Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Onion Dip/Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Onion Dip/Spread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2008

      This is a great dip. I chopped the onions for ease of eating. I didn't add the butter and I cut back on the oil. I'll be making this often as it will go great on many things.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Tomorrow it will be exactly 1 year since I reviewed a recipe here. The "takeover" turned me off, I guess, but it's no surprise that I've come back to review one of YOUR recipes, Kitten! :) I should start by saying that I made some changes, but I think the significant aspects of this recipe are those I didn't change. Before I even chose a recipe to use them in, I had caramelized 5 onions using Mark Bittman's method in "How to Cook Everything Vegetarian". He starts with nothing in the pan but the onions and adds 2T butter or olive oil once the onions have dried up some. Anyway, this dip was over-the-top delicious! It was a bit difficult to scoop before I attacked it with a stick blender, but maybe I shouldn't have done that.... I had always been able to defy the "Lay's Potato Chips... nobody can eat just one" claim all these years, but when they were all decked out in this dip, there was no stopping me. Thank you once again, Carol, for sharing a wonderful and versatile recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      CRACK! This recipe is as addictive as crack! DH no longer buys the stuff in the store I cannot eat bacause of the sour cream. That is the only change I made, I use greek yogurt instead if mayo & sour cream. We use this as a dip and a sandwich spread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This is a wonderful dip recipe!!!! It makes for a creamy, roasty and just super yummy dip that goes great with crudites. I luved the simplicity of preparing this and the great onion, garlic flavour. The cayenne added just the right amount of heat. A lovely dip that Ill make again. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing it here with us, Kittencal! Made and reviewed for Zaar Stars May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      SOOOOO GOOD!!!! I doubled the recipe and I'm so glad I did because it got gobbled up so quickly!! I will never eat store bought onion dip again and will make this recipe time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Made this using WallaWalla onions someone had given me. It was absolutely heavenly. I did cut back on the mayo and use extra sour cream in it's place, but just a personal preference of mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      This was really good!!! I made it without the mayo (forgot!) and we didn't have sour cream so used ordinary cream instead. I think I may have added a bit more cayenne. But definitely a keeper. I promise I'll read the recipe properly next time...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      I gave this 5 stars. I changed my review. This was good the day after making it but I had tried this 3 days later and it was very good. My future hubby said he liked it from the begining but really liked then. My guest at my party the day after making the dip/spread said that I should have tried to thin this out as I used it as a dip. They suggested that I try to thin it out with milk to make it more of a dip. I will make it again! I might make it with garlic. I will make this for for burgers. My future hubby thinks this would be awesome on burgers. Thanks for posting a yummy recipe! Christine (internetnut)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      This is a WONDERFUL recipe dip! I did not use the oil either...got distracted and it turned out great! I just stirred it again prior to serving to make it easier to dip. No additional salt was necessary. I cut up the onions into smaller pieces after I cooked them to make them more managable the second time I made them! My dad and husband put it on fresh rolls with heated ham! Also great on warm bagels!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2006

      Amazing! I loved everything about this spread. I toasted some french bread and then spread this on top - so yummy! I was a little confused by the listing of 1/4c. oil in the ingredients, but not in the directions. So I just ignored it and everything turned out great. Thanks for such a great recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      A really nice flavourful dip that's quite easy to make. I cut the fat a bit by using plain yogurt instead of sour cream but otherwise followed the recipe. I think you could add a touch more cayenne if you like your food with a bit of kick but on its own it's a simple dip that should appeal to most people. Goes great with veggies, crackers or potato chips. The onions and cayenne give it a nice colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      If I could give this 10 stars I would. Made this for my Halloween Party and I ended up moving it to a less prominent spot so I'd have some for today. I made this the day before and intended to use as a chip dip, but by the time I served it, it had set-up to more of a spread consistency so I served it with bagel chips. They went GREAT together. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Onion Dip/Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (767 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1046.3
     
    Calories from Fat 908
    86%
    Total Fat 100.9 g
    155%
    Saturated Fat 38.6 g
    193%
    Cholesterol 168.6 mg
    56%
    Sodium 855.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 14.0 g
    56%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites