Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caribbean Bar Nuts - Low-Carb - No Salt Added Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caribbean Bar Nuts - Low-Carb - No Salt Added

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 19, 2003

      Awesome! I try to keep my eyes open for low carb recipies and this is definitely a keeper. I didn't have any Splenda so I substituted Sugarlike, which is similar to Splenda but Maltitol based

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      MMM MMM MMM!!! These are really good!! I used 1 cup roasted, salted peanuts instead of pecans and I omitted the cayenne pepper. I will definitely be making these again! Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2003

      Yum! I scaled this down to a half a cup yield and it scaled beautifully. My toddler is equally keen on them and I'll be lucky if these last 10 minutes. I used real raw sugar rather than Splenda. Dead easy and delightful. Good idea and I have certainly enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      I bow before you my Chef's hat for this beautiful CAP recipe - CAP as in "Crunchy and Addictive Pecans!" That is what these nuts are all about - I bet nobody could eat just ONE! I made this on the 2nd of July for a small celebration at home and my friends' had a great time enjoying these nuts. Some of them even took the liberty of marching into my kitchen and making more! The little that remained was packed into boxes and they took it home for their family members. LOL. I guess they really went nuts over your nuts!Please note that I did omit the garlic powder as I didn't have that on hand because we never use powdered garlic; we always use fresh. So, I had to leave that out. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. Thank you, these nuts are indeed very nice. All the best for the contest! I wish you luck!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      I would love to give these pecans a 5* but don't feel I can for the contest. Firstly, you are emphaziing "no salt added" but then add 3 tablespoons of soy sauce, I wonder if you realize the sodium content of soy sauce, it's very high. (I used light soy sauce.) In the end they were delicious! but the instructions were a little off, a bit confusing. #5 in the instructions says "add ALL dry coating mix ingredients". I thought I was missing something on my printout because there is only one item in the dry coating list, the splenda. Did I miss something? The dry coating also says "Splenda, for baking, at first I thought the splenda went on the pecans before baking/roasting them. Just a little confusion which in the end I figured out. They were very tasty and disapeared very quickly!! Another time I think I would cut back on the soy sauce and add more curry, cayenne and garlic. Thanks for sharing and good luck in the contest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      Very delicious! I made a few changes: substituted ground ginger for the curry powder and used a brown sugar substitute in place of the Splenda. Oh- and I used whole almonds instead of pecans. They are really yummy and I have been munching on them all morning. Great low carb snack food! Thanks BG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2003

      Excellent recipe for diabetics, with very clear instructions

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      The concept for this recipe is unfortunately better than the end result. And, I'm wondering if there are some ingredients missing from the dry coating that might be responsible for the less than wonderful result and taste. The instructions say to add ALL the dry coating mix, but there is only one ingredient listed. We didn't care for the flavor of the combination of spices. And there was barely enough seasoning mix to boil together without burning, making it difficult to coat the nuts thoroughly. Sorry, I was disappointed in this recipe and hate to give it such a mediocre rating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2003

      Difficult to put away, sorry to see them finished.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Thanks for the Low Carb recipe Beach Girl! I'm a South Beacher and this is a good one for SBD's or anyone, they'll never know!! Keep em coming!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2003

      Such interesting ingredients, but super yummy! They certainly are addictive and I couldn't keep my husband and I from snacking on them! Yes, the coating that you boil is odd and seems like it wouldn't work, but trust BeachGirl, they do. I made them for a poker party and they were enjoyed by all. They would make a good Hostess or Christmas gift.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2003

      I use Lorac's system, and only give 5 stars for recipes that blow my socks off and I never would have thought of in a million years! This is one of them! I had my mom over for the weekend; I didn't know if she would go for these, with all the spices. Well, I couldn't keep her away from them! I followed the recipe exactly, using sugar. The were such a hit, I think I will make a batch to give out at Christmas time! This is a WINNER!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      I used walnuts as I didn't have pecans. Great snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Absolutely delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      These are very good if you like sweet nuts. i bet these would go well in christmas. Not spicy tho i added alot of extra cayenne they still were sweet :( gf liked these alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      The best

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      OMG, I just made these yummy nuts!!! My BF loved them too and I had to make another batch so he can take them to work. I added a little extra cayenne and used pecans and walnuts. OUTSTANDING RECIPE Thank you BeachGirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Very Very good. I added extra Cayenne to the dry coating mix used to coat the nuts at the end (Yes, we like 'em hot). I also used 1/2 pecans and 1/2 almonds, both are yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2003

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caribbean Bar Nuts - Low-Carb - No Salt Added

    Serving Size: 1 (7 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 64

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 49.2
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    93%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites