Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caraway Rye Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caraway Rye

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2013

      Tasted still warm from the ABM & slathered w/butter, the lovely aroma & authentic flavor of this caraway rye reminded me of the days when my great-uncle (Emil Placek) & I would go to the Czech bakery in Wahoo, NE to buy what I thought was the best bread on the planet. My ABM loaf was smaller than I expected it to be ~ Not sure why, but another reviewer made the same comment. I served it w/my version of German goulash & was in heaven w/you for a brief moment in time..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      I was a bit worried when I saw 6 hungry guests eying my bread as it didn't seem a particularly large loaf. Not to worry-it was very dense, delicious and super filling. I kneaded it, put it in it's oiled bowl and popped it in the fridge then brought it out in the morning to finish it's first rise etc. Worked perfectly. My guests were super impressed that I'd made it myself-I didn't tell them how simple it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      We loved this easy to make rye bread. It is dense, but soft, loaded with caraway seeds and yummy, too. I made this in my stand mixer and baked it free-form on a baking sheet. It made delicious Rueben sandwiches for lunch. Next time, I will double the recipe so I can make 2 loaves. One to eat right away, and one to freeze. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!
      **Made for 2012 Football Pool**

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      I made it in my bread maker and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      Not sure what went wrong, but it did not rise very well the second time. Nevertheless, it is a fine loaf of bread. Made for Pammyowl's Cook A Thon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      Made for Pammy's Cook-a-thon and as with most of her recipes, this one did not disappoint. A lovely rye with the added flavor from the caraway seeds which I love. Not sweet from the sugar at all and great texture and rise. I did add wheat gluten to mine and the rise and texture of the bread is lovely. I made in my ABM on the dough cycle, then removed for a light knead and shaped, allowed to rise until doubled and then baked. I couldn't be happier with a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      I made this beautiful loaf of rye for tonight's dinner. It made excellent toast and will give us good sandwich bread too. I made the dough in the bread machine and oven baked it in an oval loaf. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Easy to make and tasty, too. My favorite part is that there is enough caraway in it. Too many rye breads skimp on the caraway :) This was great with a bowl of seafood soup tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      this is a moist bread that rises very well good flavor, i mioght use a little more bench flour cause it was raining pretty hard when i made it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caraway Rye

    Serving Size: 1 (661 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1632.7
     
    Calories from Fat 304
    18%
    Total Fat 33.8 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3513.1 mg
    146%
    Total Carbohydrate 291.6 g
    97%
    Dietary Fiber 26.3 g
    105%
    Sugars 15.2 g
    61%
    Protein 43.2 g
    86%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites