253 Reviews

We really liked this!! I used boneless chicken thighs instead of wings, and it was yummy! Hubby rated it a 7! :O)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SPrins September 20, 2008

These wings are truly delicious! I took other reviewers' suggestions and added more chopped garlic, some red pepper flakes and cornstarch (about 1 tsp) and cooked it on the stove for about a minute or two--only until very SLIGHTLY thickened. Poured over wings and baked for an hour, basting about twice. They were a hit! Can't wait to make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweethart127 March 27, 2008

Great recipe.....instead of regular chicken wings I used wingettes. What I did notice immediately was the sauce was way to much. So I eyed how much I poured on the chicken and froze the left over sauce for the next time. I also changed up the recipe by adding shredded ginger to the sauce and added more ketchup (while baking). The ketchup gave it that BBQ/caramelized look. Delicious and my picky 11 year old loved it!!! Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri M. March 29, 2015

Noticed that some of reviews complaints were the sauce was too salty so I will try this recipe using Braggs(liquid amino-natural soy sauce alternative) its not salty like reg.soy sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mgdrake February 01, 2015

The day I made this, the flavor was really good, but the next day the leftovers tasted AMAZING! From now on, if serving this for entertaining, I'll make the day before and reheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo January 28, 2015

Very good & very easy ! I also took the suggestion from other people & browned the wings in the oven for about 20 mins at 350. I used sodium reduced soya sauce and also used 1/2 cup brown sugar & about 1/2 cup of honey. Added some cayenne pepper & Franks red hot for some spice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krowan5 January 26, 2015

I am totally going to try this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook_lamia January 24, 2015

I agree with Greg In San Diego that the wings will stew instead of caramelize if one was to follow the recipe exactly. I marinade the chicken overnight, drain chicken but save the marinade, line them in baking dish, bake as directed but basting them with saved marinade halfway and broil the last part of the cooking with the rest of the marinade.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corneliakoo January 20, 2015

Excellent! I did what other reviewers did and cooked for 15 minutes then draining the fat/juice prior to adding the sauce. Also, for the sauce, I subbed 2T of BBQ sauce for the ketchup and added more minced garlic. I lined my pan with tin foil for easy clean-up. There was an abundance of sauce, so I only poured about 1/2 on the wings, I will save the rest for something else. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie January 10, 2015

Not as good as i thought they would come out not bad either but nothing has beaten McCormick Buffalo chicken wing seasoning yet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa C. August 23, 2014
Caramelized Chicken Wings