11 Reviews

This was great! I was careful to check liquid levels based on other reviews, but everything was fine! I used different proportions than called for: half the rice and coconut milk but a whole can of black beans. Also, I added salt and a bit of hot pepper. made for ZWT9

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky August 04, 2013

My family loved this recipe...I did everything according to recipe except I used kidney beans. I also added All spice, cinnamon and a bit of sugar for sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaToya D. March 29, 2015

Mmmmm, this was very good! I loved the creaminess of the rice and the combo of flavors going on. I used black beans. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT9, for the Gourmet Goddesses.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jostlori August 30, 2013

Very good! I made this in a rice cooker with no problems- I'd definitely recommend it because it saves so much time and effort. Instead of subbing one for the other, I used both the bay leaf and garlic. I loved the flavor; the rice was cream from the coconut milk, savory from the black beans, and earthy from the bay leaf. Served with Cuban chicken, but I'm thinking this dish would be great alongside all kinds of Latin food, Indian food, and even Thai food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer August 19, 2013

I used short grain brown rice so had to cook it longer, but turned out good and I enjoyed the creaminess of the rice. Thanks! Made for ZWT 2013 by a member of team Hot Stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 August 07, 2013

This was made to serve with Caribbean Jerk Chicken Breasts. The chicken complimented the rice well. I had a can of coconut milk which was a little under 2 cups. Water was used for the remaining liquid. Garlic was grated and added in place of the bay leaf. The rice was done after 15 minutes. Additional water was added and a full cup of black beans added. After tasting the dish I sprinkled with sea salt and some white pepper. A nice change. Made for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 04, 2013

Well this was met with mix reviews two really enjoyed and two hated. I may have over stirred a bit as I was worried about scorching as I was serving to guest. I used the bay leaf and long grain rice as that is what I had (tip to self-fallow other review and rinse rice first next time) also did have to add a half cup of water, my beans of choice were black beans. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl August 03, 2013

5 ingredient-5 stars=Yum! I used fresh bay leaf because our main dish (jerk chicken) contained<br/>garlic. I chose jasmine rice and rinsed the rice kernels first. This was really delicious and very easy to make! Reviewed for ZWT 9. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl July 31, 2013

loved this recipe try this one zwt9

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. July 31, 2013

I can't believe this recipe doesn't have a lot of ratings! I am constantly trying new recipes, and this is on the top of my list! I made these with the recipe for Baja Fish Tacos (#174930- thanks to lauralie41) and a tomatilla salsa. My hubby couldn't get enough of it! Since it's just the 2 of us, we had plenty of leftovers - enough to keep us happy for 2 days of lunch. Thank you so much for this, and I hope more people will give this a try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyberry117 July 08, 2011
Caribbean Coconut Rice and Beans