18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! I only made half of it. I used granny smith and galas, less than 1/4 cup of the brown sugar, and the cardamom. I used a potato masher so there would be some chunks of apple. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT7-Switzerland.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY June 19, 2011

Excellent! Not too sweet. Everyone loved it. The interesting thing is that people liked the taste and assumed it had cinnamon in it, not cardamom. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 September 29, 2013

I can't add to the review of this recipe other than all the other glowing reviews it has received.
I used a variety of apples that had to be used up in the fridge including but not limited to fujis. A dollop of Nancy's whole milk yogurt and light sprinkle of cardamom was the icing on the cake so to speak. Reviewed for Veg Tag January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRL January 20, 2011

Delicious and a terrific way to use apples close to their use by date. I will freeze half my batch. I did this recipe successfully in the microwave . Made for ZWT 6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 05, 2010

This is unbelieveable. I used 5 lbs of Harrelson apples and did not add any sugar, opting for a 2 packets of stevia to sweeten. I also did not peel the apples and cooked them in the crock pot until soft. Then I ran them through an old fashioned foodmill to remove the peel. So easy and perfect! I canned almost 5 pints from this. Thank you for this wonderful recipe and idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear September 27, 2009

So yummy! I also love cardamom, and it complements the apple nicely. I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kezoo August 31, 2009

This is absolutely wonderful! I have made it at least 5 times now, and each time it is eaten right up with our dinners and everyone enjoys it so much! We love the addition of the cardamom. It is such a nice spice for desserts and in fruit dishes. Yummy and great to accompany any dinner from your favorite comfort food to an exquisite dinner for two!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
***KissTheCook*** January 10, 2009

What amazing flavors this applesauce has! We loved it! So much better than store bought. I loved the addition of the cardamom and so did the rest of the crew. This deserves far more than 5 stars, but I guess 5 will have to do :) Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me In My Pantry September 14, 2008

This is awesome! I doubled the recipe and am reallly glad I did. I only got about 3 pints out of it. My daughter LOVES applesauce and I know she'll love this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soapy QtrNote May 24, 2008

Yum! I used the lesser amount of sugar and did not puree. A nice change from plain applesauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JocelynV February 13, 2008
Cardamom Applesauce