255 Reviews

Wow! The sauce on these chicken wings has to be the best I have ever tasted for sweet wings. Absolutely finger licking good! The prep is super quick and this is a very easy recipe to prepare. (Note: I only had frozen chicken wings, which I used but did not thaw first. They were ready in the same time as the recipe instructs and I cooked them at the same temp.)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 10, 2003

These were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, and my DH and DD both loved them! I did use more garlic, I guess, than the recipe called for - but we love garlic! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making these again!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy1996 January 13, 2003

These were really good!! I hate to review a recipe when I changed some of the ingredients, but to one their own right? After reading a lot of the reviews I had discovered that they were really salty and I am not a salt lover. So instead of using soy sauce I used dark soy sauce (which I have recently fallen in love with) it's a lot sweeter and not nearly as salty, I had to go to a specialty Asian market here. It made a phenomenal difference; I also split the honey with brown sugar (half cup of each) and doubled the garlic. They were really easy and really really delicious!! I highly recommend these with the dark soy sauce!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeLana4 February 03, 2012

After following the directions precisely, these were delicious and my husband won't stop raving about them! The only change I would make is to follow reviewer Greg's suggestions of partially cooking, then draining the fat before adding the sauce. Be very careful not to overcook; the first time I made them I overcooked the sauce and it was inedible! Made properly, this sauce would be great over many different types of foods.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeannaLW March 07, 2013

I made this with wings, thighs and bone in breasts. All of them were good, wings were the best.
I halved the soy sauce and honey as I kept having too much sauce left over.
I also pre-cooked the meat to render some of the fat. The wings didn't need it but the thighs and breasts did.
Since I am cooking for a 3yr old as well I didn't add any heat, but this is a great starting point to add cayenne, serranos or what ever for some kick.
I like more garlic so I tripled that as well.
Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Team Wang September 29, 2011

Excellent wings! I sprinkled my wings with seasoning salt and New Orleans seasoning. Then I baked them for 10 min. I made my sauce without salt, pepper and garlic but added 1/2 cup of brown sugar like someone else suggested. These were gooey, sticky and fall off the bone delish! I am making these again today for the Superbowl by request.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hope9393 February 06, 2011

Waaaaaaaaaay too salty for me. If I make this again, I'll temper the soy sauce with sesame oil.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia February 22, 2011

Great recipe. I cooked the wings on the grill instead of the oven,though. If you're one of the people having trouble with excess grease/juice, check the label on the wings that you bought. A lot of them say they're "enhanced" with a solution. Some don't even identify the solution. It's usually salt water or chicken broth. That stuff just oozes back out when the meat cooks. You'll have better luck of you start with chicken that's labeled natural. It isn't pumped full of water.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bandjmartin February 02, 2014

I agree, quite good, but cooking without the sauce halfway, then draining, then adding sauce, then stirring occasionally, then broiling, made it 5 stars. Easy and delicious.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrl June 03, 2013

I was glad to get this recipe. I can no longer eat the hot wings, but I do love wings, so this was a really good alternative. It's so expensive to order wings out, so getting a whole bag at the store, and making your own makes it really nice. This sauce is VERY GOOD! I have made them a dozen times at least since I got this recipe, and everyone raves about them! Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacque #2 May 14, 2010
Caramelized Chicken Wings