8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I had two bigg sweet potatoes to use so this recipe was perfect for us and this dish was really tasty and good! For this recipe I used fresh rosemary from the garden. The house smelled sooo goood! Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde September 13, 2014

I prepared this differently from the directions. First I caramelized the onions and sweet potatoes with the sugar, added veg broth and covered the lid. The rosemary was added the last 5 minutes of cooking to infuse the flavor. Used fresh rosemary from the garden, too! Served over a bed of baby arugula. Very good! Made for Best of 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 11, 2012

My DH loved this recipe.

So easy to make with a great out come.


He already as asked for me to make this dish again for him.

Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE November 25, 2011

Definitely a winning recipe no matter how I look at it, but then, I do love the sweet potato, almost any way but with mini marshmallows on it! Loved the caramelized onions in this dish, & look forward to wowing friends during the end-of-year holidays! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! [Made & reviewed in 1-2-3 Hits recipe tag]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 23, 2011

I prepared this dish for an early Christmas dinner I hosted with friends. They were cooked in a covered cast iron skillet without any added water. The onions caramelized with the lightly glazed potatoes and they were a real hit. These were served along side a stuffed pork loan, broccoli and cranberry relish. Made for Tis the Season in the Diabetic Forum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG December 20, 2010

Great! I loved the sweet onions and the rosemary too on this! I halved the recipe for the two of us, and added about 2 teasoons or more brown sugar. I am definitely not a fan of overly sweet sweet potatoes. I sliced my potatoes 1/2 inch thick and they cooked up very nicely in exactly the time alotted. I used a non-stick skillet and felt that more water would not have been necessary had I kept it carefully covered. (I forgot to cover for the first few minutes). A fast and easy way to make sweet potatoes. Thanks WiGal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend February 01, 2010

I love sweet potatoes, but not with tons of sugar and gunk on. This was a pleasant mid-ground. Easy to make, but I think I would leave out the rosemary next time. Didn't care for it in this as much. I cut them thinner than 1/2-inch, as I wanted to make sure it got done. It almost came out mashed potatoes then. I would increase the water a little, as they were sticking to the bottom at the end of 10 min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead August 20, 2008

Scaled back for 3 using 2 medium sweet potatoes, 2 small onion (cut into wedges) and followed recipe for 4 to 6 serves, after 15 minutes in step 3 my potatoes where still very hard (had in a single layer) so let go for another 10 minutes but didin't keep close enough eye on them until a slight burning smell was smelt and well a few had burnt and so had most of the onion, added a little more water and then added the brown sugar and as I didn't have dried rosemary used a dried herb mix. Overall was very nice except for those slight burnt bits. Thank you WiGal, made for Newest Zaar Stars tag game (24 hour rule).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat July 23, 2012
Caramelized Sweet Potatoes