55 Reviews

I love to make this, I put it in a cookie pan and spread it to the size of the pan then cut into slice bread size.. Love them with tuna and egg salad...Yummy

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
izzylin May 07, 2012

Really good! I made this recipe twice. Well, the first time I accidentally made crepes! I didn't beat the egg whites long enough. The recipe called for peaks but you need to beat the egg-whites till you have STIFF peaks. It tasted good the first time, but wouldn't hold up when you tried to put anything on it. The second time I beat it till stiff peaks formed and they held up beautifully. I also added a small crushed garlic clove because I was going to be serving it with lasagna and it was wonderful! It was great with the pasta and the next day I had it as the bun for a pulled pork sandwich. Delicious! Great recipe!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sikes1995 May 08, 2012

I was very skeptical when I first read the recipe, but they came out wonderful and taste great! At work we have decided to give up bread for 40 days, this recipe is going to make that easy!! Thanks so much!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skyevette84 February 13, 2010

The credit for these should be given to Jamie @ http://yourlighterside.com/2009/05/gluten-free-low-carb-buns-aka-oopsie-rolls/ I first saw this recipe in 2008. I just think credit should go where it belongs. they are amazing and Jamie has lots of tips for making them amazing.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainyb February 25, 2013

I made this bread yesterday and followed some of the reviewer's tips. 1) add spice for flavor, 2) beat egg whites very stiff and 3) store overnight to get soft bread-like consistency. The recipe is spot on. No disappointments. I toasted the bread this morning and had an egg sandwich.... my first in many months!!! With some imagination, you can do a lot with these little clouds and feel like you are enjoying your favorite sandwich. Thanks for sharing!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdgardengirl July 30, 2012

I love this recipe!! It's been a sanity saver for me since I started my low-carb diet. The first time I made the bun-like portions and I wanted to try to make it more like a bread. So I tried a loaf pan and it came beautiful! It's easier for me to do it this way without sacrificing anything! Thanks for sharing.

Second review after the first one:
I posted my review right before I tasted it and to be honest the "bun" size version is better since you have an individual "bun". The loaf picture came out great but as soon as it cooled down it tasted like a souffle and I didn't like really. So I recommend you follow the recipe to make the buns. I just wanted to save time and pour all the mixture at once instead of individual buns. But the taste was not what I expected because it didn't taste like "bread" but more like cold eggs...
When you make the buns spray a lot of Pam so they don't stick to the pan or use parchment paper.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mine479 October 11, 2012

I have been making these for some time now and they are great and guilt free. I add a tbs. of ground flax to the cottage cheese for additional fiber.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Disr2ms April 26, 2012

I've made this several times now and love it. What I usually do at one time is make two batches, one savory and one sweet with flavorings, no sugar. I make the sweet one to use as "pancakes" with sugar-free syrup. I add about 1/4 tsp. maple flavoring and 1/4 tsp. vanilla, along with a dash or two of cinnamon, and I use one packet of sweetner. My savory ones are made with the addition of garlic powder or garlic salt and ground pepper. They are great to use as sandwich bread or when eating dinner and wanting a piece of "bread." Do mix the egg yolk mixture into the whites, not the other way around. It does make a difference. And, I only get 9 pieces from 3 eggs, not more, so maybe I have smaller eggs, but no problem. Some reviewers stated they taste eggy, but I don't think so, and I'd much rather taste egg than soy any time. If you low carb, you know the taste of soy. Eck.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Collegeteach January 19, 2013

They tasted like egg flavored meringues when eaten out of the oven. Yuck! After storing them in a zip lock bag overnight, the texture was more like bread and the egg flavor wasn't so intense. I made this batch with cottage cheese. I plan on trying it with flavored cream cheese next to see if I can mask the "eggy" flavor.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kkwesselman May 24, 2012

I am so impressed! It's sort of like Hawaiian Sweet Bread. I'm doing Atkins so I'll be making these quite a bit - I love how easy they are and so few ingredients!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mistyrh01 March 19, 2012
Carb Free Cloud Bread