Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Onion Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Onion Rice

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2013

      Found this recipe on one of those websites where you search for recipes based on the ingredients you already have in your fridge. I just wanted something cheap and easy to make, but this was so, so, so much better than I thought it was going to be, and super cheap. (Like I said, I just made this with things I needed to clean out of my fridge.) If you have a rice cooker, you really need to make this like now. I didn't use butter, and the chicken broth could easily be substituted with veggie broth, so I think it can be both vegan and gluten free. This would make a fantastic side dish but my boyfriend ate this as a light dinner and were fine, although we did add a little bit of chicken and some mushrooms that needed cooking. Honestly, though, this really doesn't need anything else, although I think this recipe would do well with some experimentation. Maybe we'll serve with some broccoli or asparagus on the side next time. Like a previous reviewer, I really caramelized my onions, and they were sweet and brown and flavorful, but I still think that the brown sugar really sent this over the top. Omit the added sugar if it's really that important to you. Just make sure that you do caramelize your onions--the extra time and effort makes a world of difference. <br/>Seriously. Make. This.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      I rarely make brown rice, but the recipe sounded delicious. I'm sure this recipe is fantastic if you like brown rice, so this review is based on our personal taste. I found it okay-too sweet and nutty. My DH no comment-just o.k., my youngest normally a rice lover-it's alright, kind of chewy though my eldest DS-it tastes like crayons (?)he is 13 yrs. old. If I used white rice I'm sure everyone would like it more. I cooked this in the microwave since I don't have a rice cooker. I served this with Lipton Onion Pork Chops and Vegetable Fred

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

    • on October 02, 2011

      Great! Exactly what I had in mind!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      My fiance and I LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe!!! We first tried it a little less than a month ago and have made it 3 or 4 times. It is the best rice recipe ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I thought this was a delicious way to make brown rice a little special. I halved the recipe for two of us, but used 1 1/2 cups broth. I omitted the sugar; I think caramelized onions have their own sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2006

      I have never been a big fan of brown rice but this recipe changed my mind. My husband thought it was okay and he would eat it again. This is a big step because if it's not rice-a-roni it's not good. I did use brown basmati rice because I had that to use up and I did it on the stove b/c I have no rice cooker. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      Wow! I loved this I made one batch and then another... usually I'm a brown rice lover but I used white basmati in this to use some up and it was wonderful but brown rice works better. The only other change I made was veg stock for the chicken cause I don't like the dead things. This went really well with mommymakes's spinach balls heaven!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      This was delicious! Loved the combination of sweet caramelized onion and nutty brown rice. Will definately make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      It was a wonderful rice recipe!! I did add an extra clove of garlic! We had this with baked mushroom chicken and a light salad. From now on Im making my rice like this!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Great quick side dish with lots of flavor! Really kicks up the flavor of brown rice. I served this with baked chicken and a salad for a simple but wonderful meal. Used a Vidalia onion and because I really let it carmelize in the saute pan, probably could have done without the brown sugar. Would suggest using a bit of the broth to deglaze the saute pan so that all of the yummy bits aren't lost, and of course, homemade chicken stock. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2006

      This is a wonderful rice recipe! I doubled the ingredients, chopped the onion and increased the garlic to 2 heaping tablespoonfuls, I also added in some toasted almonds and lots of freshly ground black pepper, thanks for sharing this recipe akgrown, we loved it!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Onion Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 270.3
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    26%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 476.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites