Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carne Asada Burrito, San Diego Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carne Asada Burrito, San Diego Style

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2012

      Making sure the pieces are small enough is key, and keeping the pan hot enough was key too... I think you should take the beef out and let it warm closer to room temp before cooking to get that sear going good, the char is part of the charm. Thanks for posting this. Diego Style!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2011

      really good recipe...the only thing i do different is add some garlic to the meat marinade, and we like it cooked on the grill.....gotta add the fries though to make it a true SD burrito

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      My wife lived in San Diego for 14 years before I met her. I've heard of these burritos for 18 years. She kept threatening to fly out there just for the burritos until I found this recipe. We tried it and except for a little too much lime (my fault I think) this was spot on. Her eyes (and taste buds) sparkled with delight. If I keep the recipe a secret she'll never leave me. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      As like everyone I think this recipe is awesome!. Born and raised in San Diego this is the closest to one of the "Berto's" I've found. I also reduced the lemon a little bit on my second try and thought it was better. Living in Maine there is "NO" real Mexican food.Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2014

      I lived in Oceanside and would always buy my carne asada burrito's from Eriberto's near the back gate to Camp Pendleton. They were the best tasting burrito's I have ever had and a friend of mine from the USMC had his sister send him some frozen with dry ice to Minnesota. I will try this recipe and see how it compares.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      I've tried to find the PERFECT Carne Asada recipe for years! Then I found this one. I was skeptical at first because the others were such a disappointment. I gave it a shot anyway. WOW! My mind was overwhelmed! It tasted exactly how I remembered the hundreds of Carne Asada burritos I'd had when I was stationed in San Diego! I flashed back like the food critic in Ratatioulle!!! Easily exceded my expectations. I HAD to share it with all my family and friends. Bravo Zulu!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      Are you kidding me, I have told everyone I know about San Dog's Carne Asada Burrito's (Alberto's, Roberto's, etc.). Now I can make them, heading to the kitchen right now, I am sure I will be sitting on my couch in West Palm Beach, Florida in about 2 hours savoring the flavor and dreaming of being in Cali. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      I used the recipe as a building block on a soft corn taco I enjoy at a local eatery. I used the carne asada part of the recipe. I added garlic as one reviewer suggested. I sizzled up the marinated meat and onions as directed and laid it in a tortilla with cilantro, cheese, and some sour cream. It was the taste I was looking for! Thank you. One of these days I will try the whole recipe. The pico de gallo looks very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      I am so excited to find this! I cannot WAIT to try it out. SD Mexican food is the thing I miss most :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carne Asada Burrito, San Diego Style

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1161.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1057
    91%
    Total Fat 117.4 g
    180%
    Saturated Fat 46.0 g
    230%
    Cholesterol 149.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 388.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 14.9 g
    29%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pico de gallo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes