9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Making sure the pieces are small enough is key, and keeping the pan hot enough was key too... I think you should take the beef out and let it warm closer to room temp before cooking to get that sear going good, the char is part of the charm. Thanks for posting this. Diego Style!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AustinEstates June 08, 2012

really good recipe...the only thing i do different is add some garlic to the meat marinade, and we like it cooked on the grill.....gotta add the fries though to make it a true SD burrito

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steelersgirl9999_12546374 January 27, 2011

My wife lived in San Diego for 14 years before I met her. I've heard of these burritos for 18 years. She kept threatening to fly out there just for the burritos until I found this recipe. We tried it and except for a little too much lime (my fault I think) this was spot on. Her eyes (and taste buds) sparkled with delight. If I keep the recipe a secret she'll never leave me. ;-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glen052961 July 21, 2013

As like everyone I think this recipe is awesome!. Born and raised in San Diego this is the closest to one of the "Berto's" I've found. I also reduced the lemon a little bit on my second try and thought it was better. Living in Maine there is "NO" real Mexican food.Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larth April 23, 2013

I lived in Oceanside and would always buy my carne asada burrito's from Eriberto's near the back gate to Camp Pendleton. They were the best tasting burrito's I have ever had and a friend of mine from the USMC had his sister send him some frozen with dry ice to Minnesota. I will try this recipe and see how it compares.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
george w. September 13, 2014

I've tried to find the PERFECT Carne Asada recipe for years! Then I found this one. I was skeptical at first because the others were such a disappointment. I gave it a shot anyway. WOW! My mind was overwhelmed! It tasted exactly how I remembered the hundreds of Carne Asada burritos I'd had when I was stationed in San Diego! I flashed back like the food critic in Ratatioulle!!! Easily exceded my expectations. I HAD to share it with all my family and friends. Bravo Zulu!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mr San Diego August 08, 2014

Are you kidding me, I have told everyone I know about San Dog's Carne Asada Burrito's (Alberto's, Roberto's, etc.). Now I can make them, heading to the kitchen right now, I am sure I will be sitting on my couch in West Palm Beach, Florida in about 2 hours savoring the flavor and dreaming of being in Cali. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
craig1961 May 11, 2014

I used the recipe as a building block on a soft corn taco I enjoy at a local eatery. I used the carne asada part of the recipe. I added garlic as one reviewer suggested. I sizzled up the marinated meat and onions as directed and laid it in a tortilla with cilantro, cheese, and some sour cream. It was the taste I was looking for! Thank you. One of these days I will try the whole recipe. The pico de gallo looks very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott October 19, 2013

I am so excited to find this! I cannot WAIT to try it out. SD Mexican food is the thing I miss most :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nekich August 02, 2013
Carne Asada Burrito, San Diego Style