Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Milk (Cajeta or Dulce de Leche) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Milk (Cajeta or Dulce de Leche)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2003

      I have done this process similar to Michelle's, except that I didn't open the can and just simmered it completety covered for about 2 hours. This may or may not be safe, but I've done this many times with no problem. Then I just pour the carmelized milk (which really does taste like carmel!) into a bought graham cracker pie crust and top with whipped cream. Make for a nice, easy dessert.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2003

      I have not tried to make this but I saw an episode on food tv today. Here's what the surreal gourmet suggests: Use a can opener to poke 2 small holes in the top of can. Fill a small pot with 4 inches of water. Place can in water, then add or remove water so that the top of the can sits 1/4-inch above the waterline. Bring water to a simmer and let simmer for 6 hours. Top off water occasionally so that it remains at the same basic level. Don't worry if a small amount of the can's contents bubble up and cloud the water during the simmering process. Let can cool, then open and skim off top 1/4-inch of condensed milk. What remains below should be a thick creamy, delicious caramel sauce. Serve with fresh fruit such as bananas, berries, star fruit, etc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2003

      I'm sorry this did not work out for me. I got burnt crumbs of milk at the end:(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      There is a much simpler way to achieve the same result. Take the can of swetened condensed milk and put it in a pan of water over medium heat for 20-30 minutes. When you open the can...caramel sauce!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      When I tried to make this it began well however the smell was awful and the texture strange. When I let it cool it hardened and tasted absolutly disgusting...and I know what actual dulce de ledche tastes like as I am Hispanic and I was extremly dissapointed. I recommend to all people hoping to make dulce de leche to take their time and prepare it the slow,correct way by boiling it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      I think this is better made in a pressure cooker. I have always made it in the pressure cooker with great success. I decided to try this in the microwave like you described. I honestly thought it would come out the same and i was VERY DISAPPOINTED! It came out chewy at first but then firmed up. It was not spreadable at all. It was more like a hard candy. I thought this would save me time but i think i will stick to the pressure cooker method from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I made this to use in dulce de leche ice cream. I've made dulce de leche, by the ever so slow top of the stove method using milk and sugar, but I much prefer this method. I will have to experiment with the time and power level on my microwave to get the exact consistency I was looking for. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      I come from Brazil and there we also use a lot of "dulce de leche" or "doce de leite" as we call it there, and what we do is we boil the can of condensend milk in a presure cooker. It is safer than to do on a normal pan. The presure rising from the liquid inside the can is counter balaced by the presure of the water boiling inside the pan and you have no risk of it exploding. I think it's something to do with Fisic's Law.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      It's astounding that ONE ingredient could make such a great dulce de leche! Mine turned out extremely thick, just pliable enough to dip the apple wedges that I served with it. I watched this batch like a hawk as it microwaved... it didn't burn, though my microwave seemed to cook it faster than 16-24 minutes required in the last timeframe (I think it took about 13 minutes). I stirred every 3 minutes for the first half of the time, and then every 1:30 for the last half. Don't be scared if the mixture becomes really "foamy" during the process, just whisk it right back to shape. And thanks to Rhonda for the pie idea -- will be using this for a pie next time I have company! Very impressive and SO easy! Muchas gracias, Maty! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Milk (Cajeta or Dulce de Leche)

    Serving Size: 1 (535 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1716.7
     
    Calories from Fat 418
    24%
    Total Fat 46.5 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 29.3 g
    146%
    Cholesterol 181.8 mg
    60%
    Sodium 679.2 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 290.9 g
    96%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 290.9 g
    1163%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites