12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Enjoyed for our breakfast this morning! Moist and tender. Served with maple syrup but would be awesome with lingonberries. I thought the cardamom was strong but my cardamon is very fresh. I store pods in freezer, then remove husks and pound so maybe that is why I think I will reduce amount next time. Thank you very much for recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal January 27, 2014

Carsamom made a nice variation to our usual plai waffles. I'd like to try these gluten-free next time. Reviewed for July Recipe Swap in Aus/NZ Forum. My apologies for being so late with my review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Jubes** August 29, 2012

We don't have waffles a lot around here, so when I do serve them, most often I top my with some white corn syrup or a little strawberry preserves ~ For these great tasting breakfast treats it was the syrup (minus the powdered sugar)! Very much enjoyed the cardamom & sour cream in these & will be making them again, for sure! [Made & reviewed during the Family Picks part of ZWT6]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 22, 2010

Wonderful tasting waffles. I topped mine with a little butter and some powdered sugar. These aren't a crisp waffle but a very moist waffle. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 June 01, 2010

These waffles are so yummy. We liked the taste of cardamom in it. We ate them with maple syrup and a little bit of whipped cream for me. I used 2% fat milk and fat free sour cream. Thanks Mom2Rose :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 22, 2010

On weekends we always make waffles or pancakes and love to try new things. My girlfriend said that she was craving cardamom; I thought what a strange thing to crave. I found this recipe and thought this looks and shrouds like Valentines Day breakfast for both of us. They have a flavor that I cannot describe so I am sure that must be the cardamom, I have not used cardamom much, they are Not sweet at all but with the powdered sugar they are great. My daughter said they are addicting and My three year old said Licious! Thank you for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LB in Middle Georgia February 14, 2009

These are some of the best waffles that I have tried on this site. They were light, fluffy, soft, tender, crisp and the flavor was incredible. I love cardamom and couldn't have enjoyed this recipe more. All the flavors balanced beautifully to create a memorable treat. Thanks so much for sharing Mom2Rose...we loved these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 08, 2009

This were really delicious! I made pancakes instead of waffles. I scaled it down to one serving. For the egg, I beat one egg in a cup and poured half of it into the sour cream. I am not a milk drinker so I didn't have any whole milk,. I mixed a little bit of water with some Half and Half. about 2 to 1 Two parts Half and Half and one .part water. It worked out quite well.I had Cardamom powder instead of ground. II had to double the Cardamom to even taste it. It all worked out to be the perfect amount of batter. It made 2 pancakes, which was the perfect amount I will be making this again.The Directions were easy to follow. Thanks sister gypsy for sharing your recipe. This was made for ZWT 4 Family picks and the Cafe ZMAKK Gypsies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 06, 2008

These were absolutely delicious served with vanilla yogurt and maple syrup! I can't wait to make them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose April 18, 2008

I made this for Aus/NZ recipe swap #14. So glad I found this. I haven't had luck with good tasting waffles using my freshly ground whole wheat. I had to make some changes, but it turned out great! Used 1/2 C whip. cream and 1/2 C skim milk. Didn't have vanilla, so used low-fat vanilla yogurt, 1 T light agave nectar and a bit of honey for flavor. My waffle iron is slow, so each waffle took 8 minutes or so, but it made 8 waffles. Will make this again. Update: I made these into pancakes today, using skim milk and plain low-fat yog. Wow! These were so light and yummy. I think we've found our new fav. pancake. DD said they taste like French toast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead April 12, 2008
Cardamom Sour Cream Waffles