Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caribbean-Style Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caribbean-Style Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2012

      I needed a side dish to go with my jerk chicken.This fit the bill nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      It's only been a month that I rediscovered cooking with thyme and bay leaf .I had to leave out the jalapeno as I was serving it to a one year old too,but it would have been a great addition. I just made one cup of rice , used the same amount of spices and still felt I could use more,especially thyme.Maybe the heat of the jalapeno was missing.I'll add it next time.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      We LOVED this as a sidedish!! I didn't use a jalapeno, used chicken stock instead of broth, but kept everything else the same. This made a delightful side to Memphis-Style Turkey Legs - Alton Brown. Thank you Jackie-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      This was delicious! We served it with the Easy Caribbean Chicken off this site. I used Minute Rice and just adjusted the chicken broth so it was a 1:1 ratio, we also added some mushrooms. We will definetly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      I served this rice with alligirl's Caribbean BBQ Chicken and we enjoyed a very good meal. We dont do to well yet with spicy/hot flavors so I used half of a jalapeno pepper that I took the seeds and ribs out of. Will make this rice again with grilled meat. Thank you JackieOhNo for posting this recipe. Made and reviewed for ZWT5, Bodacious Brickhouse Babes team.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      This was great! I cut the recipe in half. Ours had a strong garlic taste, but I think that was because one of my cloves was quite large. We definitely didn't mind as we love garlic. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: Caribbean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Tasty addition to the fusion I created with your Gingery Shrimp and Couscous . I'm a wussy mouth girl so didn't add the peppers, and chose to omit the bay and thyme to coordinate with the flavors in the other recipe. Nice little recipe to be enjoyed while globetrotting with the *Groovy GastroGnomes for ZWT 5*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I halved the recipe, stirred in some fresh chopped cilantro right before serving - but other than that, followed the recipe to a "T". Delicate and flavorful, this was a perfect side to my cajun soft tacos! YUMMY! Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes of ZWT5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      I really loved the flavors and ease of this rice recipe. I cheated and used my rice cooker. I sauteed the onion, garlic and jalapeno pepper in the butter and then added it all the other ingredients in the rice cooker. I like spicy foods, so I doubled the amount of jalapeno pepper and thought it turned out great. I will be using this recipe often. Thanks for sharing JackieOhNo! Made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      I didn't have long-grain rice so I used basmati rice. I thought it would be spicy because of the jalapeno but it was not. Maybe mine was not spicy. The taste is great. It was very easy to do. I used only 2 tbs of extra virgin olive oil. Thanks Jackie :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This rice was very tasty! I thought it would be too strong tasting from the thyme and the jalapeno, but it was just right. We had this with Snappy Shrimp. I made this for ZWT5. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caribbean-Style Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 334.4
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    18%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 570.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites