Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carne Asada Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carne Asada

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 17, 2003

      We had this last night for dinner, cooked on a gas grill. Very Good! I only had time to marinate for 2 hours and the steak turned out fine. We had the very thinly sliced steak on fresh flour tortillas with grilled peppers, onions, guacamole, salsa and sour cream. Great dinner! Thanks Kevin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      Wow....don't know what to say about this one except that I definitely won't be trying it again. Way, way too much citrus...I'm thinking lime and lemon. Just not good. And to be fair, it could have been me...but I did follow the recipe. I actually had to add things after it was cooked just to make it some what better....didn't work. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2003

      Very easy to make. Used this recipe for a reunion and it went over very well. The flavor of the meat was terrific, what interesting things you can do with tequila.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      Sorry folks. We didn't like this one at all. We made the recipe exactly as written, marinated it all day long, and grilled it up for dinner. Not a single one of us (family of four) liked the flavor of the carne asada. It mostly tasted slightly sour. The tequila and fruit juices overcame the onion and garlic which were not even recognizable as flavors. It had no resemblance at all to any carne asada flavor I've ever had in a restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Well...it smelled like a margarita and before I added the garlic, onions and pepper I thought about drinking it! Anyway, I worried after I added the tequila because I could no longer smell the citrus. After it was grilled it tasted okay, but it was pretty bland. We feel there is way too much tequila in the marinade, that it drowns out the citrus flavor that you definitely want to taste. I will try it again and reduce the tequila by at least half, likely down to 2 tbl. I marinated it for about 7 hours and served it with sauteed onions, peppers and habanaros and with fresh avocado. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      Loved the marinade and will definitely make it again. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      This was awesome. I actually had to double the recipe, and it turned out wonderful. Cooking on the grill is the way to go. Great flavor. We love Carne Asada, and this is a great recipe! It was a hit with all of our guests - and all of our kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I thought the flavor of the marinade was good, but cooked the steaks on the stovetop since our grill was covered in a layer of ice and snow. I think it would taste a lot better cooked on the grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      I've done this twice now, once on the grill and once inside. The grill is the way to go! I love the taste of the marinade, it's so easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      Kevin, this carne asada was HEAVEN. Enjoyed the taste very much. You could taste eveything in the marinade all the way to the tabasco! It was just amazing! Thanks a million for giving me another recipe for my arsenal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      This was fabulous. The meat was so tender and flavorful. I actually sliced it up and marinated it overnight, then thoroughly drained it in a colander, and sauteed the strips on top of the stove. This way, I also go to carmelize all those yummy onions. I did add a little extra Tabasco sauce, though (just to please the kid!) DH loved this, as did the fussy kids! Leftovers will make a great salad for me tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      I followed your directions exactly, and refrigerated the meat for about 8 hours in the marinade. I was a little disappointed in the flavor. My DH and I both felt the taste had too much citrus flavor. Next time I might reduce the amount of fruit juices and add some soy sauce or Worstershire sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      I followed the recipe exactly and cooked on a gas grill. Although the meat was good, it lacked the zing I like in fajita type recipes. We served with guacamole, tortillas, onion, sour cream, and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Although this was easy to prepare I will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2004

      Excellent recipe for fajita meat. The marinade adds a real zing to the meat. I couldn't use the grill so I heated up the cast iron pan to sear the meat, then tossed it under the broiler for about 5 minutes per side. It worked just fine and the fajitas were great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Meat Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carne Asada

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 408.5
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    41%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 132.3 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.8 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 48.9 g
    97%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tequila

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes