17 Reviews

I recommend doubling the recipe so you have more sauce.

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovitz July 10, 2002

This recipe was wonderful! I doubled the amount of sauce, added 2 tbsp apricot preserves and simmered in the crock pot for 2 hours. My friends all loved it and I'll be making it many many times over. Sweet and yummy!!!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawnag1976 October 18, 2002

Simple easy, quick & delicious what more can you ask from a recipe. I agree with the comments that a bit more sauce would be nice and as I did not want to add more sugar I added 4 tbsp vodka to the sugar mixture and baked them at a lower temperature (to co-ordinate the timing with the other dishes I was baking) then finished them under the broiler, beautiful carmelized color. I also added more garlic (personal preference). I served the chicken with baked potatoes stuffed with sundried tomatoes and Feta cheese, new carrots and baked baby onions and a small green salad - wonderful Sunday dinner - Thanks Dancer for another great recipe

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy October 21, 2002

Although I didn't eat this since I'm a vegetarian, I made it for my husband and he loved it -- he gives it 5 stars. I doubled the olive oil, garlic, and brown sugar as suggested by others.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mleog January 08, 2003

I used this recipe to make 2 servings but kept the amount of ingredients other than chicken the same and added the vodka recommended in one of the other reviews. The garlic got very brown very quickly in the pan and burnt a bit when the dish was in the oven, but we scraped the worst of it off and the dish was otherwise very good. The sauce was tasty and the chicken, cooked at such a high temperature remained very moist.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel Savage January 01, 2003

Wonderful flavor. I did not double the sauce but just used the back of a wooden spoon to glaze the chicken breasts. We served green beans and beets on the side.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leta February 06, 2003

On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being the best), Chris (my BF) gave this a 20 !! We used 4 chicken thighs, cause we didn't have any breasts, but they couldn't have turned out more wonderful or delicious!! I doubled the sauce, and man, oh, man!! Not one bite of leftovers for tomorrow ! (Chris ate three by himself! one little thigh for me...sniff sniff!) Sauce tastes great over my rice pilaf..THANK YOU for this recipe!! Chris has already made me promise to make this again..SOON!! thanks again! Teresa

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGirl,RN January 15, 2003

Excellent!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SailorDave October 22, 2002

A great no-fuss, easy clean up recipe. Served with herbed roasted potatoes and a salad. Thanks for posting :) JenT

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T November 26, 2002

A good kid friendly recipe that is easy to make. Great for a weeknight meal. I doubled the brown sugar; the chicken carmelized well. It is imperative that you line the roasting pan with foil otherwise you will have a terrible mess of blackened, carmelized sugar to clean out.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traderpaul December 14, 2003
Caramelized Garlic Chicken