Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Chicken Wings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Chicken Wings

    Average Rating:

    246 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 246

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      After preparing this recipe many times and following the directions precisely, I've decided to re-rate it with four stars, rather than five. The sauce tastes great and the ease of preparation is good. However, following the recipe directions as written results in the wings "floating" in so much rendered fat that the marinade is completely diluted and the wings are almost "stewed." Thickening and cramelization just don't occur. So, I now put the wings in the oven for about 15 minutes and at the end of that time period, I drain off all the accumulated fat. I then add the sauce, making sure not to "drown" the wings. I turn the wings as they continue to cook and sometimes even adjust the oven to broil for the last few minutes to get the caramelization and sticky texture I want. I dress the wings with some chopped green onion and a few sesame seeds before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Delicious! I used a chicken drumlets and chicken legs instead of chicken wings, garlic salt instead of garlic and regular salt and got rave reviews for this simple-to-make chicken dish. My ds couldn't stop eating these! We will definitely be making these again soon. Thanks for posting this delicious keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      Absolutely delicious! I fixed them (this was the first time I fixed chicken wings and with this recipe, it won't be my last!)for Christmas Eve and they were yummy! I love the sauce...full of ingredients I usually have on hand, which is great! My 7-yr old thought they were better as leftovers on her birthday...She was ready for more, but they were gone! A finger-lickin' good recipe that is a definite keeper in this house...Thanks so much T/T for this scrumptious recipe! YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      outstanding! everyone in my family was smacking their lips and licking their fingers. i did add alot more garlic but that was the only change i made to the recipe. i cut off the wing tips and discarded them and then cut the wings into 2 pieces. they took a little longer than 1 hour and i kept turning them every 5-10 minutes after an hour was up to get them really evenly glazed. thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      Delicious!!! One of the best wing recipes i have tried. Will definitely make again. Took the advice of other reviewers and cooked the wings for about 20 minutes before adding the sauce. So good i couldnt stop eating them!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Loved these. Did the 30 minute precook and drained as others suggested and it worked perfect. The sauce camelizes perfect because there is no fat to dilute. I also removed the skin from the wings after precooking because everyone around here is watching their waistline. Also only used 1/2 cup of honey because that is what I had. Worked fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Wonderful wings. It was my 1st attempt. I did cook them 20 minutes in advance to remove some fat. I dredged them in the lightest dusting of flour to ensure the sauce thickened and then baked them on a cooling rack and basted them continually. I served them as a main course with melon and a ceasar salad and the entire family enjoyed them. My 1st but not my last try at wings. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      My husband and I really liked the sauce for these wings. I halved the sauce and put it in an 8x8 pan. I also added a little bit of sriracha and some red pepper flakes. It's true that these wings fall right off the bone but I was a little sad because I prefer my wings to be crispy. Next time I will be sure to stick them under the broiler for a little bit to crisp them up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      Wow! The sauce on these chicken wings has to be the best I have ever tasted for sweet wings. Absolutely finger licking good! The prep is super quick and this is a very easy recipe to prepare. (Note: I only had frozen chicken wings, which I used but did not thaw first. They were ready in the same time as the recipe instructs and I cooked them at the same temp.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2011

      'that was delicious" my daughter just said! I used low sodium soya sauce, no salt, extra garlic and grated ginger. Used chicken thighs and cooked for approx 40 mins

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      Amazing!!!! We gobbled them down!!! I didn't have any honey on hand so I took the advice of another reviewer & used 1c of brown sugar instead. I also tripled the garlic. I cooked it for 29 min at 370 first flipping half way through. then I applied the sauce and cooked for an additional 40 min. Basting a few times and turning half way through cooking. Served with white rice and green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      These were fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, and my DH and DD both loved them! I did use more garlic, I guess, than the recipe called for - but we love garlic! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      These were really good!! I hate to review a recipe when I changed some of the ingredients, but to one their own right? After reading a lot of the reviews I had discovered that they were really salty and I am not a salt lover. So instead of using soy sauce I used dark soy sauce (which I have recently fallen in love with) it's a lot sweeter and not nearly as salty, I had to go to a specialty Asian market here. It made a phenomenal difference; I also split the honey with brown sugar (half cup of each) and doubled the garlic. They were really easy and really really delicious!! I highly recommend these with the dark soy sauce!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      After following the directions precisely, these were delicious and my husband won't stop raving about them! The only change I would make is to follow reviewer Greg's suggestions of partially cooking, then draining the fat before adding the sauce. Be very careful not to overcook; the first time I made them I overcooked the sauce and it was inedible! Made properly, this sauce would be great over many different types of foods.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      I made this with wings, thighs and bone in breasts. All of them were good, wings were the best.
      I halved the soy sauce and honey as I kept having too much sauce left over.
      I also pre-cooked the meat to render some of the fat. The wings didn't need it but the thighs and breasts did.
      Since I am cooking for a 3yr old as well I didn't add any heat, but this is a great starting point to add cayenne, serranos or what ever for some kick.
      I like more garlic so I tripled that as well.
      Thanks for sharing. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Waaaaaaaaaay too salty for me. If I make this again, I'll temper the soy sauce with sesame oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      Excellent wings! I sprinkled my wings with seasoning salt and New Orleans seasoning. Then I baked them for 10 min. I made my sauce without salt, pepper and garlic but added 1/2 cup of brown sugar like someone else suggested. These were gooey, sticky and fall off the bone delish! I am making these again today for the Superbowl by request.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      I didn't even think I liked chicken wings until I tried this recipe! I have made it twice for dinner in the past week, and once to take to a party; it was a hit both places! I flipped the wings a few times throughout the cooking process, and the last time I made them I added a serrano pepper (which didn't make them spicy at all, next time I would add more or add it part way through. Excellent, simple recipe that had everyone wowed, and I have passed it on to everyone I know!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Believe it or not I used this on Skin-on, bone-in chicken breast. WE LOVED IT! Everyone was right, don't worry about the soy sauce. It does not overpower at all! This is wonderful and different and very easy. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Great recipe. I cooked the wings on the grill instead of the oven,though. If you're one of the people having trouble with excess grease/juice, check the label on the wings that you bought. A lot of them say they're "enhanced" with a solution. Some don't even identify the solution. It's usually salt water or chicken broth. That stuff just oozes back out when the meat cooks. You'll have better luck of you start with chicken that's labeled natural. It isn't pumped full of water.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 13

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Chicken Wings

    Serving Size: 1 (476 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1103.2
     
    Calories from Fat 550
    49%
    Total Fat 61.1 g
    94%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 262.1 mg
    87%
    Sodium 2385.4 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.9 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 71.9 g
    287%
    Protein 66.6 g
    133%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes