Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Onions

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2011

      This is by far the easiest way to make caramelized onions. This is now my go to recipe. Thanks Dorit fo such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Great recipe! I got a great deal on local sweet onions and this was a perfect way to use some up. Delicious!! Made for PAC Spring 2012.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Great to eat along with sausage subs. Easy and so pleasing to the palate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      These were extremely easy and good. I had never made carmelized onions before. I am putting these on some sandwiches I am making this week. Made for Gimme 5.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Oh my... these onions were delicious! I used them on grilled cheeseburgers and they were sooo good. The instructions and times are absolutely perfect. I really liked that there was no sugar added to this recipe (I don't like that sweet flavor you get when you add sugar to other recipes). Thanks Dreamer! Made for Holiday tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      The onions turned out wonderfully!!! I wasn't real sure about adding onions to a dry pan, but adding the lid helped pull out the onions liquid which kept them from sticking. This is very easy and so tasty, especially when I combined it with a marinated flank steak!! Thanks Dreamer for sharing this recipe. Made for your win in the Games Summer Spectacular.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      Fabulous caramelised onions recipe: wonderfully clear instructions, so easy to make and SO, SO DELICIOUS. :) I've been enjoying these in my take-to-work sandwiches and plan on having these regularly on hand for use not only in sandwiches but in omelets, soups and dips as Dreamer has suggested. So much more economical - and also very satisfying to make - than the gourmet equivalent I've bought from time to time at my local deli. Made exactly to the recipe, but next time I'm planning to add some minced garlic. Thank you so much for sharing this super recipe, Dreamer. Made for 1-2-3 Hit Wonders.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This worked great. I followed the recipe as written. I used 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of butter. I didn't add any peppper. I really didn't time these as I was making. I just stopped cooking when they looked done to me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2013

      These were just as wonderful in flavor as I knew they would be. My DH and I love carmelized onions. About 1/2 way through cooking the onions I added coarsley chopped fresh mushrooms. Then when both the veggies were nice and carmelized I addred some small pieces of sliced ham. When the ham was browned a bit, I added about 9 beaten eggs. Cooked the eggs until done. Voila! Carmelized onions, mushrooms, & ham scrambled eggs with the fresh Oatmeal Wheat bread I made today as well. I told DH that he could take the leftover mix and put it into a flour tortilla in the morning for breadfast burritos. All this from your wonderful carmelized onions! Thanks so much for posting. Made for PAC Spring 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 127.7
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    48%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes