22 Reviews

I made this whole wheat with Bob's redmill flour, added about 4 extra tablespoons of water and a tablespoon of wheat gluten, and made the bread on the 80 minute quick bread cycle. I added just a pinch more yeast also, and subbed spike seasoning for half the salt. I also added a tablespoon of dried rosemary. I put the onions in 5 minutes into the KNEAD cycle. I know, lots of alterations. This bread is PHENOMENAL. It rose high, didn't fall, and I am drooling and want to eat the whole loaf! I know, TMI! :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
larue816 September 20, 2012

We loved the flavor of this bread even though I thought the onions would have been more of a star in the finished product. I probably didn't use enough of them. I also used vadalias which gave the bread a sweet taste. Since this was the first time I had ever used the bell to add anything to the dough, I paniced and thought I had missed the ding. So I added the onions as it turned out only 5 minutes before the bell went off. Now I know that bell goes of 75 minutes after I press the start button. I used unbleached bread flour and did not replace any of it with rye. I think the top of the bread didn't rise due to old yeast, no fault of the recipe. I served it with ratatouille on couscous and crab cakes. Made for a great meal! Made for Ramadan tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo July 30, 2012

Ever since I got my bread machine, and remembered how much I like onion bagels, I've been occasionally looking for an onion bread, and thanks to this recipe, I've found it. It's one of the most delicious breads I've made so far, and I expect to be making it many more times in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael G. April 18, 2015

I'm not giving this bread a star rating because it didn't work for me at all, so I know I somehow messed up this well-regarded recipe. I read the reviews & knew this bread would overflow my ABM, so I used the ABM thru the add of the caramelized onions & 2nd knead cycle. My plan was to remove the dough .. place it in an oiled, oblong, lrg & deep Pyrex baking dish for the 2nd rise .. & then bake it in the oven. My prob was the dough was very stiff & the caramelized onions didn't fully mix into it. I tried mixing them in by hand, but that didn't work well either. I eventually abandoned the effort & the bread rose nicely. I cut slits in the top surface & baked it at an oven temp of 375F til nicely brown & tested done. Altho well-flavoured from the onions, the dough was very dense & most of the onions fell away when it was sliced. I'd welcome any advice on what mistake(s) I might have made so I can give it a 2nd effort after the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis December 12, 2012

Made as posted. Very dense but good. Used ours in grilled cheese sandwiches. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal July 28, 2012

I took your suggestion about substituting rye flour for part of the bread flour, & the bread was outstanding! This loaf was just for the 2 of us this time around, but I look forward to sharing it with guests! Definitely a keeper of a recipe, & it's going into my favorites book! Thanks for sharing it! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike March 05, 2012

This was wonderful. Made just as described in the bread machine except I was out of bread flour so used AP instead. It made a very large loaf and we sliced it lengthwise to store and it sliced up beautifully that way. Thank you so much for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate Fisher June 22, 2011

Fabulous bread!!! Easy to make and it rose up perfectly in my bread machine. I bet toasted it would be phenomenal, but didn't have any leftover to try that, lol....going into the keeper folder!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 January 21, 2011

Great bread! I used the dough cycle, formed into an "artisan"-style bread (a large round flat sphere), let it raise for 30 minutes, and bake for 30 at 400º. I accidentally added the onion in the beginning of the dough cycle and it broke all of the onions up, so I added some more at the end of the dough cycle. Brought it to Easter dinner - delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
half_baked April 04, 2010

This was wonderful! I made the dough in my bread machine then baked it in the oven, it went great with our beef stew for dinner THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halloweencat01 March 31, 2009
Caramelized Onion Bread (Bread Machine)