253 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't even think I liked chicken wings until I tried this recipe! I have made it twice for dinner in the past week, and once to take to a party; it was a hit both places! I flipped the wings a few times throughout the cooking process, and the last time I made them I added a serrano pepper (which didn't make them spicy at all, next time I would add more or add it part way through. Excellent, simple recipe that had everyone wowed, and I have passed it on to everyone I know!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri D April 13, 2010

Believe it or not I used this on Skin-on, bone-in chicken breast. WE LOVED IT! Everyone was right, don't worry about the soy sauce. It does not overpower at all! This is wonderful and different and very easy. Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basfishinlady November 16, 2008

If you like teriyaki-style sweet flavors, this is a good recipe to try. I wish I'd taken the advice of other reviewers and partially cooked and drained the wings before adding the sauce. They came out very tasty, but this additional step might've made them even better. I broiled mine for about 2 minutes after baking, then basted them with the sauce before serving. I'll cook these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellie_Cooks September 01, 2014

Made these for Superbowl ...OMGOSH! FANTASTIC and so easy ... very tasty, very tender and turned out gorgeous ... definitely a keeper ..I will never fry wings again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlackGrandma February 04, 2013

This was a great recipe! I seasoned my wings with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and some adobo seasoning and let marinate for about 3 hours. I threw all the sauce ingredients (plus about a tbsp of sesame seeds, and an additional tbsp of garlic) in a saucepan and brought to a boil, then turned down to a simmer. After marinating, I cooked the wings at the stated temp. for about 30 minutes, drained off the fat, and poured the thickened sauce over the wings. After thoroughly coating each wing, I cooked for another 15 minutes. I then broiled for another few minutes. They were awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Norahwynn January 25, 2013

Delicious wings! After reading some of the reviews, I made the following adjustments...I used 1/3 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup honey and 1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce and 1/4 cup regular soy sauce and about 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper. It had just the right salty/sweet/heat combination for our tastes. I baked the wings without the sauce for about 30 minutes then poured off the fat. While it was baking I heated the sauce at a low simmer on the stove for about 15 minutes to blend the flavors and thicken it a bit. Added sauce to chicken and tossed to cover the wings then back in the oven for about 45 minutes, turning every 10-15 minutes.They were perfect! Definitely a go-to appetizer from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca January 13, 2013

The only reason I haven't given 5 stars is because I adapted the receipe as per other peoples recommendations ....it turned out absolutely amazing but I can't see how the original recipe could have warranted 5 stars.
I used 2lb wings as thats allp had in the freezer, half cup sugar & half cup honey, dark soy sauce, 2 cloves garlic and sprinkled some sesame seeds on once out of the oven. As per another reviewers suggestion I used dark soy sauce as I don't like things too salty - this was perfect and any more salty I would not have been able to bear. I also cooked the wings for about 20 min before adding the sauce, to avoid the fat swimming issues that other reviewers had. 40 min after adding the sauce it just wasn't thickening and I was getting a bit bored and hungry to say the least, so I mixed a paste with some cornflour and a little water and mixed that into the sauce (having put the wings in a bowl momentarily) ....added the wings back in and returned to the oven for another 10min on 200 degrees c. On returning to the oven I Found the sauce had thickened and caramelised into a lovely thick jam like consistency and then stirred the wings around in this with a large slotted spoon to get them all coated in it. Then sprinkled on the sesame seeds. I would recommend leaving them for at least 5-10 min before putting anywhere near your mouth as the sauce is scorching and takes a while to cool due to the hot sugar. They were a fantastic hit with my boyfriend and am now planning to try next time with ribs. They are even more yummy when cold and would be great for a picnic or having in your lunch box, providing there's any left (make sure you pack loads of baby wipes though for cleaning yourself up!).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silverfaerie August 18, 2012

Made this tonight and doubled the recipe since I had 6 pounds of wings to cook. Mine came out with a little too much liquid after 1.5 hours of cooking and they weren't browning well enough, so I had to drain most of the liquid and let it cook for another 40 minutes. By the time I took them out, they were nice and crispy, falling off the bones and very sticky; they were delicious! My husband says they're the best wings I've made yet. I will most definitely be making these again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hamlin August 11, 2012

Just made these tonight, OMG!!! Made as written but added one tsp fresh grated ginger and didn't add any salt. Will be my go to wing recipe now!!! Like the idea of rendering out some fat first so sauce doestn't get too oily, and I took out half the sauce, half way through cooking so the skin did get a bit crispy. Kinda like the idea of trying brown sugar as a sub for some/all the honey, would be a bit cheaper. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madonna 66 May 17, 2012

Excellent! The only issue I had was that the sauce didn't caramelize even though I increased the temperature to 450 for the last 10 mins

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG February 13, 2012
Caramelized Chicken Wings