Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cardamom Tea Loaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cardamom Tea Loaf

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2012

      I have to give this a 5 star review. My single change was to use Splenda in place of the sugar. This has enough sweetness for good taste without being "sweet". If you have a real sweet tooth this recipe isn't for you. What I loved about it is that it tastes rich (3 eggs, butter and sour cream will do that *wink*). It has a lovely moist interior without being too heavy and the spice is a simple but real pleasure. This will certainly be made again. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      I did some experimentation to this recipe...I was very low on some of the items called for...the butter and eggs - so I improvised. I used a flour combo of 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 all-purpose, 4 tablespoons of butter and 6 of applesauce and a liquid egg substitute measured equivalent to the real thing. Once I had gone that far I continued on a lighter approach and used splenda and a mix of low/fat yogurt and low/fat sour cream. I added an extra 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and cardamom each to make sure the spices that I love so much would be pronounced. I messed so much with the recipe I feared that I would have issues with the results, however I was thrilled. The flavors were lovely, and the bread was surprisingly moist - even rich in texture. Quite "buttery" tasting despite my stinginess!!! My only disappointment was that my loaf did not rise very prettily...most definitely from all my messing around...it had nice form but a "crackled" look to the top and truth be told I like that homey look!! Then I took note of some of the photos that others had taken and thought that perhaps that is the nature of this recipe. I added some powdered sugar (the real thing!!) to dress up its appearance and liked the touch of extra sweetness that it added on just the crust part...with the rest being not sweet, but more of a sensually spiced quality. I love this type of bread with my "cuppa", really enjoyable at any time of the day. I plan to make it again probably with my healthier cheating ways but also plan to try it with all the fat and calories at some point too!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      This is a wonderful tea bread. We had some right out to the oven with a bit of butter ~ YUM! Easy to make and came out moist on the inside with a nice outer crust. I made this gluten-free, using Pamela's baking mix. I might add some nuts next time I make it - only because I love nuts. Thanks for posting ~Rita~ Made for ZWT6 ~ SCANDANAVIA Region for the Queens of Quisine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Well, it smelled great and looked great coming out of the oven. But after cooling, it was crumbly and the flavor was too salty and not sweet enough for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Very good. I love the subtle flavour of this, such a change from the norm. I used Whole wheat and spelt flour, splenda, and used half butter, half unsweetened apple sauce. Still great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      very simple and tasty a beautiful crumb .dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      This was quite good but just a little bland, which may be the way it is suppose to be. I would have liked a little more sweetness to this. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      We liked this. It had a unique flavor of its own. Quite easy to make. I cut back the cooking time to 50 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This is a great and aromatic quick bread recipe! My bf and I had it for dessert tonight with our Scandinavian feast. Mmmm! The spices are nice and gentle and I love the light sweetness it offers. Not too sugary! Perfect! Thanks for sharing this keeper. ;D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      yummY!! this is soo flavorful! i did throw in 2 very ripe bananas i had on hand, since we are going away tomorrow and didn't want to forget them rotting on the counter!! tasted sooo good! thanks rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      This was a diffrent recipe not to sweet at all but was nice with a cup of coffee and smelled wonderful while cooking Thanks for postint!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      We enjoyed this loaf for breakfast. I reduced the butter to 6 tbsp to cut back on the fat a little. I didn't notice any lack of richness. I used the microplane zester to finely grate the cardamom and it smelled wonderful when doing so. However, the spice flavor and smell from the cardamom and cinnamon was barely detectable in the finished loaf. Also, I would prefer it to be sweeter. The texture and crumb was just right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cardamom Tea Loaf

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 280.2
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    57%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.4 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 98.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 438.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.5 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 5.9 g
    23%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites