13 Reviews

This is a great dip. I chopped the onions for ease of eating. I didn't add the butter and I cut back on the oil. I'll be making this often as it will go great on many things.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH December 09, 2008

...wonderful dip!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl January 07, 2015

Tomorrow it will be exactly 1 year since I reviewed a recipe here. The "takeover" turned me off, I guess, but it's no surprise that I've come back to review one of YOUR recipes, Kitten! :) I should start by saying that I made some changes, but I think the significant aspects of this recipe are those I didn't change. Before I even chose a recipe to use them in, I had caramelized 5 onions using Mark Bittman's method in "How to Cook Everything Vegetarian". He starts with nothing in the pan but the onions and adds 2T butter or olive oil once the onions have dried up some. Anyway, this dip was over-the-top delicious! It was a bit difficult to scoop before I attacked it with a stick blender, but maybe I shouldn't have done that.... I had always been able to defy the "Lay's Potato Chips... nobody can eat just one" claim all these years, but when they were all decked out in this dip, there was no stopping me. Thank you once again, Carol, for sharing a wonderful and versatile recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) June 13, 2011

CRACK! This recipe is as addictive as crack! DH no longer buys the stuff in the store I cannot eat bacause of the sour cream. That is the only change I made, I use greek yogurt instead if mayo & sour cream. We use this as a dip and a sandwich spread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JLBear71 January 13, 2011

This is a wonderful dip recipe!!!! It makes for a creamy, roasty and just super yummy dip that goes great with crudites. I luved the simplicity of preparing this and the great onion, garlic flavour. The cayenne added just the right amount of heat. A lovely dip that Ill make again. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it here with us, Kittencal! Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 29, 2010

SOOOOO GOOD!!!! I doubled the recipe and I'm so glad I did because it got gobbled up so quickly!! I will never eat store bought onion dip again and will make this recipe time and time again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovemyamaya_ariana January 05, 2010

Made this using WallaWalla onions someone had given me. It was absolutely heavenly. I did cut back on the mayo and use extra sour cream in it's place, but just a personal preference of mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Cindijo October 05, 2009

This was really good!!! I made it without the mayo (forgot!) and we didn't have sour cream so used ordinary cream instead. I think I may have added a bit more cayenne. But definitely a keeper. I promise I'll read the recipe properly next time...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peester January 02, 2007

I gave this 5 stars. I changed my review. This was good the day after making it but I had tried this 3 days later and it was very good. My future hubby said he liked it from the begining but really liked then. My guest at my party the day after making the dip/spread said that I should have tried to thin this out as I used it as a dip. They suggested that I try to thin it out with milk to make it more of a dip. I will make it again! I might make it with garlic. I will make this for for burgers. My future hubby thinks this would be awesome on burgers. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut December 26, 2006

This is a WONDERFUL recipe dip! I did not use the oil either...got distracted and it turned out great! I just stirred it again prior to serving to make it easier to dip. No additional salt was necessary. I cut up the onions into smaller pieces after I cooked them to make them more managable the second time I made them! My dad and husband put it on fresh rolls with heated ham! Also great on warm bagels!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annika's Granny December 24, 2006
Caramelized Onion Dip/Spread