Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carmela's Chicken Rigatoni (Copycat Romano's Macaroni Grill) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carmela's Chicken Rigatoni (Copycat Romano's Macaroni Grill)

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 22, 2011

      We love this recipe! I make only a few changes based on my experience with cooking this several times already. The first time I made it, I thought there was too much oil/butter so on subsequent occasions, I've reduced the "6 oz. butter flavored oil" to 2 oz. butter and 2 oz. extra virgin olive oil. The oil becomes a lot more noticeable with leftovers so you could reduce it even more if you don't plan on eating it all the day you make it. I only use 16 oz. rigatoni since that's the standard size package at the grocery store, and really, that is a lot. It's dinner for 4 plus leftovers for lunch for 2 people for 2 days. I also don't "precook" the pasta. I just boil it right before I start the first two steps of this recipe and I turn it off a minute or two before it's al dente so it can sit in the hot water and finish cooking until I'm ready to put it in with the rest of the ingredients. Other than these minor changes, I follow the recipe exactly. I use Rrs Caramelized Onions (Rr's Caramelized Onions) and Marsala cooking wine for this dish and it tastes great! The last time I only had about 4 oz. Marsala so I filled in with 2 oz. Cooking Sherry and it was great then too. As a time saver, I use the frozen grilled chicken strips from Costco that I weigh out on my kitchen scale for 12 oz. and I defrost in the microwave for about 4 minutes before cutting up and adding to the sautee. I've used both fresh and canned mushrooms and they both work great. The recipe doesn't specify if the basil should be fresh or dried, but I've used the full 2 tsp dried and I don't think it's too much. I like basil though so you might want to experiment with that. The only real time consuming part of this recipe is the caramelized onions, which can be made ahead of course, so this can be a fast, easy and very tasty weeknight dish with a little planning ahead. Thanks so much for sharing this WONDERFUL recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      OMG!!! I worked at the Mac Shack for 3 years and this was always one of my many favorite dishes! Now that I've moved out to booneyville the closest M.G. is 1.5 hours away and I get cravings! I was skeptical but excited when I found this recipe, so my husband and I decided to whip it up. We added sundried tomatos and garlic which I highly reccommend. It turned out fan-freakin-tastic! Just like good ole' M.G.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      This is a good recipe that got me started. Like other reviewers, I used butter oil in place of the butter flavored oil. I used Marsala for the cooking wine. I caramelized some white onion using a little brown sugar, a splash of balsamic vinegar and a splash of Marsala. Yum! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Yum!! This recipe truly tastes like Macaroni Grill's Carmella sauce. I love the Chicken Rigatoni at MC, but my true fave is the Mushroom Ravioli which is also topped with Carmella's sauce. I made the sauce from this recipe to go with my Mushroom ravioli. It was delicious and authentic to MC's Carmella's sauce. I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting 1/2 butter and 1/2 olive oil for the "butter flavored oil". Wonderful!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      thisThis tastes just like carmella's! It is perfect.
      I too used marsalla wine. I also used 3 oz olive oil and 3 oz salted butter. I did go and buy already grilled chicken breast just to save some time. I made the carmelized onions, 4 medium onions makes exactly 6 oz. The onions were time consuming but well worth it. I will not have to go to macaroni grill again. This tastes just like my favorite dish

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2014

      Used to make this 100 times a day and that was 8 years ago. Still one of the best things on there menu. I still make it at home to this day. There are a few things that is in the recipe that is not on here but I will leave you to figure that out. Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This was spectacular! Two things I changed. I didn't have cooking wine so I omitted it completely, the flavor was still great. Also I added about 1/4 cup of flour to the onion/chicken/mushroom saute because I like a little thicker sauce. I will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      The entire family loved this recipe! I followed it exactly except I used coconut oil and butter in place of the butter flavor oil and it still turned out great! My only issue is that it was

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      I had this at Macaroni Grill a few weeks ago and wanted to see if I could find a copycat. This recipe is one that really works. It is yummy, I also made the rosemary bread from Macaroni Grill that is posted as a copycat here also that was also yummy. I will be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I have made this recipe 4 times in the last 6 weeks. As there are no more superlatives to add to the other reviews I will only add that I use a butter/olive oil mix and Moscato wine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Absolutely delicious! Definitely 5 star. Bf and I loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2012

      WOW!!!! tasted exactly as it does in the resteraunt!!!!!!! Best thing I have ever eaten!!!! I left out the mushrooms because nobody here likes them and still became the best recipe in the family. I make this every chance that I can get

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      First I'll say we LOVED this recipe. I just love Macaroni Grill and we've recently moved to Europe by way of the Army and I won't get it for a couple of years at best. I was so excited to try it and really fearful of my hopes being too high. It was excellent. I cooked the chicken in light olive oil only seasoned with salt and better and then started the rest of the recipe. I didn't use "butter flavored oil" but used about 4Tbs butter instead. I also didn't measure the chicken, I just used a pack of Tyson chicken breast as I normally would. I also just used the standard size Rigatoni package and it was more than enough. I wasn't paying attention and started the Rigatoni late into the rest of the recipe so after I added the cream and let it come to a boil, I reduced the temperature to med-low and let everything cook in it while I waited for the Rigatoni to be done. I shared the recipe immediately on my facebook page and friends suggested trying it with Broccoli. I intend to the next time I make it as this was just amazing and I'm sure perfectly cooked broccoli could only add to it. I also used about 4oz for FRESH parmesan and then used it to Garnish as well. This was a FANTASTIC recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2012

      I made this last night and it tasted just like the real thing. I will definitely be making it again!
      (To lighten it up a bit, I used normal cream instead of heavy and instead of 6oz butter flavored oil, I used 2oz butter and 2oz olive oil).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      The sauce is delicious! Especially on Rigatoni. And it is so easy to make! I used regular onion instead of caramelized because I was short on time. I also added chopped red bell pepper, garlic, and adobo seasoning. I used a slurry of flour and water to thicken the sauce a little more, and it turned out really amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      pretty yummy dish!! didn't have mushrooms. seasoned the chicken with garlic/onion mix before grilling. used asiago, didn't have parm. thanks for a quick, yummy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      This was the 1st time i made this... i put 2 tsp dried basil plus 2tsp fresh, and garlic to the sauce. Reviews are right, the caramelized onions are worth it!! I just wish i did more so i could serve on top before serving :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

    • on June 23, 2010

      I heart this recipe. It's so easy and tastes SOOO yummy. I used Marsala wine and olive oil with a little butter... Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Our whole family loves this recipe...our grandson had seconds and thirds...and he's only 5 years old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carmela's Chicken Rigatoni (Copycat Romano's Macaroni Grill)

    Serving Size: 1 (346 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1421.1
     
    Calories from Fat 630
    44%
    Total Fat 70.0 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 39.6 g
    198%
    Cholesterol 432.5 mg
    144%
    Sodium 377.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 129.5 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 6.2 g
    24%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 60.9 g
    121%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    butter-flavored oil

    caramelized onion

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites