22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I used the dough settings. And let rise about 30-40 minutes. Then cooked it at 400 F for 30 minutes. It's delicious toasted with butter. Thanks Duonyte. Made for Zaar Star game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 09, 2009

This is a great bread. I appreciate the comments about taking time to caramelize the onions because I took that to heart! I also took the recommendation to substitute in a cup of rye flour because I knew my DH would really like that. Speaking of DH, he tried a slice and said for a Zaar recipe, he really liked it! (Hush... he doesn't like Zaar recipes! He likes his same old, same old!) Thanks, Duonyte! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees March 08, 2009

I diced my onion rather than slicing,and I also used one red onion,as we like them,and to throw in a little colour.I made the dough in my machine,then made them into rolls,rather than a loaf. The smell eminating from the kitchen was just wonderful....as were the rolls.My two year old daughter begged me for some the minute they emerged from the oven...!! Delicious recipe,that I shall be making again,as it was so easy and very enjoyable.Thanks duonyte.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo February 13, 2009

I made this on my KA with some amount adjustments, I saved some time by using my Kittencal's Caramelized Onions that I keep prepared and in my freezer, with the amount adjustments this bread turned out quite well... thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 12, 2009

This was wonderful bread, in my opinion, loved the flavor and the moist tender inside!!! My 16 yo DS wasn't as excited about it as me, he loves onion bagels so thought this would be a hit for him as well, but he didn't care for the onions in the bread, teenagers!!!! I think next time I would dice the onions rather than the long slices. I only made half the recipe in order to work with my bread machine and it made a very nice loaf of bread. I think I will try it again but without the onions and see if DS likes it better that way. Thanks for sharing Duonyte!!! Made for Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 February 04, 2009

This is awesome. My family loves it and we make it at least twice a week. It makes for a great BLT and I'm planning on using it my stuffing during the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 June 09, 2008

This is one of my favorite breads - it is really delicious (originally appeared in the Betty Crocker Bread Machine Cookbook). It took me more along the lines of half an hour to caramelize the onions. Note: this recipe is for a 2 pound loaf. If anyone wants the ratio for the 1.5 pound loaf, zmail me (it is not a straight decreased conversion). This bread is definitely recommended!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 12, 2008

Mine came out tasty but the outside is crispy. Not sure what I did wrong or if it is suppose to be like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB January 06, 2008

A co-worker asked me to make onion bread for him. I selected this recipe and decided to bake the whole loaf in my bread maker. Big mistake! It was too much dough for my machine and it ran over and burned. I had to air out the machine for a couple of days after cleaning it to get the smell out. Anyhow, my fault, because I should have noticed that 4 cups of flour was probably too much. But I was determined to make this bread after reading the rave reviews it got, so I halved the recipe and made a small loaf. My co-workers exact words were "delicious bread!". I'm glad I tried to make it again. Next time I'll try 3/4 of the recipe so I'll have a little bit larger loaf than half of the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookn4mytwins October 06, 2007

What a great flavor! I used the bread machine to do the mixing and kneading and finished in oven. I baked it in a bundt pan, for an unusual shape. It was kind of marbled when sliced. Looked good and tasted better! I'll be making this one again! I'll try rye next time. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 14, 2007
Caramelized Onion Bread (Bread Machine)