Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caribbean Christmas Cake (Known As Black Cake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caribbean Christmas Cake (Known As Black Cake)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2004

      Loved it! I do not understand why everyone waits for Christmas to make these delightful concoctions, I do them year round, though sometime I cheat and have them in form of steamed pudding (very similar). Didn't have any browning sauce so I used a TBSP of chicory coffee instead. Super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      well what can i say,it was absolutely wonderful.It didn't last long.Now all the family want one for christmas.Thankyou so much.I guess i will be baking to christmas eve ha ha,I would change nothing about the recipe,i found it just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I love black cake, but I can't say that I'm the best baker. In the past, when I couldn't get it from family during Christmas, I would even order it online from websites like Aunt Eulie's. But I tried your recipe and I was so excited that it came out good. I am practicing so that I can feel confident to share my black cake with others.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      I made this cake this weekend and I must say I was very pleased with the results, it was just the right consistancy, very tasty and enjoyed by all, many thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2008

      I made this with some modifications. I used red wine and soaked the fruit in the wine for several hours before baking. Really rewarding and I plan to serve it at thanksgiving as an alternate dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      The recipe sounds great, I will have to try this one, definitely. I am from Dominica, not Dominican Republic, and my mom makes this for me every year. It lasts all year long, i just ate a piece yesterday. she uses about 5 sticks of butter, 1 bottle of red wine soaks the fruits in the wine for weeks she tops it with a sugar icing when it is baked.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      I loved this recipe, I made up my own mix of dried fruit with some dates and dried pears and all. I soaked the fruit for several weeks in the fridge beforehand - if anyone else does this you really don't need any extra rum when it comes to making the cake! Made a rich flavourful cake thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      Wonderful!!! My husband requested this cake for his birthday. We had this while still warm with pouring custard. We will be making this one for Christmas....Just a fantastic flavour & enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing Lennie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      this recipe was insane, i had a few friends over for memorial weekend , I made it everyone went crazy. I like it especialy when hot this a must try recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caribbean Christmas Cake (Known As Black Cake)

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 547.4
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    36%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 102.6 mg
    34%
    Sodium 354.4 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.3 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 48.3 g
    193%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed peel

    limes, zest of

    lemons, zest of

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes