11 Reviews

Very good potatoes. Rave reviews from the family and requests for the recipe. The onions did not caramelize for me in the time allotted in the recipe, though, I needed at least 20 minutes more. These even tasted better the next day! AS leftovers, I may have given them a 5-star-rating. They are definitely a lot of work, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bearcita March 26, 2014

Best alternative to plain mashed potatoes ever!!! Made this for my very first Christmas dinner and they did not disappoint! I made them exactly as the recipe stated. These were super yummy and very rich in taste. I served a HoneyBaked Ham and this recipe paired very well with it! THE ONLY CAUTION--- I would give is if you need to keep this dish warm by keeping it in a warming drawer or in your oven on warm, the potatoes do not keep their shape and end up becoming "runny." So if you can make this dish last so you do not have to keep it warm that would be for the best so they don't loose their shape.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetTart87 December 29, 2013

I made for Christmas Eve dinner and they were a hit. I discovered as I was preparing them that one of my guests was allergic to Rosemary so had to omit, but will certainly add the next time. I did not dollop the top either, but prepared all else as written. Delicious and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane in Burbank, CA December 27, 2011

My guest and I both thought these were the best mashed potatoes we'd ever had. i didnt even do the last step of broiling. Served with Cabernet braised short ribs. 5 star restaurant quality. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdsuzy June 05, 2011

Yummy!! Used Red Skin potatoes and skim milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater July 14, 2010

Fantastic Bold Flavors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sous Me April 29, 2010

Absolutely love this recipe!!!! We made it one night for just the two of us and now we are getting together with friends and taking this with us! It's something we plan on taking to Thanksgiving Dinner and Christmas Dinner! We can't stop raving about it! Thanks for sharing!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sgtelkins_wifey November 13, 2008

Excellent. Love the flavor of the onions and blue cheese with the potatoes. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 December 26, 2006

Absolutely Awsome!! The best mashed potatoes we have ever eaten. Won rave reviews at Christmas dinner served along side a beautiful Prime Roast Beef. Can't say enough about these creamy, wonderfully bold potatoes. Must try. Thank you so much for a beautiful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
byrnene December 25, 2006

Yum! It sure was worth the time. I served it with the steak dinner we had last night. Didn't add the final salt, since we watch the sodium and felt cheese had enough flavor. We'll definitely make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meyer Lemon October 16, 2005
Caramelized Onion & Gorgonzola Mashed Potatoes