Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caribbean Rice in a Rice Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caribbean Rice in a Rice Cooker

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2010

      Very yummy and very easy to make with a rice cooker. Just chop it all up and drop it in the rice cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I must admit I'm not a big fan of our rice cooker, and have never thought to use it this way. So thanks Rita for such a great, easy recipe! I guess I'll be pulling it out more often. I was also drawn to this recipe because it's very low fat! I used "Jamaican Jerk Seasoning" for the spice. It certainly wasn't bland, and I'd caution using juice instead of broth as one reviewer mentioned, only because we found it sweet as it was. I used veg broth and brown rice. Unfortunately had to sub parsnip for the sweet potato - still great. I doubled the broth per the other review, but it still wasn't enough - ended up using 4 cups of broth (!). Might be because my rice cooker is an older model large one. So I really should have just used enough broth to go 3/4" over the rice as written in the directions and ignored the cup measurement. Next time! Made for ZWT 5 (Cooks w/Dirty Faces Team).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I will have to make this again!! Used brown rice, so I doubled the broth. no raisins, and a few tbsp coconut milk. DELISH!! Used Jamaican Jerk Seasoning for the spice. This has me looking around for other great rice cooker recipes. Thank you so much for posting. Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2009

      my hubby has been asking me to make a dish using jerk seasoning for a while now. i thought this would be perfect and it was!!! thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Very good and nutritious rice, which I made using Jamaican Jerk Seasoning, as suggested. I don't have a rice cooker, so made it on top of the stove, with perfect results. The only thing I changed/omitted was the raisins, because I don't really like them. I very much enjoyed the spice and the interesting array of ingredients! I found it had good flavour, and for me this is a good dish in itself, tho I served it to my husband along with Jamaican Chicken Curry. Thank you, Rita! Made for ZWT5

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      This was excellent, the flavour was very good, I made it twice this week. thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      This was pretty good. It did have a little bit of a blandness, but that might just be a personal thing. We will make it again, but next time, maybe use some pineapple juice and buillion instead of chicken broth. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Well Ms Rita - you've done it again. This is an amazing recipe!! I was worried about how the many flavors would work together...shoulda known better!! It was sooooo good I couldn't stop eating it! It had just the right amount of heat, spice and sweet. Loved it! Thanks for a great dish - yum!! acerast

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      We had this tonight; made on the stove. Forgot to add the chicken broth, used water and it was plain tasting. However, salt and pepper brought up the flavour. Cilantro and scallions were added at the end. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caribbean Rice in a Rice Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.3
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    16%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 213.8 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 9.6 g
    38%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jamaican jerk spice

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes