13 Reviews

If you love caramelized onions and good bread, this is the recipe for you! Delicious and fluffy bread with an amazing onion topping. Very filling, could make a great meal with soup and a salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan February 21, 2010

FANTASTIC! Made exactly as written except I added 1 tsp. dried rosemary to the dough ingredients. This is the lightest, fluffiest foccacia bread I have ever had...will use again as a pizza dough base. Thanks so much for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada November 08, 2008

I have made foccacia in the past, but this recipe is delicious. The dough was easy to work with and the bread was lovely and moist. Like other reviewers, my onions had been too fine and were overdone by the end of cooking. I drizzled the hot bread with some olive oil before serving with spaghetti and meatballs. Next time I will try adding the onions nearer the end of cooking. Whole family loved this and have requested that it be made again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frugal Fifer August 16, 2008

I made this with the onion topping to start with. I should have sliced the onions, as in your recipe, instead of chopping them. By the time I had caramelised them and then they baked on top of the bread, there wasn't much substance to the onion! I had chopped them too finely. I doubled the recipe and made two batches for my cooking class and we tried all sorts of toppings; garlic and thyme, olives, sun-dried tomatoes. All wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RonaNZ October 06, 2007

This was so easy and so good! I will be using this frequently. Can't wait to try this with other toppings as well. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lexie September 23, 2007

My first Foccacia bread & I love it. Made it as directed first time & was great. Next time I made a pizza with onion, mushroom, red pepper & pineapple. Wonderful!! Thanks so much for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zipadedoda December 12, 2006

This was incredibly easy and good. I will only make foccacia dough this way from now on. I put the cookie sheet on top of my pizza stone and the crust was perfect. Can't wait to make it again and try other toppings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clean Plate Club October 31, 2006

This is an awesome bread, and has become one of our regular recipes around here. I usually sprinkle a little garlic salt on it and add some olives. I like to use sweet onions, and I cook them on a med-low heat the whole time the doubh is going.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calicokatt January 31, 2006

Too good! I have already made it twice in the past 3 days. I used red onion both times and a few mushrooms the second time around. It is yummmmmy! We all ate it as it is--couldn't wait to make anything else with it. Fabulous recipe! Thanks for submitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vadapao January 04, 2006

5+ stars. I let my onions cook on the stove for close to an hour so that they were very carmelized. The dough was beautiful to work with. Something I learned from a TV food show was to grease the cookie sheet with olive oil. I used fresh mozzarella. Everything went together so well. Oh, the flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon June 25, 2005
Caramelized Onion Focaccia ( Bread Machine)