11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I needed a side dish to go with my jerk chicken.This fit the bill nicely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwilkes55 November 10, 2012

It's only been a month that I rediscovered cooking with thyme and bay leaf .I had to leave out the jalapeno as I was serving it to a one year old too,but it would have been a great addition. I just made one cup of rice , used the same amount of spices and still felt I could use more,especially thyme.Maybe the heat of the jalapeno was missing.I'll add it next time.Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia February 12, 2010

We LOVED this as a sidedish!! I didn't use a jalapeno, used chicken stock instead of broth, but kept everything else the same. This made a delightful side to Memphis-Style Turkey Legs - Alton Brown. Thank you Jackie-

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris February 11, 2010

This was delicious! We served it with the Easy Caribbean Chicken off this site. I used Minute Rice and just adjusted the chicken broth so it was a 1:1 ratio, we also added some mushrooms. We will definetly be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbii78 August 06, 2009

I served this rice with alligirl's Caribbean BBQ Chicken and we enjoyed a very good meal. We dont do to well yet with spicy/hot flavors so I used half of a jalapeno pepper that I took the seeds and ribs out of. Will make this rice again with grilled meat. Thank you JackieOhNo for posting this recipe. Made and reviewed for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes team.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 04, 2009

This was great! I cut the recipe in half. Ours had a strong garlic taste, but I think that was because one of my cloves was quite large. We definitely didn't mind as we love garlic. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: Caribbean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 03, 2009

Tasty addition to the fusion I created with your Gingery Shrimp and Couscous . I'm a wussy mouth girl so didn't add the peppers, and chose to omit the bay and thyme to coordinate with the flavors in the other recipe. Nice little recipe to be enjoyed while globetrotting with the *Groovy GastroGnomes for ZWT 5*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber June 02, 2009

I halved the recipe, stirred in some fresh chopped cilantro right before serving - but other than that, followed the recipe to a "T". Delicate and flavorful, this was a perfect side to my cajun soft tacos! YUMMY! Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes of ZWT5!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady June 01, 2009

I really loved the flavors and ease of this rice recipe. I cheated and used my rice cooker. I sauteed the onion, garlic and jalapeno pepper in the butter and then added it all the other ingredients in the rice cooker. I like spicy foods, so I doubled the amount of jalapeno pepper and thought it turned out great. I will be using this recipe often. Thanks for sharing JackieOhNo! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 May 31, 2009

I didn't have long-grain rice so I used basmati rice. I thought it would be spicy because of the jalapeno but it was not. Maybe mine was not spicy. The taste is great. It was very easy to do. I used only 2 tbs of extra virgin olive oil. Thanks Jackie :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 27, 2009
Caribbean-Style Rice Pilaf