some seeds in the jalapenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      Good meal. I served this with warm flour tortillas, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, sour cream and pico. We loved it. It smelled so good while cooking it was making my mouth water. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Love it! I added cubed potatoes and used pasilla chile powder, and it was delicious! Will be making regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      This is a very good, very authentic recipe. I lived in Mexico City for several years and this dish took me back. I recommend eating this meat with corn tortillas warmed on the griddle. Have a little chopped onion and cilantro on the side to sprinkle on the tacos. I made some mexican rice which complemented it perfectly. I used sirloin steaks that I had frozen several months earlier. When I defrosted them, I could tell they were not going to be great anymore so I was going to make a stew. This recipe worked perfectly to cover the freezer burn taste (gross, I know). Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      This was simple and delicious. The only change I made to the ingredients was to omit the jalepenos. I don't have an oven-safe Dutch oven, so I browned the cubed meat in my large frying-pan, then transfered it to a heavy, metal 9x13 baking pan and covered it with heavy tin foil. It came out fall-apart tender after exactly 2 1/2 hours. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      This is so delicious, and EASY! Followed recipe, except I browned the meat on my stove top grill pan so I didn't need to use the oil or flour, then put everything in my crock pot. I plan to make this again, and again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      This was delicious!! It smelt so good when it was cooking. I didn't use any jalapenos and only used 1/2 tsp chile powder and it was amazingly good. So easy! I will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Delicious! I added some potatoes, and up'd the chili powder....as well as some fresh cilantro. Also threw in a can for diced tomatoes. I used some hatch chilies as I had them in the freezer, and it was a great add! This is a great base, and you can do a lot with it! Thanks for a great recipe. Great served over rice, and made for a nice stew with toasted tortillas and eggs for breakfast! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      Liked this recipe.I placed everything in the crockpot after browning.Was not able to use the jalapenos as I didn't have any but I am sure it would have given the recipe a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      this is amazing! My husband said it was like eating out at our favorite Mexican restaurant, and being able to eat from the expensive part of the menu. The only change we made was to use a couple dashes of dried diced jalapeno peppers instead of fresh, to cut down on the heat. Even our 4 yr old daughter loved it! We also served it with small flour tortillas to make tacos, or just dip in the yummy sauce, and an equally wonderful homemade spanish yellow rice. You have to try this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carne Guisada (Mexican Beef Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (356 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 355.4
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    42%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 124.7 mg
    41%
    Sodium 653.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 42.7 g
    85%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites