Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caribbean Coconut Rice and Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caribbean Coconut Rice and Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on August 04, 2013

      This was great! I was careful to check liquid levels based on other reviews, but everything was fine! I used different proportions than called for: half the rice and coconut milk but a whole can of black beans. Also, I added salt and a bit of hot pepper. made for ZWT9

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      Mmmmm, this was very good! I loved the creaminess of the rice and the combo of flavors going on. I used black beans. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT9, for the Gourmet Goddesses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Very good! I made this in a rice cooker with no problems- I'd definitely recommend it because it saves so much time and effort. Instead of subbing one for the other, I used both the bay leaf and garlic. I loved the flavor; the rice was cream from the coconut milk, savory from the black beans, and earthy from the bay leaf. Served with Cuban chicken, but I'm thinking this dish would be great alongside all kinds of Latin food, Indian food, and even Thai food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I used short grain brown rice so had to cook it longer, but turned out good and I enjoyed the creaminess of the rice. Thanks! Made for ZWT 2013 by a member of team Hot Stuff.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This was made to serve with Caribbean Jerk Chicken Breasts. The chicken complimented the rice well. I had a can of coconut milk which was a little under 2 cups. Water was used for the remaining liquid. Garlic was grated and added in place of the bay leaf. The rice was done after 15 minutes. Additional water was added and a full cup of black beans added. After tasting the dish I sprinkled with sea salt and some white pepper. A nice change. Made for ZWT9.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      Well this was met with mix reviews two really enjoyed and two hated. I may have over stirred a bit as I was worried about scorching as I was serving to guest. I used the bay leaf and long grain rice as that is what I had (tip to self-fallow other review and rinse rice first next time) also did have to add a half cup of water, my beans of choice were black beans. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      5 ingredient-5 stars=Yum! I used fresh bay leaf because our main dish (jerk chicken) contained<br/>garlic. I chose jasmine rice and rinsed the rice kernels first. This was really delicious and very easy to make! Reviewed for ZWT 9. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      loved this recipe try this one zwt9

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      I can't believe this recipe doesn't have a lot of ratings! I am constantly trying new recipes, and this is on the top of my list! I made these with the recipe for Baja Fish Tacos (#174930- thanks to lauralie41) and a tomatilla salsa. My hubby couldn't get enough of it! Since it's just the 2 of us, we had plenty of leftovers - enough to keep us happy for 2 days of lunch. Thank you so much for this, and I hope more people will give this a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      We really enjoyed this. It's very different from the things I usually make but my family liked this alot. I served it with Trinidad Stewed Chicken and they went together very well. Thanks Deb! Made for ZWT5 for the Kitchen Witches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caribbean Coconut Rice and Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1061.0
     
    Calories from Fat 329
    31%
    Total Fat 36.6 g
    56%
    Saturated Fat 34.4 g
    172%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 80.6 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 177.4 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 114.3 g
    457%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beans

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes