13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The caraway does make this an extraordinary pea soup, exceptional. I doubled the recipe and substituted a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes for the jalapeno. The ratio of 3 to 1 chicken to beef stock was perfect. The next time I make this, I would like to add sliced kielbasa or smoked sausage during the last 30 minutes of cooking & top each serving with homemade croutons. Not that this soup needs anything else, it stands on its own as a great soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie Marie January 30, 2008

Very yummy! Full of flavor! Loved the heat from the jalape?o . I doubled the recipe. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tonda January 07, 2013

Liked this soup a bunch. I love caraway, and next time, I would definitely add more. I made the soup veggie, and the soup didn't need ham or meat or even meat broth. But I also agree with other reviewers that if you want a pea soup with ham or kielbasa, this recipe would be a great choice!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori January 21, 2012

this is amazing! I have made it quite a few times. I am not fond of mushy split pea soup, but the flavors in this soup are perfect. I love the how the caraway gives the soup character. i used half veggie broth and half water instead of chicken or beef. this is the only way i will eat split pea soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
superblondieno2 November 01, 2008

The flavors were incredible. The caraway adds a richness and depth to the flavors without adding that rye bread taste. I ran the immersion blender through for a quick puree of some of the soup to thicken it up (I love a good thick soup) and found it to be just right! I also added more vegetables. Wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachael Bregman October 11, 2008

This was just a real surprise and treat!!! The caraway just put this over the top and made it a terrific soup. I decided to puree it as well. I had planned to have the leftovers the next day but???? Next time I'll double or triple the recipe. Thanks for the post belkathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo October 05, 2008

Wow! This Split-Pea Soup with Caraway seeds is delicious! DH and I are huge fans of Caraway seeds but had never added them to pea - soup before. We were pleasantly surprised of the flavor! Everything blended perfectly together and the Caraway seeds were not overpowering! I doubled the recipe, and added a few diced bacon peices. Delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
silly sally February 27, 2008

This soup is awesome! I always like split pea soup anyway, but I was impressed by how the caraway seeds really improve the flavor. I doubled this recipe (I knew I was going to like it), and we wound up with about 6 servings. It took closer to 1 1/2 hours to finish cooking, maybe because I doubled it. Thanks for sharing this one -- it's very easy and tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Cookie February 08, 2008

this soup is the most to say the least we used vegetable broth made a double order and before we knew it was gone we will cerainly make again grear soup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angie r chatlos July 16, 2007

I love this soup! The caraway flavor is really amazing. Celery is a bit expensive here, so I used Chinese celery and that was just extra flavorful. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Z July 04, 2007
Caraway Split-Pea Soup