Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Caramelized Butternut Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Average Rating:

    250 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 250

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2007

      This is an excellent easy to make side dish that would compliment any meal. Roasting really brings out the sweetness of the butternut squash. I left it in the oven about 10 minutes longer for a slightly crunchier exterior.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      This was really great! I thought making half of a recipe would be enough but now I am sorry that I didn't make the full recipe. I accidentally left the pan in the oven for about an additional 10-15 minutes after it was done and after I had shut off the oven. So my squash was really, really carmelized. It was great, though. This is a keeper. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2014

      This recipe calls for way too much butter. At the end of cooking, my butternut squash was swimming in butter. I will make this dish again, but use WAY less butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2014

      with a brand new oven I followed this recipe to a T and my entire apartment was filled with smoke in about 15 minutes... half of the squash pieces were charred and half were undercooked and I might have to toss the baking sheet due to it being covered in burned sugar. This recipe states to bake for 55 minutes? if so I would recommend using a much lower heat than 400 degrees. No stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      Made this for Christmas exactly as recipe stated. Was absolutely wonderful. Everyone loved it, including the kids. Thanks Pianolady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      i have to say it was really good,, but i could not peel the skin no matter what i tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2013

      like this really needs another review. I've made this so many times I can't count. just love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      Excellent! I added some walnuts at half the cooking time. Yum, Yum, Yum. <br/>Definitely use unsalted butter or don't use any extra salt. <br/>I will for sure be making this sweet, soft and lovely side dish again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      This turned out great! I used a precut 20oz package from the store. I used 1 1/2 Tbsp of butter, 2 Tbsp of brown sugar, + salt and pepper. I cooked it in a cast iron skillet to get great carmelization. I liked the super crisp small pieces mixed with the bigger ones. Keeper recipe! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      This was a nice Autumn recipe. I enjoyed the sweetness and the kids liked it. Husband despises all things squash, but I managed to get a few bites down him. Only complaint was that the squash lost a bit of texture and was a might mushier than I expected... next time I would cut down on the butter to see if that helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      Guests request this dish and recipe, often. It's a keeper! We use fresh butternut squash that the grocery store clerk cuts for us, while we wait. Frozen was convenient, but texture is not as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2013

      This was wonderful. My three kids loved it. It had such wonderful flavor. I will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      This was delicious and easy. I tweaked the directions and ingredients to fit my laziness and botched oven attempt:<br/><br/>I used about two large tablespoons of "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter!" spread and eyeballed about 2-3 tablespoons of brown sugar. I mixed the two together and then mixed the Butternut Squash in. After that I put it into a glass dish and drizzled the rest of the mix on top of it. I microwaved it (because I accidentally put it on a cookie dish and made the mix drip all over the oven causing quite a mess) for 11 minutes and was really worried how it'd come out but low and behold: it was DELICIOUS! <br/><br/>So simple, and apparently it's even microwavable. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Delicious. followed recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Very good basic recipe, herbs and garlic etc. could be added. I like the notion in a review about not peeling the butternut squash. Most of the goodness is in the peel usually.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2012

      Absolutely the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I thought it had a little too much butter, I would use less. I also tried it with cinnamon and nutmeg (less salt and no pepper) and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      Delicious! I had never had butternut squash before this and am glad I am the only one in my family who likes squash since I didn't want to share.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      A-maz-ing!!! Thanks for the simple awesome dish!!!! I added a touch of cayenne as someone else suggested, yippy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      scrummmmmmy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Caramelized Butternut Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (403 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.3
     
    Calories from Fat 107
    34%
    Total Fat 11.9 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 455.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites