261 Reviews

Can't imagine eating butternut squash without peeling it! Kinda like eating an unpeeled hardboiled egg! I think broke student is trying to see if anyone will bite on her little joke.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m s. November 24, 2014

Fantastic. It is a frequent request at our holiday pot lucks. Ingredients should be simple and good quality i.e. freshly ground black pepper and nice squash. Don't crowd your pan for squash to caramelize. I've used both fresh and frozen squash. Fresh is best. To save us time, our grocer will cube a fresh butternut squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean in Alvin October 28, 2014

I have never peeled or chopped a butternut squash. Usually just cut half lengthwise and bake with butter and salt and pepper. <br/>I only had one squash but still used 6 tablespoons margarine, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon pepper and the quarter cup dark brown sugar. <br/>I also only baked it for 25 minutes at 400 because the butter and sugar were absorbed and the squash was tender.<br/>It had too much pepper, my fault...otherwise very tasty. A bit more labor intensive than I'm used to. I might try again and adjust the seasoning. <br/>Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdschafer September 10, 2014

This recipe calls for way too much butter. At the end of cooking, my butternut squash was swimming in butter. I will make this dish again, but use WAY less butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas-grrl June 30, 2014

with a brand new oven I followed this recipe to a T and my entire apartment was filled with smoke in about 15 minutes... half of the squash pieces were charred and half were undercooked and I might have to toss the baking sheet due to it being covered in burned sugar. This recipe states to bake for 55 minutes? if so I would recommend using a much lower heat than 400 degrees. No stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana B. January 17, 2014

Made this for Christmas exactly as recipe stated. Was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it, including the kids. Thanks Pianolady.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmerk141 December 26, 2013

i have to say it was really good,, but i could not peel the skin no matter what i tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jodyturcotte8 December 25, 2013

like this really needs another review. I've made this so many times I can't count. just love it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shells75 December 13, 2013

Excellent! I added some walnuts at half the cooking time. Yum, Yum, Yum. <br/>Definitely use unsalted butter or don't use any extra salt. <br/>I will for sure be making this sweet, soft and lovely side dish again. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bellablue November 30, 2013

This turned out great! I used a precut 20oz package from the store. I used 1 1/2 Tbsp of butter, 2 Tbsp of brown sugar, + salt and pepper. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet to get great carmelization. I liked the super crisp small pieces mixed with the bigger ones. Keeper recipe! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliaorlandi November 12, 2013
Caramelized Butternut Squash