14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Right on the money. Time consuming, yes. They do taste awesome though. If you have some time and you want to please some caramel lovers in your life, definitely give it a try. These are just absolutely delicious. I used gold wrappers from a craft store, and the recipe actually made about 150 wrapped caramels. They will look great in my Christmas candy and cookie gifts.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lirael83 December 18, 2009

I recruited my husband to make these for gifts. I chose this recipe because they aren't supposed to stick to your teeth. They did not disappoint. These will be made from now on they taste wonderful as well as easy and makes a bunch. Perfect! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z December 21, 2010

I have been making diferent recipes for a caramel that is soo good that I cant stop eating it and have made several this week. this is the last one I will try and will use it for all my recipes that use caramel. IT IS GREAT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boatsn2 November 21, 2010

It turned out perfect. They are so so good. My son can't get enough. We also used it to make caramel apples for christmas gifts and they were loved by all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jazzy chef December 23, 2008

I made the caramels for the first time tonight. It was quite easy. They look beautiful in the jelly roll pan; smooth and creamy. I will wait til morning to cut and wrap and of course, test! I know what I'll be making neighbors and friends for Christmas this year. ............ Everyone absolutely loved these caramels. By the way, I shouldn't put this in print, but each caramel is approximately 63 calories each.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carlavillanovaabernathy April 09, 2014

A favorite! Hardest part is watching, waiting and stirring until at the right temperature. Very good. Friends and family request them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moore.davidkim December 10, 2012

Very good. I wished I had a candy thermometer but had to use the old fashioned method of testing in cold water for the firm ball stage. I used the situation as a teaching method for my DGD who is 10. We ate so much testing that I know they are good. Haven't removed them from the pan yet. It's so cold outside I put the pan on the landing of the garage for cooling. I may just wait until tomorrow to cut and wrap them. Thanks for a great tasting recipe. Made for Fall PAC 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrolJ November 12, 2012

Delicious and so easy to make!! I brought them to work and everyone loved them. I heard over and over again how great it was that they didn't stick to your teeth like other homemade carmels. I would give these ten stars if I could. Wrapping them was the longest part.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scibba February 24, 2010

I made these for family and friends this year for the holidays. Everyone enjoyed them tremendously! Excellent flavor and easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midwest Dessert Diva January 04, 2010

Easy to make with excellent results. Very creamy. They really do melt in your mouth.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Sister May 22, 2008
Caramels