20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome! I try to keep my eyes open for low carb recipies and this is definitely a keeper. I didn't have any Splenda so I substituted Sugarlike, which is similar to Splenda but Maltitol based

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Treenickel July 19, 2003

MMM MMM MMM!!! These are really good!! I used 1 cup roasted, salted peanuts instead of pecans and I omitted the cayenne pepper. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 17, 2003

Yum! I scaled this down to a half a cup yield and it scaled beautifully. My toddler is equally keen on them and I'll be lucky if these last 10 minutes. I used real raw sugar rather than Splenda. Dead easy and delightful. Good idea and I have certainly enjoyed it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat July 06, 2003

I bow before you my Chef's hat for this beautiful CAP recipe - CAP as in "Crunchy and Addictive Pecans!" That is what these nuts are all about - I bet nobody could eat just ONE! I made this on the 2nd of July for a small celebration at home and my friends' had a great time enjoying these nuts. Some of them even took the liberty of marching into my kitchen and making more! The little that remained was packed into boxes and they took it home for their family members. LOL. I guess they really went nuts over your nuts!Please note that I did omit the garlic powder as I didn't have that on hand because we never use powdered garlic; we always use fresh. So, I had to leave that out. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you, these nuts are indeed very nice. All the best for the contest! I wish you luck!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani July 04, 2003

I would love to give these pecans a 5* but don't feel I can for the contest. Firstly, you are emphaziing "no salt added" but then add 3 tablespoons of soy sauce, I wonder if you realize the sodium content of soy sauce, it's very high. (I used light soy sauce.) In the end they were delicious! but the instructions were a little off, a bit confusing. #5 in the instructions says "add ALL dry coating mix ingredients". I thought I was missing something on my printout because there is only one item in the dry coating list, the splenda. Did I miss something? The dry coating also says "Splenda, for baking, at first I thought the splenda went on the pecans before baking/roasting them. Just a little confusion which in the end I figured out. They were very tasty and disapeared very quickly!! Another time I think I would cut back on the soy sauce and add more curry, cayenne and garlic. Thanks for sharing and good luck in the contest.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf June 24, 2003

Very delicious! I made a few changes: substituted ground ginger for the curry powder and used a brown sugar substitute in place of the Splenda. Oh- and I used whole almonds instead of pecans. They are really yummy and I have been munching on them all morning. Great low carb snack food! Thanks BG.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl August 04, 2003

Excellent recipe for diabetics, with very clear instructions

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nelly July 19, 2003

The concept for this recipe is unfortunately better than the end result. And, I'm wondering if there are some ingredients missing from the dry coating that might be responsible for the less than wonderful result and taste. The instructions say to add ALL the dry coating mix, but there is only one ingredient listed. We didn't care for the flavor of the combination of spices. And there was barely enough seasoning mix to boil together without burning, making it difficult to coat the nuts thoroughly. Sorry, I was disappointed in this recipe and hate to give it such a mediocre rating.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema July 04, 2003

Difficult to put away, sorry to see them finished.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
old dapper June 24, 2003

Thanks for the Low Carb recipe Beach Girl! I'm a South Beacher and this is a good one for SBD's or anyone, they'll never know!! Keep em coming!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seahorse73 November 11, 2003
Caribbean Bar Nuts - Low-Carb - No Salt Added