10 Reviews

Very yummy and very easy to make with a rice cooker. Just chop it all up and drop it in the rice cooker.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisalouk01 May 16, 2010

I must admit I'm not a big fan of our rice cooker, and have never thought to use it this way. So thanks Rita for such a great, easy recipe! I guess I'll be pulling it out more often. I was also drawn to this recipe because it's very low fat! I used "Jamaican Jerk Seasoning" for the spice. It certainly wasn't bland, and I'd caution using juice instead of broth as one reviewer mentioned, only because we found it sweet as it was. I used veg broth and brown rice. Unfortunately had to sub parsnip for the sweet potato - still great. I doubled the broth per the other review, but it still wasn't enough - ended up using 4 cups of broth (!). Might be because my rice cooker is an older model large one. So I really should have just used enough broth to go 3/4" over the rice as written in the directions and ignored the cup measurement. Next time! Made for ZWT 5 (Cooks w/Dirty Faces Team).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner May 26, 2009

I will have to make this again!! Used brown rice, so I doubled the broth. no raisins, and a few tbsp coconut milk. DELISH!! Used Jamaican Jerk Seasoning for the spice. This has me looking around for other great rice cooker recipes. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 5.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tarteausucre May 26, 2009

my hubby has been asking me to make a dish using jerk seasoning for a while now. i thought this would be perfect and it was!!! thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
info December 05, 2009

Very good and nutritious rice, which I made using Jamaican Jerk Seasoning, as suggested. I don't have a rice cooker, so made it on top of the stove, with perfect results. The only thing I changed/omitted was the raisins, because I don't really like them. I very much enjoyed the spice and the interesting array of ingredients! I found it had good flavour, and for me this is a good dish in itself, tho I served it to my husband along with Jamaican Chicken Curry. Thank you, Rita! Made for ZWT5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth June 04, 2009

This was excellent, the flavour was very good, I made it twice this week. thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nygalcooking April 18, 2008

This was pretty good. It did have a little bit of a blandness, but that might just be a personal thing. We will make it again, but next time, maybe use some pineapple juice and buillion instead of chicken broth. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi Waterworth December 25, 2007

Well Ms Rita - you've done it again. This is an amazing recipe!! I was worried about how the many flavors would work together...shoulda known better!! It was sooooo good I couldn't stop eating it! It had just the right amount of heat, spice and sweet. Loved it! Thanks for a great dish - yum!! acerast

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast June 27, 2007

We had this tonight; made on the stove. Forgot to add the chicken broth, used water and it was plain tasting. However, salt and pepper brought up the flavour. Cilantro and scallions were added at the end. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FunkiMonki February 08, 2006
Caribbean Rice in a Rice Cooker