Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Butternut Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Average Rating:

    254 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 254

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2010

      Delicious! This is our favorite way to eat squash and I've made it many times. However, this time I decided to use sweet potatoes. I reduced the amount of brown sugar, used 6 tablespoons of butter and it was absolutely delicious. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I had never made squash before, and really don't know the difference between the varieties... but by chance I decided to buy butternut squash. And since I didn't know what to do with it, I turned to recipezaar, and you never disappoint! My hubby's a picky eater with a sweet tooth, and since I knew he would be mentally prepared to tell me he did not like it (thinks he doesn't like squash), I decided to pick the best rated sugary recipe I could find... and now he can't wait 'til I make it again. This was very yummy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Wow.. this was superb! I halved the recipe, it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      AMAZING! Best recipe from this site yet. I ate half a squash in a sitting and had to restrain myself from eating more. I boiled in water 5 min (per another reviewers suggestion) for easier peeling. Word to the wise- DONT bake on cookie sheet- sugary butter dripped onto oven for some serious SMOKE. Was worth making even after battling with fans and smoke alarms. I can't wait to make again, and also try with other root vegetables!!! (Just out of curiosity, anyone understand why use unsalted butter and then add salt?) YUM YUM YUM.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Best butternut squash I ever had, and I have had some that was really good. DH loved it as well. I cut my pieces a little smaller so it would cook quicker, otherwise went exactly by recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Really, really yummy! I used pure cane sugar and butter only and roasted in my cast iron skillet. Only needed aout 25 min. and they were perfect. Didn't tell my 12 yr. old daughter that it wasn't sweet potato and she ate all of it. She would not have even tried it if I had said the word squash. After, when I told her, she said it was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      My family and friends loved them! I got pre-cubed squash from costco, and it came together in about 5 minutes:) I found them to be really "mushy" so I will use less butter next time (I used a whole stick of butter).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Delicous! I used spray butter and sweet and low and about 1 tablespoon of brown sugar to lighten the calories. I also took the advice from someone elses comments and added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of vanilla. Its true...its so good it could be a dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Wow! This is so good it could be dessert:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      This was the first time I ever cooked squash. I read through the reviews and decided to add cinnamon and nutmeg because of family and kids preference. These turned out better than I expected. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This recipe turned out great. One of the kids was even willing to eat it and she doesn't usually go for squash. The squash pieces with the most dark caramel color tasted the best. I only had one butternut squash so I halved the recipe. We ate it with Artichoke and Chicken Bake, Artichoke and Chicken Bake. Nice dinner combination. The only thing I would have done differently was account for the temperature differences in the recipes and bake them at the same time. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      A very simple and delicious way to serve squash. With this much butter, it can't be bad! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I made this for the first time to take to a dinner party (glad it turned out great). People passed by my dish thinking it was sweet potatoes. Once they found out it was butternut squash they returned and gave rave reviews. Many requests were made by both husbands and wives for the recipe. Great recipe Pianolady. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      Just to sum it up...YUM!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      I thought for sure I'd left a review. I've been making this for a couple of years now.Must be getting old. :) This is so easy to make with flavour that impresses. I sometimes add minced garlic to the mixture. I might even try pumpkin pie spice sometime. Thanks Pianolady,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      So good...we really enjoyed this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      I inadvertantly bought Dark Brown Sugar instead but it tasted just as good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      After reading this recipe I asked if I could bring the butternut squah to Thanksgiving dinner this year. I'd been subjected to too many overly sweet, mashed versions over the years. My hosts said sure, as long as there was nutmeg in it, so I added just a touch of grated nutmeg. It traveled and reheated beautifully and while there were skeptics at the table at first everyone tried it and admitted it was the best they'd ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

    • on December 04, 2009

      Superb, yummy! If anyone can come up with an easier to peel these thngs, that would be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    34%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 455.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes