261 Reviews

This was a nice Autumn recipe. I enjoyed the sweetness and the kids liked it. Husband despises all things squash, but I managed to get a few bites down him. Only complaint was that the squash lost a bit of texture and was a might mushier than I expected... next time I would cut down on the butter to see if that helped.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady November 09, 2013

Guests request this dish and recipe, often. It's a keeper! We use fresh butternut squash that the grocery store clerk cuts for us, while we wait. Frozen was convenient, but texture is not as good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjnixon November 07, 2013

This was wonderful. My three kids loved it. It had such wonderful flavor. I will be making this again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onebusymom2013 October 12, 2013

This was delicious and easy. I tweaked the directions and ingredients to fit my laziness and botched oven attempt:<br/><br/>I used about two large tablespoons of "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!" spread and eyeballed about 2-3 tablespoons of brown sugar. I mixed the two together and then mixed the Butternut Squash in. After that I put it into a glass dish and drizzled the rest of the mix on top of it. I microwaved it (because I accidentally put it on a cookie dish and made the mix drip all over the oven causing quite a mess) for 11 minutes and was really worried how it'd come out but low and behold: it was DELICIOUS! <br/><br/>So simple, and apparently it's even microwavable. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traysterb April 05, 2013

Delicious. followed recipe as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuppycakes February 17, 2013

Very good basic recipe, herbs and garlic etc. could be added. I like the notion in a review about not peeling the butternut squash. Most of the goodness is in the peel usually.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare December 09, 2012

Absolutely the best!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NatalyaBondole December 01, 2012

I thought it had a little too much butter, I would use less. I also tried it with cinnamon and nutmeg (less salt and no pepper) and it was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csquared2 November 21, 2012

Delicious! I had never had butternut squash before this and am glad I am the only one in my family who likes squash since I didn't want to share.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanddwarfs November 11, 2012

A-maz-ing!!! Thanks for the simple awesome dish!!!! I added a touch of cayenne as someone else suggested, yippy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
932ninja November 06, 2012
Caramelized Butternut Squash