256 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent easy to make side dish that would compliment any meal. Roasting really brings out the sweetness of the butternut squash. I left it in the oven about 10 minutes longer for a slightly crunchier exterior.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gourmet Cowgirl December 24, 2007

This was really great! I thought making half of a recipe would be enough but now I am sorry that I didn't make the full recipe. I accidentally left the pan in the oven for about an additional 10-15 minutes after it was done and after I had shut off the oven. So my squash was really, really carmelized. It was great, though. This is a keeper. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon March 13, 2005

Yummm! Fast & easy. Nothing to be tending at the last minute. Ingredients I have readily available. Healthy and delicious! What a great recipe. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making December 21, 2014

My favorite way to cook butternut squash! I too am allergic to the peel so I wear gloves to peel the squash or ask my husband to peel it for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen M. November 26, 2014

Can't imagine eating butternut squash without peeling it! Kinda like eating an unpeeled hardboiled egg! I think broke student is trying to see if anyone will bite on her little joke.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m s. November 25, 2014

Fantastic. It is a frequent request at our holiday pot lucks. Ingredients should be simple and good quality i.e. freshly ground black pepper and nice squash. Don't crowd your pan for squash to caramelize. I've used both fresh and frozen squash. Fresh is best. To save us time, our grocer will cube a fresh butternut squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jean in Alvin October 28, 2014

I have never peeled or chopped a butternut squash. Usually just cut half lengthwise and bake with butter and salt and pepper. <br/>I only had one squash but still used 6 tablespoons margarine, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon pepper and the quarter cup dark brown sugar. <br/>I also only baked it for 25 minutes at 400 because the butter and sugar were absorbed and the squash was tender.<br/>It had too much pepper, my fault...otherwise very tasty. A bit more labor intensive than I'm used to. I might try again and adjust the seasoning. <br/>Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdschafer September 11, 2014

This recipe calls for way too much butter. At the end of cooking, my butternut squash was swimming in butter. I will make this dish again, but use WAY less butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas-grrl June 30, 2014

with a brand new oven I followed this recipe to a T and my entire apartment was filled with smoke in about 15 minutes... half of the squash pieces were charred and half were undercooked and I might have to toss the baking sheet due to it being covered in burned sugar. This recipe states to bake for 55 minutes? if so I would recommend using a much lower heat than 400 degrees. No stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana B. January 17, 2014
Caramelized Butternut Squash