Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Carbonara Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Carbonara

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2012

      The only problem with the previous review is that the recipe calls for yolks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      yummy and really easy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      just for starters the yolk will not hurt any part of this dish. . ever. . it makes the appearance a bit different as will be illustrated in my photo, but the texture and flavor is just as grand. . In my dish i prepared my carbonara as the recipe stated, only changing a few things. . i added Black olives, capers and used a fatty jowel bacon for more intense pork flavor. Alot more parmesean ; by preference. Thing is now with any pasta dish i prepare an egg is essential. you cannot mess up a pasta dish by adding any part of an egg to it. . for texture and how it will meld all the ingredients together blissfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      Absolutely wonderful! I like that the recipe uses egg whites instead of whole eggs. Makes it healthier! I did add extra garlic (hubby & I love garlic!) and cut back on the black pepper. The red pepper is a great touch and adds just a hint of spice.

      I will definately make this recipe again and again. Hubby doesn't usually like "sauceless" pasta but LOVED this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      Absolutely delicious, quick and easy to make and tastier than most restaurant carbonara dishes! I added cherry tomatoes with the wine, and didn't add salt as I thought the cheese salt was enough, & used less oil. I also didn't have pancetta or romano so I used grilled and cut-up sausages & a mixture of cheddar and parmesan....yum! I think you could use any combination of cheeses and meat to suite your taste as it's really the garlic, dry wine & yolk that should be staple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This was our first time eating Carbonara and it was a huge hit with the whole family. I doubled the recipe and used bacon. This was perfect with a salad and bread sticks. I will make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      The best yet!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      This recipe is super adaptable to different tastes! For a healthy(er) take, I used turkey bacon, whole wheat pasta, skipped the oil. Next time I will omit the salt when boiling the noodles, with the bacon this was salty enough as is! Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I have eaten and enjoyed pasta carbonara with great gusto in various restaurants over the years. This is the first recipe I’ve ever used to actually make it and I am very pleased with it. I used ordinary bacon in place of the pancetta with excellent results. My thanks to Happynana for sharing this superb and easy carbonara recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This was great. I made it with ham instead of pancetta and omitted the red pepper flakes, using a little less oil. I also subbed chicken stock for the wine. My kids loved it too. it was just simple and good pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Best technique for making Carbonara that I've tried so far. Got great results even with subbing sake for white wine, bacon for pancetta, left out the olive oil (used bacon drippings), and parmesan instead of romano. Also halved the garlic and omitted the red pepper flakes (served tableside) so the kids would eat it, and they sure did!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Very nice! The egg and cheese gives a great creamy texture without being too rich. Only change I made was to use chorizo instead of pancetta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Exceptional. I was a little skeptical making carbonara w/o cream, but this was the perfect consistency. Loved the little kick of red pepper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      Just made this- it was great!! Did'nt have any white wine, so added a splash or two of vodka! I let it reduce a bit-- Really tasty!! Thank you so much!! Also added a basil leaf or two because I had it in the garden, and also a bit of fresh tomato. Gosh it was GOOD!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Just made this in 25 minutes! Really, REALLY delicious! The only thing I subbed was bacon for pancetta (and didn't add the oil). Lots of black pepper! Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Loved it! The only change I made was to exclude the red pepper flakes as it's not something I keep on hand. Very quick, very delicious. It is more than enough for four very hearty eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      SUPER GOOD! I'd take out the red pepper flakes next time, I've never had them in Carbonara, but otherwise it's really good! I always get Pasta Carbonara and Cheese Cake Factory and everywhere else I've had it sucked. This was just as good, my boyfriend thinks it's better. We made the night we read the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Great! I'm new at cooking and this was easy. I'd had microwave dinner style Carbonara before and never would have guessed I would have such a good time making my own. Turned out pretty good even tho we made a lot of subs (we just used what we had here): bacon for pancetta; dried whole chillis chopped instead of pepper flakes; leftover champange for wine - seriously; and parm instead of romano! I can't wait to try it when I have all the real ingredients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This was fantastic. We loved that it did not have cream it but tasted creamy :) It was a big hit at my house. My mum & step father wanted the recipe so i printed it out for them. I will be making this one again Made for Twelve days of Christmas recipe swap in the Aust/NZ forum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      i really enjoyed cooking this dish... and the result was really good. I made it for my sister and cousin when they visited last week end. They were amazed! thank you for this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Carbonara

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 600.7
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    26%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 92.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 13.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 87.6 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 16.5 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pancetta

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites