16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread is absolutely delicious. The only reason I did not give it five stars is because there is no info about how to carmelize onions - and some beginners may not be familiar with that process! The onions need to be cooked at medium-high heat for ten minutes before reducing heat to medium. Continue to cook the onions for another 15-20 minutes until they are brown, sticky and delicious... Add them to this wonderful and easy bread recipe and enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EveryoneLovesaSpringer June 02, 2010

Fabulous! Easy to make and yummy. Made as directed and have shared the recipe with several friends already!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA February 27, 2011

These were really good. Love the sweet onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 January 31, 2011

Absolutely loved this bread! Very nice crusty bread that will go great with so many different dishes. I know it's early in the year, but this is the first recipe going into my Favorites of 2010 cookbook!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef January 07, 2010

This bread kicks beeer bread into areas previously unknown, and does so beautifully. The bread is not at all crumbly, has a moist beautiful texture and the additions of asiago and caramelized onions bring the flavor over the top. Hands down the BEST beer bread I have ever had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. December 11, 2009

No need to elaborate... EXCELLENT! Leaps and bounds better than any other! Thank you for a wonderful recipe that our entire family enjoyed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betty1980 October 26, 2009

OK, I am ~Bekah~'s hubby and have to say this was the most delicious bread. I absolutely loved it and think that anyone who makes it will enjoy it. Thanks for a great treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbwolf February 25, 2009

This is to die for. A nice dense loaf of very flavorable bread. My husband went insane over this. Went great with our stew. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ February 23, 2009

Let me start by saying that I do not bake a great deal and have never before made a 'beer' anything! I wanted to make this to go with tonights beef stew. I followed all instructions muttering to the dogs "this is not going to work". No fat, no eggs, no yeast, oh well ...soldier on. I added the beer and had the eureka moment. AHHHHH yeast in beer! Took it out of the oven and left it to cool while I walked the critters in sub zero weather. Came back to the amazing aroma and decided that I'd give it a shot warm, smeared with butter and a cup of tea. I've had four slices - now my tummy aches and I have no interest in the stew. DH is going to love it providing there is any left for dinner. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned January 27, 2009

This was sooo easy to make and tasted great too. My loaf came out very dense so that's one thing to keep in mind. Thanks a lot KelBel!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pritha January 22, 2009
Caramelized Onion and Asiago Beer Batter Bread