Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Butternut Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Average Rating:

    250 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 250

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2012

      used mixture of coconut oil and butter, honey,salt, pepper and cinnamon. heated all in a saucepan and tossed in a bowl with squash before putting on tray

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      Love this!! Will cut the butter down a bit but it was sooo good. Tips on the easiest way to peel and cut up butternut squash is appreciated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      Great job. I don't like many vegetables and that includes squash. After trying this recipe, I wanted more. It was really good. I am not sure if my kids liked it, but my husband and I both enjoyed it. I will definately make this again. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Absolutely DELICIOUS! I only had maybe 1/8 cup of brown sugar so I added a little pure maple syrup....other than that I followed the directions and cooking time exactly. Hubby loved it too! I have another butternut squash (wish I had made both!!) and an acorn squash, I think I'll do those together and make another batch of this tomorrow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      This was really good. Hubby said it was like sweet potato casserole, which he loves. My 10 y.o. son liked it, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      I liked this but didn't love it. Maybe I expected better because of the high rating...?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      Love this recipe! Very tasty and really simple! A little hint.. U can buy the squash pre cut from Costco for about $3... Saves the time of cutting and peeling..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      AWESOME, my husband absolutely loved this recipe. I will be making it often. I used one large squash and halfed the rest of the recipe. I baked at 375 degrees for about an hour and it was perfect. Also added cinnamon as suggested by others. I will try same procedure with other root vegatables.
      Thanks Ina

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2012

      Positively fantastic recipe. We all really enjoyed the lovely flavors at play here. I did coose to slice off the skin though, because my kids don't care for having the skin intact when I oven roast winter squashes. So, to be assured my kids would actually eat it and get a serving of vegetables in, it was well worth the little extra time it took to peel my butternut squash. Even though it's just fantastic as is, I'd still like to make this recipe again and try some of the changes suggested by other reviews, perhaps a touch of cinnamon or cayenne and maybe a handful of chopped nuts for a little extra crunch. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Pianolady. It was a big hit in my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

      I made this squash last night and it was wonderful !!! Like eating dessert. I did add a little cinnamon. I will definitely make this again....and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      Perfect balance of flavors! Best way to eat butternut squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Loved it and the family wanted more! I think this is our new way for making squash, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2011

      Loved this and will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      OMG....this is soooooooooooo good!!! My wife especially liked it!!! Even though it's kind of a pain peeling the squash, it is WELL worth it & the carmelization is perfect!!! I'll definately be making this again!!! THANKS for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      Fantastic! I chose this for Thanksgiving this year so that we didn't have mashed potato, sweet potato casserole and similar for squash. I don't think I'll cook it any other way now that we've tried this . . . delicious! I tossed all the ingredients in a bowl before cooking on a parchment covered baking sheet. I think the parchment helped with clean up, this recipe is well worth the effort it takes to peel the squash. We kept the pepper to 1/2 t. for our liking and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      I halved the recipe since it is just 2 adults/2 kids, but my picky eaters (young and old) refused to even try it, my oldest did at least try it. I however did like it a lot. This was my first taste of Butternut squash. I realized too late that I had cut the chunks too small (about half the size they should have been)- so they cooked very quickly (30-35 minutes). I did put some additional sweetener on them (cinnamon sugar) and it was perfect for my taste. I would make this again, even if I am the only one who eats it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      I cut this recipe down since I only had one butternut squash. I also used a little less brown sugar. And the result was still delicious. Peeling the squash was not exactly simple, but that step was definitely worth the bother. I've eaten it just baked with the peel still on and this way was a LOT better. A perfect fall recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      My husband and I really liked this. So did our 1 year old. The older two weren't so sure, but they aren't used to squash, so that could have been it. It was a nice change from just cutting open a squash and baking with butter and brown sugar. It did take a while to cut the squash (and since I'm already having problems with dry hands, I used gloves as someone suggested, which did slow me down some), but it was so easy. And I love how by cutting it up and mixing the sauce in with my hands, I was able to coat all sides of every piece. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      My husband said it was like eating candy. Best butternut squash dish ever. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    34%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 455.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites