Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caraway Split-Pea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caraway Split-Pea Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2008

      The caraway does make this an extraordinary pea soup, exceptional. I doubled the recipe and substituted a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes for the jalapeno. The ratio of 3 to 1 chicken to beef stock was perfect. The next time I make this, I would like to add sliced kielbasa or smoked sausage during the last 30 minutes of cooking & top each serving with homemade croutons. Not that this soup needs anything else, it stands on its own as a great soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Very yummy! Full of flavor! Loved the heat from the jalape?o . I doubled the recipe. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Liked this soup a bunch. I love caraway, and next time, I would definitely add more. I made the soup veggie, and the soup didn't need ham or meat or even meat broth. But I also agree with other reviewers that if you want a pea soup with ham or kielbasa, this recipe would be a great choice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      this is amazing! I have made it quite a few times. I am not fond of mushy split pea soup, but the flavors in this soup are perfect. I love the how the caraway gives the soup character. i used half veggie broth and half water instead of chicken or beef. this is the only way i will eat split pea soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      The flavors were incredible. The caraway adds a richness and depth to the flavors without adding that rye bread taste. I ran the immersion blender through for a quick puree of some of the soup to thicken it up (I love a good thick soup) and found it to be just right! I also added more vegetables. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      This was just a real surprise and treat!!! The caraway just put this over the top and made it a terrific soup. I decided to puree it as well. I had planned to have the leftovers the next day but???? Next time I'll double or triple the recipe. Thanks for the post belkathy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Wow! This Split-Pea Soup with Caraway seeds is delicious! DH and I are huge fans of Caraway seeds but had never added them to pea - soup before. We were pleasantly surprised of the flavor! Everything blended perfectly together and the Caraway seeds were not overpowering! I doubled the recipe, and added a few diced bacon peices. Delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This soup is awesome! I always like split pea soup anyway, but I was impressed by how the caraway seeds really improve the flavor. I doubled this recipe (I knew I was going to like it), and we wound up with about 6 servings. It took closer to 1 1/2 hours to finish cooking, maybe because I doubled it. Thanks for sharing this one -- it's very easy and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      this soup is the most to say the least we used vegetable broth made a double order and before we knew it was gone we will cerainly make again grear soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      I love this soup! The caraway flavor is really amazing. Celery is a bit expensive here, so I used Chinese celery and that was just extra flavorful. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      this is delicious! i enjoyed the caraway flavor, and also the jalapeno. i can only imagine that adding wine (i was out!) and maybe a little ham or bacon would be truly divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2005

      Hmm, it's hard to decide on this one, but I think I'll go with 4, rather than 5 stars. It is good soup, and will be happily eaten, but, following the amounts, ingredients and directions of the recipe, and waiting a day to see if it had mellowed, it still isn't quite what I'd hoped for. I felt the basic split pea flavor got lost. JMO

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2005

      This is a delightful soup!!. I made this for lunch today and was very pleased with the results. I used lentils instead of split peas only because I grabbed the wrong thing in the pantry (lol) and only now noticed by mistake. No matter, the soup turned out hearty and flavorful with very little effort. Caraway can be an aquired taste and strong, but in this recipe, it mellows during simmering and imparts a lovely subtle background flavor to the soup. This was a nice warming soup for yet another snowy day. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I can't wait to try it with the intended split peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caraway Split-Pea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (109 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.4
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    65%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 73.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 18.7 g
    74%
    Sugars 8.6 g
    34%
    Protein 17.1 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes