Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cardamom Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cardamom Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2009

      This is a great cake, and this kind was new to me too. I made it exactly as written. (But, being in the USA, I converted the metric measurements: 180C to 356F, and a 23cm pan is almost exactly a standard 9-inch round.) I baked the cake for exactly 30 minutes - it easily passed a knife-in-the-center test at that point. I note that another reviewer made some high-altitude adjustments. I live slightly lower than them, at 6200 feet, and was pleasantly surprised that even with no adjustments, it baked up very light and fluffy. Perhaps even a little too fluffy, if I wanted to be picky about it. Plus it was moist enough that even on the eighth day (having a slice a night for dessert), the last slice was just fine. The recipe is very easy to make, and the result is simple yet has a prominent (but not too strong) cardamom flavor. This has a lot of bang for the buck, recipe-wise. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      This cake was perfect, in my book. It was light, fluffy, the perfect balance of sweet with cardamom. Wonderful with tea. The only change I made was to add a few tablespoons of butter to the bottom of the pan and mix in a half cup of brown sugar. I them put the batter into the pan and when it was out of the oven, flipped it over like a pineapple upside-down cake. This addition gave awesome flavor and texture to the top of the cake. Would still be good without that addition, though. Excellent, a must make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2012

      Made this for an Indian-themed dinner for book club. Served with whipped cream and mango. It was a big hit! You definitely get the cardamom flavor but it is not overwhelming. I also had to add a little extra milk as the batter was too thick and I only baked for 25 minutes. I have a little leftover and am planning on making something trifle-like with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      I loved this cake! It keeps it nice and simple, with the cardamom taking center stage but not overpowering. I loved how moist and fluffy it was! I made these into cupcakes, and they worked out wonderfully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      I agree with all the good reviews. I made this cake today and it was great! Moist and just the right amount of cardamon, not too little not too much! I will definitely be making this cake on a regular basis. The only small thing I added was some vanilla extract, and I had to use a touch more milk to mine as I found the batter a little dry while mixing, and I baked mine in a smaller square pan rather than a round pan. Great recipe for cardamon lovers! Easy recipe too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Yum, Yum!!!! I have made this cake twice and I love it!! So easy, basic ingredients always on hand.I did alter the way the ingredients were put together as FlemishMinx did, it made more sense.The first time, it baked it specified time, the second it took longer, don't know why.This is a keeper for a quick dessert or company coming cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      Really nice with a cup of tea or coffee- moist and fresh ! I did not make any ingredient substitutions, but I did alter the way in which I combined ingredients. I followed what I believe is the more traditional method: creaming the butter and sugar together, then adding in the egg; whisking dry ingredients together, then adding them alternately with the milk to the egg/sugar combo. I must add that I chose this cardamom cake recipe to try above the others on this site, and indeed others available on the internet, because it called for only one egg (I only had one in the fridge!). Some of the others call for as many as six. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      I love cardamom so I was excited to try this recipe. I LOVE this cake. I live at 8,700 feet, so had to make some altitude adjustments. I've never made a cake from scratch at this altitude, so had to look up some guidelines. Other than the altitude adjustments, I used a 50/50 combination of white whole wheat flour and regular unbleached flour, used Smart Balance instead of butter, and reduced the sugar by just a bit. I also reduced the cardamom to about 1-1/2 teaspoons because I had just bought some fresh and I was afraid it might be too strong, but I think I think 2 tsp would have been fine. The top of the cake didn't turn a nice brown color like in the pic (due to all the adjustments, I'm sure), but the favor and texture were GREAT! Do try this cake if you like cardamom -- it's quick, easy, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Oh Yes! This is a true keeper if ever there was one. First let me say that I made this as a diabetic friendly version and it was still wonderful. I replaced the called for sugar with 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, I replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with whole wheat flour, the egg became 1/4 cup of Egg Beaters, the milk was skim and the cardamom became cinnamon (only because I didn't have cardamom). Even with all of this subbing it baked up light, tender and oh so yummy From gathering the bowl, mixer, etc to cooling on the rack was just under 40 mins total. It's not very sweet and it has the marvelous rich scent and flavor of the spice, I didn't find 2 tsp of cinnamon to be over done at all . It does have one possible draw back, that being that it's very difficult to stop at one slice. My finished product looks very much like the picture with the exception that I have a crack in the top which could very well be the result of the subs. It in no way harms the quality or taste. I think this will be making a frequent appearance at my house from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cardamom Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 275.6
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    43%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 56.9 mg
    18%
    Sodium 258.3 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes