Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Onion Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Onion Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2012

      I made this whole wheat with Bob's redmill flour, added about 4 extra tablespoons of water and a tablespoon of wheat gluten, and made the bread on the 80 minute quick bread cycle. I added just a pinch more yeast also, and subbed spike seasoning for half the salt. I also added a tablespoon of dried rosemary. I put the onions in 5 minutes into the KNEAD cycle. I know, lots of alterations. This bread is PHENOMENAL. It rose high, didn't fall, and I am drooling and want to eat the whole loaf! I know, TMI! :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      We loved the flavor of this bread even though I thought the onions would have been more of a star in the finished product. I probably didn't use enough of them. I also used vadalias which gave the bread a sweet taste. Since this was the first time I had ever used the bell to add anything to the dough, I paniced and thought I had missed the ding. So I added the onions as it turned out only 5 minutes before the bell went off. Now I know that bell goes of 75 minutes after I press the start button. I used unbleached bread flour and did not replace any of it with rye. I think the top of the bread didn't rise due to old yeast, no fault of the recipe. I served it with ratatouille on couscous and crab cakes. Made for a great meal! Made for Ramadan tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      I'm not giving this bread a star rating because it didn't work for me at all, so I know I somehow messed up this well-regarded recipe. I read the reviews & knew this bread would overflow my ABM, so I used the ABM thru the add of the caramelized onions & 2nd knead cycle. My plan was to remove the dough .. place it in an oiled, oblong, lrg & deep Pyrex baking dish for the 2nd rise .. & then bake it in the oven. My prob was the dough was very stiff & the caramelized onions didn't fully mix into it. I tried mixing them in by hand, but that didn't work well either. I eventually abandoned the effort & the bread rose nicely. I cut slits in the top surface & baked it at an oven temp of 375F til nicely brown & tested done. Altho well-flavoured from the onions, the dough was very dense & most of the onions fell away when it was sliced. I'd welcome any advice on what mistake(s) I might have made so I can give it a 2nd effort after the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Made as posted. Very dense but good. Used ours in grilled cheese sandwiches. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      I took your suggestion about substituting rye flour for part of the bread flour, & the bread was outstanding! This loaf was just for the 2 of us this time around, but I look forward to sharing it with guests! Definitely a keeper of a recipe, & it's going into my favorites book! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      This was wonderful. Made just as described in the bread machine except I was out of bread flour so used AP instead. It made a very large loaf and we sliced it lengthwise to store and it sliced up beautifully that way. Thank you so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      Fabulous bread!!! Easy to make and it rose up perfectly in my bread machine. I bet toasted it would be phenomenal, but didn't have any leftover to try that, lol....going into the keeper folder!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Great bread! I used the dough cycle, formed into an "artisan"-style bread (a large round flat sphere), let it raise for 30 minutes, and bake for 30 at 400º. I accidentally added the onion in the beginning of the dough cycle and it broke all of the onions up, so I added some more at the end of the dough cycle. Brought it to Easter dinner - delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was wonderful! I made the dough in my bread machine then baked it in the oven, it went great with our beef stew for dinner THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I used the dough settings. And let rise about 30-40 minutes. Then cooked it at 400 F for 30 minutes. It's delicious toasted with butter. Thanks Duonyte. Made for Zaar Star game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This is a great bread. I appreciate the comments about taking time to caramelize the onions because I took that to heart! I also took the recommendation to substitute in a cup of rye flour because I knew my DH would really like that. Speaking of DH, he tried a slice and said for a Zaar recipe, he really liked it! (Hush... he doesn't like Zaar recipes! He likes his same old, same old!) Thanks, Duonyte! Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      I diced my onion rather than slicing,and I also used one red onion,as we like them,and to throw in a little colour.I made the dough in my machine,then made them into rolls,rather than a loaf. The smell eminating from the kitchen was just wonderful....as were the rolls.My two year old daughter begged me for some the minute they emerged from the oven...!! Delicious recipe,that I shall be making again,as it was so easy and very enjoyable.Thanks duonyte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I made this on my KA with some amount adjustments, I saved some time by using my Kittencal's Caramelized Onions that I keep prepared and in my freezer, with the amount adjustments this bread turned out quite well... thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      This was wonderful bread, in my opinion, loved the flavor and the moist tender inside!!! My 16 yo DS wasn't as excited about it as me, he loves onion bagels so thought this would be a hit for him as well, but he didn't care for the onions in the bread, teenagers!!!! I think next time I would dice the onions rather than the long slices. I only made half the recipe in order to work with my bread machine and it made a very nice loaf of bread. I think I will try it again but without the onions and see if DS likes it better that way. Thanks for sharing Duonyte!!! Made for Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This is awesome. My family loves it and we make it at least twice a week. It makes for a great BLT and I'm planning on using it my stuffing during the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      This is one of my favorite breads - it is really delicious (originally appeared in the Betty Crocker Bread Machine Cookbook). It took me more along the lines of half an hour to caramelize the onions. Note: this recipe is for a 2 pound loaf. If anyone wants the ratio for the 1.5 pound loaf, zmail me (it is not a straight decreased conversion). This bread is definitely recommended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Mine came out tasty but the outside is crispy. Not sure what I did wrong or if it is suppose to be like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      A co-worker asked me to make onion bread for him. I selected this recipe and decided to bake the whole loaf in my bread maker. Big mistake! It was too much dough for my machine and it ran over and burned. I had to air out the machine for a couple of days after cleaning it to get the smell out. Anyhow, my fault, because I should have noticed that 4 cups of flour was probably too much. But I was determined to make this bread after reading the rave reviews it got, so I halved the recipe and made a small loaf. My co-workers exact words were "delicious bread!". I'm glad I tried to make it again. Next time I'll try 3/4 of the recipe so I'll have a little bit larger loaf than half of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      What a great flavor! I used the bread machine to do the mixing and kneading and finished in oven. I baked it in a bundt pan, for an unusual shape. It was kind of marbled when sliced. Looked good and tasted better! I'll be making this one again! I'll try rye next time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Awesome bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Onion Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (67 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.3
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    12%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.9 mg
    0%
    Sodium 153.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites