Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Butternut Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Average Rating:

    252 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 252

    Sort by:

    • on September 14, 2011

      My husband and I really liked this. So did our 1 year old. The older two weren't so sure, but they aren't used to squash, so that could have been it. It was a nice change from just cutting open a squash and baking with butter and brown sugar. It did take a while to cut the squash (and since I'm already having problems with dry hands, I used gloves as someone suggested, which did slow me down some), but it was so easy. And I love how by cutting it up and mixing the sauce in with my hands, I was able to coat all sides of every piece. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      My husband said it was like eating candy. Best butternut squash dish ever. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Wonderful recipe....I had never cooked butternut squash before! Trader Joe's sells the squash already peeled and cut up in the produce department, so I bought some and halved the recipe. Also used salted butter and cut down on the amount of kosher salt. I will make this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      This was totally awesome! DH and The Family Circus loved it!! Substituted Spenda Brown Sugar Blend. I've tried Butternut Squash other ways but this is definately our favorite! Thank you very much for this...it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      My family loved the squash prepared this way! Butternut is my favorite vegetable, so you can rest assured I will make this again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      Made this last night and it was a big hit with everyone. I cut the recipe in half and the salt a little but followed the rest of the instructions. I am putting this into my Favorites of 2011 book. Served this with Tri-tip steak, green beans, paprika/butter fried potatoes and the Realtor's Italian Salad Dressing#384154/salad. P.S. I will add a little more brown sugar for my own sweet tooth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      I made this for dinner tonight and loved it. I didn't have a problem pealing the squash, so didn't heat or boil it to soften.
      I made 1/2 the recipe (had only 1 squash) and it made a whole large sheet pan full.I used 4 T. of butter and it was plenty. The only thing different from the recipe was adding a handful of walnuts to the mix. My DH is not the greatest fan of butternut squash but the walnuts really gave it a nutttier and mellower taste. (He ate all of his serving, so guess he was happy with it.)
      I really loved it, so will make this again.
      Thanks to Chef1532306 who suggested adding the walnuts, and to you Pianolady for posting. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! I had to add some extra cinnamon only because I love cinnamon on butternut squash, but this recipe still deserves 5 stars! My picky 16 yr old nephew who hates vegetables almost ate the whole batch on Thanksgiving! Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      First time making Butternut squash. My husband loved it !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      This is so wonderful, my kids ate it up, hubby and I really enjoyed it. This recipe is now a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      This was so easy to make and yet it was the best butternut squash that I have ever had! I was so tired of sweet potatoes for Thanksgiving. This was lighter, but still had enough sweetness to fill the sweet potato slot. The crusty outside and soft inside was also much more interesting than your average Thanksgiving sweet potato! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Shoot, I made this a month ago and forgot to review. My first recipe using butternut squash. Very, very good! I really enjoyed this. It as fabulous even the next day! I may just have to whip this up to accompany our holiday meals. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This was a real winner! Even my extremely anti-squash husband ate quite a bit of it! (My partner in crime daughter and I of course didn't tell him what it was.) We especially liked the crispier pieces best. My daughter said while yams are still her preference butternut squash made this way is an acceptable alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      YUM YUM YUM! I halved the recipe and eyeballed the ingredients. Other than peeling the squash, it was easy and quick to put together. The caramelization is to die for! I will definitely be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I had a butternut squash in my pantry for about 2 weeks and everytime my grandson would see it he'd say, "Why you have Jerry?" I'd think who the heck is Jerry?!? Come to find out he's a cartoon character. Well, I loathe the thought of telling him, Jerry's now a goner. On a happier note, this recipe is magical. Turns squash into candy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This is delicious but then, I wouldn't expect anything less from one of Ina's recipes! This was the first time I ever used butternut squash and after making this recipe, it won't be the last.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Yum! This was wonderful! Mine didn't get crispy on the outside (it was more mushy) but that wasn't a downside. I thought it was wonderful, tasty, and easy (because I bought already cut up squash). This is a keeper! THanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      This is the BEST way to make butternut squash!! I am such a fan of this. Even my 3 year old gobbled some up! Ina really knows how to cook food so it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Delicious! This is our favorite way to eat squash and I've made it many times. However, this time I decided to use sweet potatoes. I reduced the amount of brown sugar, used 6 tablespoons of butter and it was absolutely delicious. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      I had never made squash before, and really don't know the difference between the varieties... but by chance I decided to buy butternut squash. And since I didn't know what to do with it, I turned to recipezaar, and you never disappoint! My hubby's a picky eater with a sweet tooth, and since I knew he would be mentally prepared to tell me he did not like it (thinks he doesn't like squash), I decided to pick the best rated sugary recipe I could find... and now he can't wait 'til I make it again. This was very yummy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    34%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 455.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites